Porteus-v2.0-x86_64 bug reports

Please reproduce your error on a second machine before posting, and check the error by running without saved changes or extra modules (See FAQ No. 13, "How to report a bug"). For unstable Porteus versions (alpha, beta, rc) please use the relevant thread in our "Development" section.
att
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 131
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 17:09

Re: Porteus-v2.0-x86_64 bug reports

Post#46 by att » 27 Mar 2013, 12:02

Sorry, but..... another bug: :(

a) boot porteus, graphical (any)
b) log in as root to graphical desktop (any)
c) open terminal
d) "init 3"
e) log in as root to text console
f) "xconf"
g) "startx"

Result: a xterm screen will flicker in the left upper border for 5 seconds, saying "cannot find font path (very long font string)" - several times (also, screen is cleared several times)
After ~ 5 seconds, X screen will terminate and dump you back to console/text.

beny
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 720
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 11:33
Location: italy

Re: Porteus-v2.0-x86_64 bug reports

Post#47 by beny » 27 Mar 2013, 13:29

you have problem with the video driver? xconf redo the xconfiguration so i don't think it is a good thing if you do not have trouble with video driver or the monitor refresh

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v2.0-x86_64 bug reports

Post#48 by fanthom » 27 Mar 2013, 18:03

@cttan
did you manage to unload vbox drivers as per arch wiki? does it make any difference from suspend/crash point of view?

@Pedro
you could overwrite default LMT settings using /rootcopy folder or extra module.

@att
Another bug: When I boot via Option 1 (boot to graphic menu) and when I get to the login screen,
and if I leave all options to "default" it DOES NOT let me log in.
do not really understand. porteus does autologin you to GUI automatically unless you use 'login=' (autologin disabled) or 'login=not_valid_username' (user does not exist) cheatcodes.
is it your case? if yes then please remove 'login=' cheatcode and you'll be automatically logged in to selected desktop.
if no then must be one of your additional modules/settings so please try in 'always fresh' mode.

or maybe you meant 'custom' session instead of 'default'? 'custom' does not work for me indeed and i dont know why it's there.
when I start a terminal and inside the terminal another vncserver, and when I connect to the vnc using vncviewer, the window does not look fine anymore
you must tell vnc which desktop to start. look here:
http://www.realvnc.com/pipermail/vnc-li ... 10241.html
term screen will flicker in the left upper border for 5 seconds, saying "cannot find font path (very long font string)" - several times (also, screen is cleared several times)
After ~ 5 seconds, X screen will terminate and dump you back to console/text.
- please upload /etc/X11/xorg.conf generated by 'xconf' script and /var/log/Xorg.0.log to pastebin.com and link here
- does it work in 'always fresh' mode?

Cheers
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

att
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 131
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 17:09

Re: Porteus-v2.0-x86_64 bug reports

Post#49 by att » 27 Mar 2013, 21:13

@fanthom:
The "login" parameter is not the case here.
In my case, all bootparameters are:

Code: Select all

APPEND initrd=initrd.xz xfce copy2ram nonetwork volume=0% keymap=de 
It does not autologin me to root - it asks me to enter username, password, and lets me select which desktop to use.

On the login screen, in the left/down corner, there are buttons to select which desktop to use (KDE, etc.)
If I do not select "KDE", etc. but leave it to "default", I am thrown back to the login prompt, despite login and password were correct.
Yes, I mean "default".

I am always booting in "always fresh" mode. Dunno what's wrong. :unknown:

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1846
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: Porteus-v2.0-x86_64 bug reports

Post#50 by Hamza » 27 Mar 2013, 21:19

I had the same problem when upgrading from 2.0 rc2 to 2.0 final. I had to remove all files in changes folder/container expect my own.
NjVFQzY2Rg==

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v2.0-x86_64 bug reports

Post#51 by fanthom » 27 Mar 2013, 21:48

@att
are you booting standard or XFCE edition? (please fill in info about your arch/edition in your profile)
asking cuz if you want to boot to KDE then you cant use 'xfce' cheatcode
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

cttan
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 332
Joined: 26 Jan 2011, 16:15
Distribution: Porteus 3.2 64bit KDE
Location: Malaysia

Re: Porteus-v2.0-x86_64 bug reports

Post#52 by cttan » 03 Apr 2013, 23:55

Hi fanthom,

I am not able to get the crash from simulation even without removing the external drivers. Maybe it is a very intermittent problem.

I have found that when my laptop come back from sleep, the fan is running at full speed.
In Porteus 1.2, it is working fine.

Is there a setting to tweak it as per ArchLinux?
cat /sys/class/hwmon/hwmon0/device/fan1_input

Code: Select all

cat: /sys/class/hwmon/hwmon0/device/fan1_input: No such file or directory
When I run fancontrol, it cannot find the config file.

