How to change DNS

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
Post Reply
lukaluki
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 66
Joined: 08 Dec 2011, 01:01
Location: asdfw

How to change DNS

Post#1 by lukaluki » 20 Mar 2013, 12:48

Hello,

I just tried to change the DNS for solving the DNS-Leak problem for some kind of VPN's.
I selected my wlan adapter and put the DNS IP of a different DNS -> Than I did a reconnect of the wlan and checked online on dnsleaktest.com , still my old DNS gets used :(
What I have to do exactly in order to be able to use that DNS? Do I need to flushdns anything and how ?

Thanks and kind regards!

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1846
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: How to change DNS

Post#2 by Hamza » 20 Mar 2013, 13:23

If you use VPN Internet connection, you must use their DNS's if set to auto otherwise you can set them using ifconfig and VPN network interface. Doing this in GUI is a little easier. What are you using as desktop ?
NjVFQzY2Rg==

lukaluki
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 66
Joined: 08 Dec 2011, 01:01
Location: asdfw

Re: How to change DNS

Post#3 by lukaluki » 20 Mar 2013, 16:08

I am using porteus 2.0 Final KDE (Default) :)

kind regards

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1846
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: How to change DNS

Post#4 by Hamza » 20 Mar 2013, 17:31

Just changes DNS in /etc/resolv.conf

Correct is "nameserver X.X.X.X"
One DNS Server per line.
NjVFQzY2Rg==

Post Reply