FireFox link error [Solved]

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3061
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

FireFox link error [Solved]

Post#1 by Ed_P » 13 Mar 2013, 05:45

This link runs fine in Windows' IE but not Porteus's FireFox. Is there anyway to determine what it's missing? The error message is not very helpful.

http://games.myway.com/player/arcade/id/playfour.html
Last edited by Ed_P on 29 Mar 2013, 17:23, edited 1 time in total.
Ed

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1846
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: FireFox link error

Post#2 by Hamza » 13 Mar 2013, 07:35

Looks like a FlashBlock issue. Please to disable it And try again. FlashBlock is an extension of Firefox.
NjVFQzY2Rg==

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3061
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: FireFox link error

Post#3 by Ed_P » 13 Mar 2013, 16:23

Hi Hamza. Thanks for responding.

I disabled Flashblock and restarted FF, same situation. :(

The Flashblock plugin says it replaces Flash objects with a button, which I have seen on other webpages, like this one http://www.shooter-bubble.com/ but not this one. Any other suggestions I can try?
Ed

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1846
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: FireFox link error

Post#4 by Hamza » 13 Mar 2013, 18:04

No worries, that is not our fault. That seems to be a problem related to security in the latest browser which blocks connection between domains if a file named "crossdomain.xml" can't be loaded from both domains. It seems that file is missing on the domain "errdocs.myway.com". That file is really important as it protects the target website from phishing and other malicious attacks that can be done from Javascript/Flash. If that file is not present, there is no way for a new browser to works correctly on the given url.
NjVFQzY2Rg==

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3061
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: FireFox link error

Post#5 by Ed_P » 13 Mar 2013, 22:24

Hamza wrote:If that file is not present, there is no way for a new browser to works correctly on the given url.
But Windows' Internet Explorer can access the game no problem. On both Windows XP and Windows 7. How can it get past the error and FireFox can't?? :Search:
Ed

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1846
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: FireFox link error

Post#6 by Hamza » 14 Mar 2013, 10:06

Did you checked the flash version on Porteus and Windows ? Are they identical?
NjVFQzY2Rg==

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3061
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: FireFox link error

Post#7 by Ed_P » 14 Mar 2013, 16:58

Interesting question. No, they are not. Windows has the current version 11.6.602.180 while Porteus has 11.2.202.270.

While Porteus should consider updating it's version in the next release I don't think the version difference is the problem. I have played this game at this website for about 10 yrs and thus have played with the 11.2 version at some point in the past successfully.

I originally assumed the Porteus was missing a file but you've said the website is missing a file. Then there is IE which finds the file and plays the app. Or doesn't find the file either but doesn't care. hmmmmm Could a FireFox setting be the cause? It's looking for no errors while IE is looking for no major errors? And if so is it a setting that can be changed?

Thanks for helping with this Hamza. Sorry to be such a newbie in so many areas.
Ed

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1846
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: FireFox link error

Post#8 by Hamza » 14 Mar 2013, 17:09

Can you save the source code page generated with Internet Explorer (Ctrl+S) and upload it somewhere after, please do the same for Firefox.

Please also note our current flash player branch is actually the last one provided by Adobe. The last branch released for Linux platforms is 11.2 which is current one used in Porteus.

Thanks!
NjVFQzY2Rg==

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3061
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: FireFox link error

Post#9 by Ed_P » 14 Mar 2013, 21:34

Here's the IE file: http://www.911cd.net/forums//index.php? ... st&id=2159

I'll do the FF one later.

Again thanks for looking into this. :beer:
Ed

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1846
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: FireFox link error

Post#10 by Hamza » 14 Mar 2013, 22:25

Please upload it on file hosting where no login is needed. Something like mediafire would be good.
NjVFQzY2Rg==

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3061
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: FireFox link error

Post#11 by Ed_P » 15 Mar 2013, 00:04

:oops: Oops

Try this link for the IE page: http://www.mediafire.com/view/?ol0qd4da1o8u755

And this one for the FF page: http://www.mediafire.com/view/?ojiienb28b7dced
Ed

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1846
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: FireFox link error

Post#12 by Hamza » 15 Mar 2013, 14:24

Sorry, the files you have uploaded can't be compared. Please simply copy and paste the source code you can found with Ctrl-U shortcut to your text editor and send me them.
NjVFQzY2Rg==

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3061
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: FireFox link error

Post#13 by Ed_P » 16 Mar 2013, 04:25

Take your pick. http://www.mediafire.com/?9b4wr6axa445e9m

I tried Ctrl-U and another approach but the problem is FF doesn't maintain html source code formating while IE's Ctrl-C does. It could explain why FF screws up the link.

I'll try another approach later.



-- later --

This file is from another Mozilla product named SeaMonkey: http://www.mediafire.com/view/?8bgrg9bbthg1jat

Same problem, same source format.
Ed

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1846
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: FireFox link error

Post#14 by Hamza » 16 Mar 2013, 15:11

Sorry I don't know why it can't play with Porteus browsers. Can you try with Firefox with latest flash player on Windows ?
NjVFQzY2Rg==

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3061
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: FireFox link error

Post#15 by Ed_P » 17 Mar 2013, 13:09

I thought I would try it in the Google Chrome browser so I installed the Chrome browser, via PPM, found it doesn't work with the root user, switched to guest, but as guest it simply doesn't start. No error msg.
Ed

Post Reply