Is Touchscreen Support Possible? [Solved]

New features which should be implemented in Porteus Kiosk Edition and the kiosk wizard.
jmalon
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 78
Joined: 21 Mar 2013, 19:39
Distribution: Linux Mint
Location: Collinsville, OK

Re: Is Touchscreen Support Possible?

Post#16 by jmalon » 02 Apr 2013, 22:42

I'll do it tomorrow and get back with you. I hope it works too.

jmalon
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 78
Joined: 21 Mar 2013, 19:39
Distribution: Linux Mint
Location: Collinsville, OK

Re: Is Touchscreen Support Possible?

Post#17 by jmalon » 03 Apr 2013, 15:55

I created the file structure /tmp/custom-kiosk/porteus/rootcopy/usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d and 10-evdev.conf within it.

10-evdev.conf:
Section "InputClass"
Identifier "evdev touchscreen catchall"
MatchIsTouchscreen "on"
MatchDevicePath "/dev/input/event*"
Driver "evdev"
Identifier "calibration"
MatchProduct "EloTouchSystems,Inc Elo TouchSystems 2216 AccuTouch® USB Touchmonitor Interface"
Option "Calibration" "516 3428 3422 665"
EndSection

When I boot the customized CD, the system hangs at "Starting Porteus Kiosk Edition <http://www.porteus.org/> ^ copying Porteus data to RAM, this may take some time..." This is on an IBM ThinkCentre 8090-22U.

Do I need to assign any rights to the files or folders?

I'll try a few things and see what happens.

If you want to take a look, I uploaded the ISO to http://www.mediafire.com/?7ao8lxyhh7h6fhg.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4592
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Is Touchscreen Support Possible?

Post#18 by fanthom » 03 Apr 2013, 16:08

this way you have overwritten original 10-evdev.conf and probably that's why porteus hangs as original entries are gone.
please delete /rootcopy/usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d/10-evdev.conf and create /rootcopy/etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/99-calibration.conf with following content (from Ubuntu calibration tool):

Code: Select all

Section "InputClass"
Identifier "calibration"
MatchProduct "EloTouchSystems,Inc Elo TouchSystems 2216 AccuTouch® USB Touchmonitor Interface"
Option "Calibration" "516 3428 3422 665"
EndSection
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

jmalon
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 78
Joined: 21 Mar 2013, 19:39
Distribution: Linux Mint
Location: Collinsville, OK

Re: Is Touchscreen Support Possible?

Post#19 by jmalon » 03 Apr 2013, 16:17

I modified the /tmp/custom-kiosk/porteus/rootcopy/usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d/10-evdev.conf file to look like this:

Section "InputClass"
Identifier "evdev touchscreen catchall"
MatchIsTouchscreen "on"
MatchDevicePath "/dev/input/event*"
Driver "evdev"
Option "Calibration" "516 3428 3422 665"
EndSection

It now boots up to the homepage, but appears to hang. The touchscreen and mouse don't do anything, but the CAPS LOCK and NUM LOCK keys turn lights on and off on the keyboard.

jmalon
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 78
Joined: 21 Mar 2013, 19:39
Distribution: Linux Mint
Location: Collinsville, OK

Re: Is Touchscreen Support Possible?

Post#20 by jmalon » 03 Apr 2013, 16:45

Trying a different approach now...

Unsquashed 001-core.xzm and created the 99-calibration.conf file and placed it in /tmp/custom-kiosk/porteus/base/squashfs-root/etc/X11/xorg.conf.d.

99-calibration.conf:

Section "InputClass"
Identifier "calibration"
MatchProduct "EloTouchSystems,Inc Elo TouchSystems 2216 AccuTouch® USB Touchmonitor Interface"
Option "Calibration" "516 3428 3422 665"
EndSection


This seems to be the solution for me. I'm just waiting for the new kernel and kiosk wizard to address the homepage issue.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4592
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Is Touchscreen Support Possible?

