Scim - error on module ?!

Please reproduce your error on a second machine before posting, and check the error by running without saved changes or extra modules (See FAQ No. 13, "How to report a bug"). For unstable Porteus versions (alpha, beta, rc) please use the relevant thread in our "Development" section.
Post Reply
miguipda
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 157
Joined: 12 Jun 2012, 18:21
Location: france

Scim - error on module ?!

Post#1 by miguipda » 10 Mar 2013, 13:01

Hi,

I just installed the new Porteus V2.0.
As I need to be able to writ ein chinese I ran the Porteus Setting Center and clicked on the "Show the system screen" to select the "Language setup" button.

I followed all the requested tasks and choose the UTF-8 encoding and the ...ung font (that showned Japanes and Chinese available fonts). I also selected to download the scim.
It has build the needed package and after a reboot it shows an error at the modules load.

Then I go to a terminal to try activating this downloaded scim module and it returns this error :
"scim-1.4.11+extras-x86_64-1Ahau.xzm: Cannot read module data. Corrupted download?"

Then what must I do to be able to write chinese if it even not gave me the good module ???

Sincerely thanks for your help.

Have a nice day,

Miguipda ;-)

P.S. : Next question : is it possible to tell it to use another font in place of the selected ...ung (given in the setting form) ? How could I do it ?

miguipda
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 157
Joined: 12 Jun 2012, 18:21
Location: france

Re: Scim - error on module ?!

Post#2 by miguipda » 10 Mar 2013, 13:35

Hi,

partially solved by using the last version of scim from this page : http://ponce.cc/porteus/i486/current/pa ... tion-Tool/

But even if I may select some languages chinese simplified or traditional it does not give me the character selector form.
It means when I changed my be (language from the bottom right) to cn and tried to type in pinyin WO it does not show me the prompt form to select the associated caracter.

I saw on the give page here before there is the famous odosung font module. But when I asked scim to show me the input pad it gave me some chinese characters on it. Then it means it is able to show me chinese character even if I do not have this odosung module.

As I saw I do not have the same local module (mine is : locales--x86_64.xzm) also existing on the link here before please let me know how to be able to write chinese on this Porteus v2.0.

Sincerely thanks and have a nice day,

Miguipda ;-)