Code: Select all

fancontrol 
Loading configuration from /etc/fancontrol ...
Error: Can't read configuration file

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5439
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v2.0-x86_64 bug reports

Post#53 by brokenman » 04 Apr 2013, 01:36

Please post the output from: pwmconfig
(pulse width modulation configuration)
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

cttan
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 332
Joined: 26 Jan 2011, 16:15
Distribution: Porteus 3.2 64bit KDE
Location: Malaysia

Re: Porteus-v2.0-x86_64 bug reports

Post#54 by cttan » 04 Apr 2013, 02:51

Hi brokenman,

pwmconfig output:-

Code: Select all

# pwmconfig revision 5857 (2010-08-22)
This program will search your sensors for pulse width modulation (pwm)
controls, and test each one to see if it controls a fan on
your motherboard. Note that many motherboards do not have pwm
circuitry installed, even if your sensor chip supports pwm.

We will attempt to briefly stop each fan using the pwm controls.
The program will attempt to restore each fan to full speed
after testing. However, it is ** very important ** that you
physically verify that the fans have been to full speed
after the program has completed.

/usr/sbin/pwmconfig: There are no pwm-capable sensor modules installed
Yippee!!! This is my 100th post. :Bravo: :beer: :Yahoo!:

User avatar
oranus
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 69
Joined: 25 Aug 2011, 13:46
Location: Turkey

Re: Porteus-v2.0-x86_64 bug reports

Post#55 by oranus » 26 Apr 2013, 13:10

Hi all,

I test Porteus 2.0 on Touch screen laptop. I can use it but If I use touch I lost mouse or touchpad. It makes confuse. I can't use mouse left click and it suppose right click is always pressed.

Is there any way to remove touchscreen driver with some cheatcodes or could I change any base xzm module?

User avatar
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Posts: 1331
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
Location: USA

Re: Porteus-v2.0-x86_64 bug reports

Post#56 by Ahau » 26 Apr 2013, 18:33

Hi oranus, what's the brand and model of the touchscreen device?

It may be that your touch screen is not working well with the latest evdev driver, or I suppose it also might be trying to use the synaptics driver for it instead of evdev. If possible, please boot with saved changes, reproduce the error, and after a reboot (or from another device) you can grab /var/log/Xorg.0.log and upload it to pastebin so we can see more about what's happening there.

On my tablet with a touch screen, I have to install an older version of evdev. Unfortunately, the older version doesn't support multitouch or right-click emulation, but with the newer driver it doesn't accept clicks on some objects (I can open menus but not move or resize windows) and it gets stuck, registering left clicks over and over again. This sounds slightly different from your issue, but maybe the solution will be similar.
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

User avatar
oranus
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 69
Joined: 25 Aug 2011, 13:46
Location: Turkey

Re: Porteus-v2.0-x86_64 bug reports

Post#57 by oranus » 27 Apr 2013, 16:55

Hi Ahau,

Thanks for reply. I'll send that notebook /var/log/Xorg.0.log file. I see the same problem which you have. So it make me crazy so I admit that disable touchscreen speciality and I want to use it with mouse. How can I disable evdev securely because I try to rm evdev.ko 000kernel.xzm and porteus doesn't start :)

Second topic is Could you help me to write script about multi monitor case. I try to use HDMI TV with my laptop but if I use each of the device maximum resolution notebook screen is out of scale. I can't handle start toolbar and soe times it occurs on TV. But if I use same resolution each of device there is no problem. Sometimes both of the device doesn't have same resolution with xrandr output. Exp. Notebook has only 1600x900 but TV has 1920x1080... 1440x900 etc.

How could I write script to fit each of the screen their own resolution?

Thanks Ahau...

User avatar
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Posts: 1331
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
Location: USA

Re: Porteus-v2.0-x86_64 bug reports

Post#58 by Ahau » 29 Apr 2013, 22:15

oranus,

since evdev controls the touch screen and your mouse, you won't be able to remove the driver. I'll compile an older version of it (version 2.6) and upload it, probably tomorrow afternoon UTC.

Regarding the script, if you can give the xrandr commands that are required for each setup I could probably help you write a script. It sounds like fanthom made some suggestions in another thread -- give that a shot and then let me know if you want to try some kind of custom script for it.
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

User avatar
oranus
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 69
Joined: 25 Aug 2011, 13:46
Location: Turkey

Re: Porteus-v2.0-x86_64 bug reports

Post#59 by oranus » 30 Apr 2013, 07:31

@Ahau

This is about auto detect device script which I write. But it needs improvement. Could you do it?:
http://pastebin.com/fYqBufvP

The only problem is --auto parameter of xrandr. After that screen is out of scale.

User avatar
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Posts: 1331
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
Location: USA

Re: Porteus-v2.0-x86_64 bug reports

Post#60 by Ahau » 30 Apr 2013, 15:48

Hi oranus,

here's the downgraded evdev driver.
64-bit: http://porteus-xfce.googlecode.com/file ... -1Ahau.xzm
32-bit: http://porteus-xfce.googlecode.com/file ... -1Ahau.xzm

save the driver for your arch to /porteus/modules and reboot, and you'll be using the downgraded 2.6.0 evdev driver. It lacks multitouch and right click emulation support, but hopefully it will restore your touchcreen to working order :) If you're still having trouble, you may need to calibrate the touchscreen, which has been discussed a bit on this thread: viewtopic.php?f=102&t=2047

I don't have extensive experience with multiple monitor configurations, so I'm not sure I'm the best person to help you with the script. That said, does xrandr --auto work properly if you run it manually, outside of the script?
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

Post Reply