Post#21 by fanthom » 03 Apr 2013, 17:06

Unsquashed 001-core.xzm and created the 99-calibration.conf file and placed it in /tmp/custom-kiosk/porteus/base/squashfs-root/etc/X11/xorg.conf.d.
i think it's better to create additional module called 0031-settings-jmalon.xzm containing all your own tweaks, wallpaper, etc and put inside /porteus/base.
this way you wont have to unsquash 001-core.xzm every time you create new kiosk ISO (dropping your own module to /base would be enough.)
This seems to be the solution for me. I'm just waiting for the new kernel and kiosk wizard to address the homepage issue.
we have agreed to release porteus-kiosk-2.0.1 containing all fixes/updates gathered so far.
seems that touchscreen support is confirmed so nothing is holding us from doing it right now. will prepare ISO + wizard for tomorrow evening.

Cheers
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

jmalon
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 78
Joined: 21 Mar 2013, 19:39
Distribution: Linux Mint
Location: Collinsville, OK

Re: Is Touchscreen Support Possible?

Post#22 by jmalon » 03 Apr 2013, 17:25

"i think it's better to create additional module called 0031-settings-jmalon.xzm containing all your own tweaks, wallpaper, etc and put inside /porteus/base.
this way you wont have to unsquash 001-core.xzm every time you create new kiosk ISO (dropping your own module to /base would be enough.)" -- I'll give this a try later today (I hope).

I can't wait to try the new update. I'm extremely grateful for all of the help I've received from you guys. Thank you all!

I'll get my thoughts together on touch-screen calibration and implementation and will upgrade my customization doc as a form of thanks and a way to contribute to the project.

I'll also try to figure out how the calibration is tied to the hardware. Is it the touch screen monitor, video card, etc... I have enough old hardware to experiment with. I'll document my findings and share with PKE.

Thank you again!

jmalon
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 78
Joined: 21 Mar 2013, 19:39
Distribution: Linux Mint
Location: Collinsville, OK

Re: Is Touchscreen Support Possible?

Post#23 by jmalon » 03 Apr 2013, 20:10

I'm trying to figure out the implications of a 0031-settings-jmalon.xzm file.

1. Does the number mean anything, i.e. load order?
2. The 0031-settings-jmalon.xzm would still be a squashed file. It would only contain the files and directory structure that I wanted?
a. Would this be able to include the prefs.js file for proxy server settings?
b. Would it support a rc.Firewall file so if I wanted to have the PKE firewall enabled, I would still need to add "iptables -A OUTPUT -p tcp --dport 3128 -m state --state NEW,ESTABLISHED -j ACCEPT" line.
c. Touch screen calibration would be in a 99-calibration.conf file?
3. Could the kiosk wizard build a 0031-settings-customized.xzm file with input it receives from the user building the customized kiosk?

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4592
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Is Touchscreen Support Possible?

Post#24 by fanthom » 03 Apr 2013, 22:02

1) load order which is important (please read this)
2) you can put anything you want into that module (files which exist already in earlier module numbers will be overwritten in live session)
3) wizard tweaks 003-settings.xzm by default (and puts some files into /rootcopy), in 0031-settings-jmalon.xzm you could keep your own tweaks not covered by the wizard like proxy settings, calibration configs, etc...
(in fact advanced user could create 0031 module manually and do not run the wizard at all, just download base ISO, unpack it, push this module to /base and run make_iso.sh - always faster then going through the wizard)
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

jmalon
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 78
Joined: 21 Mar 2013, 19:39
Distribution: Linux Mint
Location: Collinsville, OK

Re: Is Touchscreen Support Possible? [Solved]

Post#25 by jmalon » 04 Apr 2013, 22:09

I am going to mark this as [Solved] since it works on my IBM ThinkCentre and I now know how the configuration file needs to be set. I'll work on my own customization file shortly (I hope). Thank you again for all of your work on this.

jmalon
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 78
Joined: 21 Mar 2013, 19:39
Distribution: Linux Mint
Location: Collinsville, OK

Re: Is Touchscreen Support Possible? [Solved]

Post#26 by jmalon » 23 Apr 2013, 16:49

Sorry, I'm just getting around to this, but you know how it goes, busy, busy, busy.