P.S. : here is the list of my modules :
002-xorg_130301-alldesktops.xzm
006-firefox_130309-alldesktops.xzm
PyQt-4.8.1-x86_64-1.xzm
SweetHome3D-3.7-x86_64-1hz.xzm
VirtualBox-4.1.18-porteus-v1.2-x86_64-1ftm.xzm
VirtualBox-4.2.4-x64-1pl.xzm
aalib-1.4rc5-x86_64-3.xzm
aspell-0.60.6-x86_64-1.xzm
babl-0.1.2-x86_64-1.xzm
cdrdao-1.2.3-x86_64-1ftm.xzm
celt-0.11.1-x86_64-3sl.xzm
compat32-libraries-1.1.02_13.37-x86_64-2ftm.xzm
ctpl-0.3.3-x86_64-1sl.xzm
dbus-python-0.83.1-x86_64-1.xzm
dirac-1.0.2-x86_64-4sl.xzm
dukto-5.0-x86_64-1prt.xzm
enchant-1.5.0-x86_64-1.xzm
ffmpeg-0.8.12-x86_64-2sl.xzm
fftw-3.2.2-x86_64-1.xzm
filezilla-3.5.3-x86_64-1sl.xzm
geany-0.21-x86_64-1sl.xzm
geany-plugins-0.21-x86_64-1sl.xzm
gegl-0.1.2-x86_64-1.xzm
geoclue-0.12-x86_64-2sl.xzm
ghostscript-9.02-x86_64-1_slack13.37.xzm
ghostscript-fonts-std-8.11-noarch-1.xzm
gimp-2.6.11-x86_64-3.xzm
glibmm-2.27.99.2-x86_64-1sl.xzm
google-talkplugin_3.10.2.0-1_x86_64.xzm
gpgme-1.3.0-x86_64-1.xzm
gst-plugins-base-0.10.32-x86_64-1.xzm
gstreamer-0.10.32-x86_64-1.xzm
gtkspell-2.0.16-x86_64-1.xzm
hal-0.5.14-x86_64-3.xzm
hplip-3.11.3a-x86_64-1.xzm
ilmbase-1.0.2-x86_64-1.xzm
imagemagick-6.6.6_10-x86_64-1.xzm
jack-audio-connection-kit-0.120.1-x86_64-1sl.xzm
jasper-1.900.1-x86_64-3.xzm
jre-6u25-x86_64-2.xzm
k3b-2.0.2-x86_64-1ftm.xzm
komparator-4:0.6-x86_64-1.xzm
krusader-2.4.0_beta1-x86_64-1ftm.xzm
lcms2-2.3-x86_64-1sl.xzm
libassuan-2.0.1-x86_64-1.xzm
libdbusmenu-qt-0.9.2-x86_64-1ftm.xzm
libdc1394-2.2.0-x86_64-1sl.xzm
libexif-0.6.21-x86_64-1_slack13.37.xzm
libffado-2.0.1-x86_64-1sl.xzm
libgphoto2-2.4.10.1-x86_64-1.xzm
libgsm-1.0.13-x86_64-2sl.xzm
libiec61883-1.2.0-x86_64-4sl.xzm
libieee1284-0.2.11-x86_64-2.xzm
libkcddb-4.8.2-x86_64-1ftm.xzm
libmspack-0.3alpha-x86_64-1sl.xzm
libreoffice-3.5.4-x86_64-1alien.xzm
libreoffice-mozplugin-3.5.4-x86_64-1alien.xzm
libsigc++-2.2.9-x86_64-1sl.xzm
libsoup-2.36.1-x86_64-3sl.xzm
libtheora-1.1.1-x86_64-1.xzm
libvisual-0.4.0-x86_64-2.xzm
libwmf-0.2.8.4-x86_64-5.xzm
libxavs-20110806-x86_64-1sl.xzm
libxml++-2.34.1-x86_64-1sl.xzm
locales--x86_64.xzm
lst-noarch-120705.xzm
lua-5.1.4-x86_64-2sl.xzm
luckybackup-0.4.7-x86_64-1.xzm
luckybackup-data-0.4.7-x86_64-1.xzm
mysql-5.1.56-x86_64-1.xzm
neon-0.29.5-x86_64-1.xzm
net-snmp-5.6.1-x86_64-1.xzm
openexr-1.7.0-x86_64-1.xzm
openjpeg-20110806-x86_64-1sl.xzm
openjre-7u7_b30-x86_64-1alien.xzm
openldap-client-2.4.23-x86_64-1.xzm
orc-0.4.16-x86_64-1sl.xzm
p7zip-9.20.1-x86_64-2sl.xzm
pil-1.1.7-x86_64-1.xzm
pinstaller-noarch-120713.xzm
podofo-0.9.1-x86_64-1sl.xzm
psc-noarch-120705.xzm
pygobject-2.26.0-x86_64-1.xzm
python-2.6.6-x86_64-1.xzm
raptor-1.4.21-x86_64-1.xzm
rarlinux-4.1.0-x86_64-1sl_nonfree.xzm
rasqal-0.9.21-x86_64-1.xzm
rc.6-noarch-120720.xzm
recordmydesktop-0.3.8.1-x86_64-1ftm.xzm
redland-1.0.12-x86_64-1.xzm
rtmpdump-2.3-x86_64-2sl.xzm
sane-1.0.22-x86_64-2.xzm
schroedinger-1.0.11-x86_64-1sl.xzm
scim-1.4.14+extras-x86_64-1Ahau.xzm
scribus-1.4.0-x86_64-1sl.xzm
sip-4.11.2-x86_64-1.xzm
skype_static-2.2.0.35-x86_64.xzm
speex-1.2rc1-x86_64-5sl.xzm
tcl-8.5.9-x86_64-1.xzm
teamviewer-7.0.9360-x86_64-1ftm.xzm
tk-8.5.9-x86_64-1.xzm
truecrypt-7.1a-x86_64-2alien.xzm
unixODBC-2.3.0-x86_64-1sl.xzm
vo-aacenc-0.1.2-x86_64-1sl.xzm
vo-amrwbenc-0.1.2-x86_64-1sl.xzm
watch-proprietary-noarch-120719.xzm
webkit-1.6.3-x86_64-1sl.xzm
wxWidgets-2.8.12-x86_64-1sl.xzm
xampp-linux-1.7.7.xzm
xmind-3.2.1.201011212218-x86_64-1_SBo.xzm
xsane-0.998-x86_64-1.xzm




