CPU Freq Control

Post links to your 64bit module repos here. Repo maintainers are responsible for resolving any issues caused by their xzm's.
Post Reply
Shocker
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 2
Joined: 29 Mar 2013, 17:16
Distribution: porteus-xfce-v2-x86_64
Location: USA

CPU Freq Control

Post#1 by Shocker » 29 Mar 2013, 17:50

Newbie to Porteus- Long time user of linux (10+ years) RedHat during early years, then Ubuntu then many flavors of Puppy. Looking for 64 bit memory resident distros. I use Ubuntu64 12.04 desktop. Puppy Precise 5.5 Puppy Slacko 5.5 32 bit versions. Now to the issue!!

In everyone of those distros, but well after the original redhat distros, there is a GUI interfaced cpufrequtils that works fine. The Puppies just bring up the cpufrequtils from the desktop gui and select k8now and parameters and it works. (Ubuntu 64 is automatic installed)

I won't be able to test Porteus until I can quiet down (throttle) the cpu. The is an Asustek 16gig ram mb, amd 6000 (3Ghz) Athlon II processor K8NOW! I am unable to locate cpufrequtils in the porteus archive and the SLAX internet search revealed a non gui package??? After install I found three programs in /usr/bin and clicked on each to execute and no joy. Initiated in terminal with parameters, but still no joy. Any advice on repositories tha may have a functioning gui cpufrequtils like the other distros.

I've built some great 32 bit PAE puppy distros with Slacko 14 packages. Any advice would be appreiated.

Thanks,

Shocker

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1846
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: CPU Freq Control

Post#2 by Hamza » 29 Mar 2013, 19:34

Please try this module

cpufrequtils-008-x86_64-1
NjVFQzY2Rg==

Shocker
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 2
Joined: 29 Mar 2013, 17:16
Distribution: porteus-xfce-v2-x86_64
Location: USA

Re: CPU Freq Control

Post#3 by Shocker » 31 Mar 2013, 02:27

Hamza--Thanks for the quick reply.

Downloaded the xzm module and it gave me a congratulations on a successful install!
Do these modules work like RPM, PET and other self executing packages?
Was this supposed to install a menu item with and icon and a GUI type interface?

Thanks for your help!

Shocker

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1846
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: CPU Freq Control

Post#4 by Hamza » 31 Mar 2013, 11:05

I don't know how works RPM but XZM are simply an archive of files compressed with XZ algorithm and mounted on root filesystem when activated.

You can either double-click on the XZM module to activate it and copy it over your modules for future automatically activation at next boot.

You can also run the command 'activate /path/to/module.xzm' in terminal to activate it and you will also to copy it over modules for the same reason.

I don't know if there is a GUI available for that package.
NjVFQzY2Rg==

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 793
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 3.2.2-64bit xfce/openbox
Location: australia
Contact:

Re: CPU Freq Control

Post#5 by ncmprhnsbl » 03 Jun 2013, 06:31

tested this module, worked for my athlon 260 cpu, and no, there is no gui.
this cpu was using powernowk8(depreciated since 3.2 kernel), now it uses acpi-cpufreq.
commands:

Code: Select all

cpufreq-set -c 1 -g ondemand
cpufreq-set -c 0 -g ondemand
each core seems to need to be set individually

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ cpufreq-info
cpufrequtils 008: cpufreq-info (C) Dominik Brodowski 2004-2009         
Report errors and bugs to cpufreq@vger.kernel.org, please.             
analyzing CPU 0:                                                       
  driver: acpi-cpufreq                                                 
  CPUs which run at the same hardware frequency: 0                     
  CPUs which need to have their frequency coordinated by software: 0   
  maximum transition latency: 4.0 us.                                  
  hardware limits: 800 MHz - 3.20 GHz                                  
  available frequency steps: 3.20 GHz, 2.50 GHz, 1.90 GHz, 800 MHz     
  available cpufreq governors: ondemand, performance                   
  current policy: frequency should be within 800 MHz and 3.20 GHz.     
                  The governor "ondemand" may decide which speed to use
                  within this range.                                   
  current CPU frequency is 800 MHz.
i imagine there is a way to simply load cpufreq_ondemand(kernel module) at boot time...
i messed with the laptop-mode configs, but this didnt work..
Forum Rules : http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

Payoon
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 61
Joined: 01 Mar 2013, 19:16
Distribution: Porteus 3.2 32 bit XFCE
Location: Duisburg, Germany

Re: CPU Freq Control

Post#6 by Payoon » 03 Jun 2013, 10:31

Here's how I did it:
Add the module cpufrequtils-008-x86_64-1.xzm to /porteus/modules
In /etc/rc.d/rclocal insert the following lines:

modprobe cpufreq_ondemand
cpufreq-set -c 0 -g ondemand
cpufreq-set -c 1 -g ondemand

test with cpufreq-info

greetings Payoon

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 793
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 3.2.2-64bit xfce/openbox
Location: australia
Contact:

Re: CPU Freq Control

Post#7 by ncmprhnsbl » 03 Jun 2013, 13:39

@Payoon, thanks!, works perfectly.. :good:
Forum Rules : http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

dochood
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 8
Joined: 21 Aug 2013, 01:03
Distribution: Ubuntu 12.04
Location: US

Re: CPU Freq Control

Post#8 by dochood » 23 Aug 2013, 00:17

I just tried this on Porteus 2.1 Mate, and I got a message that it is not a valid Porteus module.

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 793
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 3.2.2-64bit xfce/openbox
Location: australia
Contact:

Re: CPU Freq Control

Post#9 by ncmprhnsbl » 26 Aug 2013, 08:21

dochood wrote:I just tried this on Porteus 2.1 Mate, and I got a message that it is not a valid Porteus module.
i'd say this is for Porteus 2.0 only, when i tried to activate in lxde i get no message at all(doesnt activate)(havent had this happen before)
in 2.1 frequency scaling govenor is set to ondemand by default, which suits me fine..
(i'm guessing)if you want to change this have a look at /etc/laptop-mode/conf.d/cpufreq line 58

Code: Select all

NOLM_AC_CPU_GOVERNOR=ondemand
change to 'performance' or 'conservative'... (if thats what you want)
Forum Rules : http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

Post Reply