After having a successful touch screen PKE kiosk, calibrated and working well, with an ELO Touchsystems ET1525L-7CWC-1 (947098-000) and replacing it with an ELO Touchsystems ET1525L-8UWC-1 (726256-000) with all other hardware being the same, using the same PKE boot CD, the calibration is WAY OFF. These monitors look identical on the outside except for their numbers above.

My calibration numbers:

ELO Touchsystems ET1525L-7CWC-1 (947098-000) = EloTouchSystems,Inc Elo TouchSystems 2216 AccuTouch --- 516, 3428, 3422, 665
ELO Touchsystems ET1525L-8UWC-1 (726256-000) = EloTouchSystems,Inc Elo TouchSystems 2500U --- 4108, 8, 4125, -11

I got these numbers using an Ubuntu 12.04 boot CD, enabling the "universe" source, and installing xinput-calibrator. Xinput-calibrator starts automatically after installation, but you have to press the "?" button on the dash bar for it to come up. Then you have to press the four calibration points and the calibration numbers are displayed in a terminal screen...
Calibrating EVDEV driver for "EloTouchSystems,Inc Elo TouchSystems 2216 AccuTouch® USB Touchmonitor Interface" id=11
current calibration values (from XInput): min_x=516, max_x=3424 and min_y=3425, max_y=671
Doing dynamic recalibration:
Setting new calibration data: 516, 3428, 3422, 665
The description of the device, i.e. EloTouchSystems,Inc Elo TouchSystems 2216 AccuTouch® USB Touchmonitor Interface is also very important.
Last edited by jmalon on 23 Apr 2013, 19:25, edited 2 times in total.

jmalon
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 78
Joined: 21 Mar 2013, 19:39
Distribution: Linux Mint
Location: Collinsville, OK

Re: Is Touchscreen Support Possible? [Solved]

Post#27 by jmalon » 23 Apr 2013, 19:06

Would it be possible to "stack" several different configurations into one file to cover different but similar monitors?

Code: Select all

Section "InputClass"
     Identifier "calibration"
     MatchProduct "EloTouchSystems,Inc Elo TouchSystems 2216 AccuTouch® USB Touchmonitor Interface"
     Option "Calibration" "516 3428 3422 665"
EndSection

Section "InputClass"
     Identifier "calibration"
     MatchProduct "EloTouchSystems,Inc Elo TouchSystems 2500U"
     Option "Calibration" "4108 8 4125 -11"
EndSection

jmalon
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 78
Joined: 21 Mar 2013, 19:39
Distribution: Linux Mint
Location: Collinsville, OK

Re: Is Touchscreen Support Possible? [Solved]

Post#28 by jmalon » 23 Apr 2013, 19:56

To automate the process, can the output of xinput-calibrator be automatically used as input for the kiosk configuration during the boot process somehow? Maybe not, if you want it fully automated. Then you'd need to touch the screen to get the calibration right.

jmalon
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 78
Joined: 21 Mar 2013, 19:39
Distribution: Linux Mint
Location: Collinsville, OK

Re: Is Touchscreen Support Possible? [Solved]

Post#29 by jmalon » 26 Apr 2013, 16:10

I have confirmed that you can "stack" different monitor configuration files in the 99-calibration.conf file.

I now have an ISO with both the ELO Touchsystems ET1525L-7CWC-1 (947098-000) and ELO Touchsystems ET1525L-8UWC-1 (726256-000) configurations in one file.

The 99-calibration.conf file looks like this:

Code: Select all

Section "InputClass"
   Identifier "calibration"
   MatchProduct "EloTouchSystems,Inc Elo TouchSystems 2216 AccuTouch® USB Touchmonitor Interface"
   Option "Calibration" "516 3428 3422 665"
EndSection

Section "InputClass"
    Identifier "calibration"
    MatchProduct "Elo TouchSystems, Inc. Elo TouchSystems IntelliTouch 2500U"
    Option "Calibration" "4107 10 4156 -23"
EndSection

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4592
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Is Touchscreen Support Possible? [Solved]

Post#30 by fanthom » 26 Apr 2013, 17:31

very useful - thanks.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Post Reply