Here is the /etc/scim/config file content :
# This file is encoded in UTF-8 encoding.
/FrontEnd/OnTheSpot = true
/FrontEnd/ChangeFactoryGlobally = false
/FrontEnd/Socket/ConfigReadOnly = false
/FrontEnd/Socket/MaxClients = 512
/FrontEnd/X11/BrokenWchar = true
/FrontEnd/X11/Dynamic = false
/FrontEnd/X11/OnTheSpot = true
/FrontEnd/X11/ServerName = SCIM
/Hotkeys/FrontEnd/NextFactory = Control+Alt+Down,Shift+Control+KeyRelease+Shift_L,Shift+Control+KeyRelease+Shift_R
/Hotkeys/FrontEnd/PreviousFactory = Control+Alt+Up,Shift+Control+KeyRelease+Control_L,Shift+Control+KeyRelease+Control_R
/Hotkeys/FrontEnd/ShowFactoryMenu = Control+Alt+Right
/Hotkeys/FrontEnd/Trigger = Control+space,Zenkaku_Hankaku,Hangul
/Hotkeys/FrontEnd/ValidKeyMask = Shift+Control+Alt+Meta+QuirkKanaRo
/Panel/Gtk/Color/ActiveBackground = light sky blue
/Panel/Gtk/Color/ActiveText = black
/Panel/Gtk/Color/NormalBackground = #F7F3F7
/Panel/Gtk/Color/NormalText = black
/Panel/Gtk/Font = default
/Panel/Gtk/DefaultSticked = false
/Panel/Gtk/LookupTableEmbedded = true
/Panel/Gtk/LookupTableVertical = false
/Panel/Gtk/ShowStatusBox = false
/Panel/Gtk/ShowTrayIcon = true
/Panel/Gtk/ToolBar/AlwaysShow = false
/Panel/Gtk/ToolBar/AutoSnap = true
/Panel/Gtk/ToolBar/HideTimeout = 2
/Panel/Gtk/ToolBar/POS_X = -1
/Panel/Gtk/ToolBar/POS_Y = -1
/Panel/Gtk/ToolBar/ShowHelpIcon = true
/Panel/Gtk/ToolBar/ShowFactoryIcon = true
/Panel/Gtk/ToolBar/ShowFactoryName = true
/Panel/Gtk/ToolBar/ShowMenuIcon = true
/Panel/Gtk/ToolBar/ShowSetupIcon = true
/Panel/Gtk/ToolBar/ShowStickIcon = false
/IMEngine/RawCode/Locales = default


Here is my /etc/scim/global file content :
/SupportedUnicodeLocales = en_US.UTF-8
/DefaultPanelProgram = scim-panel-gtk
/DefaultConfigModule = simple
/DefaultSocketFrontEndAddress = local:/tmp/scim-socket-frontend
/DefaultSocketIMEngineAddress = local:/tmp/scim-socket-frontend
/DefaultSocketConfigAddress = local:/tmp/scim-socket-frontend
/DefaultPanelSocketAddress = local:/tmp/scim-panel-socket
/DefaultHelperManagerSocketAddress = local:/tmp/scim-helper-manager-socket
/DefaultSocketTimeout = 5000
Last edited by miguipda on 10 Mar 2013, 13:49, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Blaze
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1383
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: Scim - error on module ?!

Post#3 by Blaze » 10 Mar 2013, 13:36

Hi Miguipda.
Try this module scim-1.4.14-x86_64-2.xzm
Linux porteus 4.12.7-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sun Aug 13 17:38:30 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

miguipda
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 157
Joined: 12 Jun 2012, 18:21
Location: france

Re: Scim - error on module ?!

