RPM not converted

Please reproduce your error on a second machine before posting, and check the error by running without saved changes or extra modules (See FAQ No. 13, "How to report a bug"). For unstable Porteus versions (alpha, beta, rc) please use the relevant thread in our "Development" section.
Post Reply
User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1846
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

RPM not converted

Post#1 by Hamza » 02 Mar 2013, 13:57

Hi,

I can't convert one RPM into XZM. I have tried to downloads it from many different source but I still can't convert it in XZM or TXZ. I'm using Porteus v2.0 x86_64 running on KDE4.

RPM: http://ftp5.gwdg.de/pub/opensuse/discon ... noarch.rpm

I'm getting this error message:

Code: Select all

rpm2txz ndesk-dbus-glib-0.4.1-0.1.noarch.rpm 
ERROR:  rpm2cpio failed.  (maybe ndesk-dbus-glib-0.4.1-0.1.noarch.rpm is not an RPM?)
This link is a mirror of old opensuse repositories. Please note that I can convert any other RPM to XZM without problems.


Thanks.
NjVFQzY2Rg==

beny
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 720
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 11:33
Location: italy

Re: RPM not converted

Post#2 by beny » 02 Mar 2013, 19:59

wait if mono compile i can get you the package in the usual way...

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5436
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: RPM not converted

Post#3 by brokenman » 02 Mar 2013, 21:15

Code: Select all

rpm2cpio ndesk-dbus-glib-0.4.1-0.1.noarch.rpm
error: rpm2cpio: rpmReadSignature failed: sigh load: BAD
error reading header from package
Looks like a bad module, or perhaps a new module with a different format.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: RPM not converted

Post#4 by fanthom » 02 Mar 2013, 21:34

tried and this rpm converts fine with 'rpm2tar' under gentoo so probably slackware's equivalent is not compatible with this particular type of rpm.
not a real solution but i could send you tar archive if you still need this app.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Destructhor
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 1
Joined: 08 Oct 2015, 22:47
Distribution: Slackware
Location: Bulgaria

Re: RPM not converted

Post#5 by Destructhor » 08 Oct 2015, 22:50

wifislax ~ # rpm2xzm /root/Downloads/VirtualBox-5.0-5.0.6_103037_openSUSE132-1.i586.rpm
/root/Downloads/VirtualBox-5.0-5.0.6_103037_openSUSE132-1.i586.rpm => /root/Downloads/VirtualBox-5.0-5.0.6_103037_openSUSE132-1.i586

gzip: stdin: unexpected end of file
cpio: premature end of archive

[+]Creando log var/log/packages/VirtualBox-5.0-5.0.6_103037_openSUSE132-1.i586
Parallel mksquashfs: Using 2 processors
Creating 4.0 filesystem on /root/Downloads/VirtualBox-5.0-5.0.6_103037_openSUSE132-1.i586.xzm, block size 262144.
[========================================================================================================================================|] 1/1 100%

Exportable Squashfs 4.0 filesystem, xz compressed, data block size 262144
compressed data, compressed metadata, compressed fragments, compressed xattrs
duplicates are removed
Filesystem size 0.66 Kbytes (0.00 Mbytes)
85.00% of uncompressed filesystem size (0.78 Kbytes)
Inode table size 122 bytes (0.12 Kbytes)
75.31% of uncompressed inode table size (162 bytes)
Directory table size 142 bytes (0.14 Kbytes)
100.00% of uncompressed directory table size (142 bytes)
Number of duplicate files found 0
Number of inodes 5
Number of files 1
Number of fragments 1
Number of symbolic links 0
Number of device nodes 0
Number of fifo nodes 0
Number of socket nodes 0
Number of directories 4
Number of ids (unique uids + gids) 1
Number of uids 1
root (0)
Number of gids 1
root (0)




Well??? 8) don't try OpenSUSE programs.. it confuses the console.. archive install in other archive

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5436
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: RPM not converted

Post#6 by brokenman » 09 Oct 2015, 00:22

Are you using porteus or wifislax?

In Porteus there is a built in virtualbox builder. You will need the 05-devel module activated in order to build it.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

Post Reply