Post#4 by miguipda » 10 Mar 2013, 14:01

Dear Blaze,

thanks for this last new scim version but ...

As the both scim previous version used here before this last version can be run.

But yours does not hace any chinese (traditional/simplified) available in the IMEngine - Global Setup except the Other ... ;-)
Then I can still write in chinese.

I hope Arhau could help me due to the explained problems here before or may be could you help me to solve the situation with your last package ;-)

Sincerely thanks for your help and have a nice day,

Miguipda ;-)

User avatar
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Posts: 1331
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
Location: USA

Re: Scim - error on module ?!

Post#5 by Ahau » 10 Mar 2013, 22:54

Hi Miguipda,

Sorry to hear you're having troubles with it. I checked this morning, and the language selection tool from inside porteus settings centre worked for me, it scim was downloaded and activated properly upon reboot. Yoiu may have had a corrupted download, so I would try that again if I were you.

I added the odosung font as well and the popup menu did appear to ask me which glyph I wanted to add, however, many of the glyphs were missing (a box full of little numbers was shown instead). Is this what happens to you, or does the popup menu not appear at all?

I may have messed up the odosung font module or the font cache may have not been rebuilt. I'm short on time today, but will look at that issue tomorrow morning and report back.

Thanks!
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

User avatar
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Posts: 1331
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
Location: USA

Re: Scim - error on module ?!

Post#6 by Ahau » 11 Mar 2013, 15:50

OK I dove a little deeper into this problem, and I'm afraid I still don't have a solution. I think the font module is OK, as some of the chinese characters show up and it's available as a font in applications that allow you to select a font (it's probably just not a complete font for pinyin so we might need to add another font). However, there's something going on between scim and scim-pinyin. When I tried yesterday I think I used some variant of chinese other than pinyin, which is why everything was working. Pinyin has it's own scim module and for some reason it just flat out refuses to load properly. I downloaded an upgraded version of scim-pinyin and compiled it from source, everything compiled fine, but the problem is still there. I haven't been able to find any bug reports that seem to address this online yet, but I'll keep looking. I may also try to recompile scim, and I'll test the 32-bit version as well to see if it has the same issue.
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

miguipda
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 157
Joined: 12 Jun 2012, 18:21
Location: france

Re: Scim - error on module ?!

Post#7 by miguipda » 11 Mar 2013, 16:00

Dear Ahau,

sincerely thanks for your help.

With pleasure to read you found solution to this problem and let us be able to write in chinese ;-)

Have a nice day,

Miguipda ;-)

User avatar
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Posts: 1331
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
Location: USA

Re: Scim - error on module ?!

Post#8 by Ahau » 11 Mar 2013, 20:36

ok -- recompiling scim didn't help, nor did applying debian binaries for scim and scim-pinyin. One thing I did note is that slackware still carries the "scim-bridge" package (and uses it from some input methods), while it appears to me that scim-bridge is now deprecated, with the functionality wrapped into the main scim package. (Sadly, removing scim-bridge and pointing the profile scripts to scim instead still doesn't resolve the pinyin issues).

I'm going to put a post up on linux questions to see if anyone on slackware has run into this and how they've worked around it. I have an installation of slackwarearm that I used to verify the same issue is present there.

Thanks for your patience. We might have to explore other input methods for pinyin if we can't get this sorted out.
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

User avatar
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Posts: 1331
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
Location: USA

Re: Scim - error on module ?!

Post#9 by Ahau » 13 Mar 2013, 14:42

still no progress on scim-pinyin, so I've built ibus and ibus-pinyin.

Please try this:

1) remove all scim modules
2) download ibus modules:

64-bit ibus: http://porteus-xfce.googlecode.com/file ... -2_SBo.xzm
64-bit ibus-pinyin: http://porteus-xfce.googlecode.com/file ... -1_SBo.xzm

32-bit ibus: http://porteus-xfce.googlecode.com/file ... -2_SBo.xzm
32-bit ibus-pinyin: http://porteus-xfce.googlecode.com/file ... -1_SBo.xzm

3) Download the following dependencies from Porteus Package Manager:
GConf
dbus-python
notify-python
pycairo
pygobject
pygtk
python
pyxdg

Note that notify-python and pyxdg are not in the Porteus repo for 32-bit. You can add them from Slackware (notify-python) and slackbuilds.org (for pyxdg) but just in case, I've uploaded xzm modules here:
32-bit notify-python: http://porteus-xfce.googlecode.com/file ... i486-3.xzm
32-bit pyxdg: http://porteus-xfce.googlecode.com/file ... -1_SBo.xzm

Once you have everything in place, reboot and you should get an ibus icon in the panel instead of the scim one. right click on it, select "preferences", go to the input methods tab, click on "select an input method" dropdown and choose "chinese -> pinyin", click "add", then Close. Now when you are typing you should be able to hit CTRL+SPACE and enter pinyin through ibus.

I've only tested this in Xfce, and not in any QT apps. I hope this helps, and hopefully we'll be able to get scim working so we don't have to maintain two conflicting input methods.
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

miguipda
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 157
Joined: 12 Jun 2012, 18:21
Location: france

Re: Scim - error on module ?!

Post#10 by miguipda » 13 Mar 2013, 18:19

Dear Ahau,

sincerely thanks for your effort to help us.

But before following this preocess with the risk to have some troubles with my wife ... hihi ... ;-) let me know if with this ibus I will have the coice of traditional chinese and/or simplified or only one of them ?

Sincerely thanks and have a nice day,

Miguipda ;-)

User avatar
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Posts: 1331
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
Location: USA

Re: Scim - error on module ?!

Post#11 by Ahau » 13 Mar 2013, 18:29

with ibus, I've only enabled pinyin and one other chinese variant, so probably not everything you're looking for. Let me add some more ibus packages and see if I can enhance the support before you present it to your wife :)
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

User avatar
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Posts: 1331
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
Location: USA

Re: Scim - error on module ?!

Post#12 by Ahau » 13 Mar 2013, 20:35

thus far, I have these chinese methods (plus a bunch of other languages) ready in ibus, but not ready to post yet. would this cover your needs?

pinyin
bopomofo
chewing
bopomof (m17n)
cangjie (m17n)
pinyin (m17n)
py (m17n)
quick (m17n)
tonepy (m17n)
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

User avatar
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Posts: 1331
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
Location: USA

Re: Scim - error on module ?!

Post#13 by Ahau » 14 Mar 2013, 14:09

Hi,

After hearing from someone on LQ that they can indeed input pinyin with scim, I started looking through the packages a little deeper to see if maybe there was some kind of a python script or something else that was needed. What I found was that the malfunctioning "zh-pinyin" plugin for scim actually comes from the 'scim-m17n' package, not from scim-pinyin. Indeed, there is more than one pinyin input engine available through scim. Hunting around some more, I found an icon inside the scim-pinyin package for "Smart Pinyin". Looking down the list of chinese inputs in SCIM, this icon is present, but the text beside it is in chinese, so I had no idea that it was pinyin :)

I have uploaded a photo here: http://porteus-xfce.googlecode.com/file ... pinyin.jpg

please download that, you can see the icon and where it is in the scim menu. Please try once again with the scim-1.4.14+extras module that gets downloaded from the language selection tool inside porteus package manager and give this input method a try -- hopefully this will allow your wife to type in pinyin :)
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

miguipda
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 157
Joined: 12 Jun 2012, 18:21
Location: france

Re: Scim - error on module ?!

Post#14 by miguipda » 27 Mar 2013, 18:34

Dear Ahau,

I just reinstalled a clean Porteus v2.0 64 version on my PC to get all back in order.
I do not know if it came from the try to install the ability to write in chinese but I lost the USB connectivity.

Then now all is back I will need to be able to write in chinese.

Then what must I really do now to be sure it could work ?

Does it some specific things I must check or certainly not check when I got the popup windows to install scim.

Sincerely thansk and have a good night.

Miguipda ;-)

Post Reply