Porteus-v2.0-i486 bug reports

Please reproduce your error on a second machine before posting, and check the error by running without saved changes or extra modules (See FAQ No. 13, "How to report a bug"). For unstable Porteus versions (alpha, beta, rc) please use the relevant thread in our "Development" section.
User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1319
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

Re: Porteus-v2.0-i486 bug reports

Post#61 by Rava » 10 Jul 2013, 22:45

fanthom wrote: that's weird - did you mix up the kernel versions by any chance?
Not that I know, it's a clean 2.0 install... but it acted weird once, telling me that fs / folder of / is invalid, seems there were just too many stuff loaded from the modules, so I just restarted...
please show me what 'dmesg' says about this error (you could also upgrade to kernel from rc2 as suggested by brokenman).
dmesg tells me nothing. the last info is about eth0 becoming ready... When re-run modprobe sr, dmesg says unaltered / the same.

I can use kernel and initrd without newest / 2.1rc1 001-core?
Cheers!
Yours Rava

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v2.0-i486 bug reports

Post#62 by fanthom » 11 Jul 2013, 15:00

seems there were just too many stuff loaded from the modules
if you are talking about xzm modules then please boot into 'always fresh' mode when you debug an issue related to kernel or default ISO in general
When re-run modprobe sr, dmesg says unaltered / the same
not sure if this is typo but just in case: please modprobe 'sg' driver
I can use kernel and initrd without newest / 2.1rc1 001-core?
to upgrade the kernel you must copy /boot/syslinux/vmlinuz + /porteus/base/000-kernel.xzm from new ISO to your existing porteus. please do not upgrade other components as it may break something.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1319
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

Re: Porteus-v2.0-i486 bug reports

Post#63 by Rava » 11 Jul 2013, 19:27

fanthom wrote:not sure if this is typo but just in case: please modprobe 'sg' driver
I just ran

Code: Select all

modeprobe sg
since I thought sg was the scsi driver already... ???
Cheers!
Yours Rava

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v2.0-i486 bug reports

Post#64 by fanthom » 12 Jul 2013, 09:25

yes 'sg' is a scsi driver and that's why i asked if it were loaded when you plugged your external burner.
anyway - does it help when you load it manually?
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1319
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

Re: Porteus-v2.0-i486 bug reports

Post#65 by Rava » 12 Jul 2013, 16:42

fanthom wrote:anyway - does it help when you load it manually?
No, like I said: "modprobe sg" exits with exit code 1 (I get that info via "echo $?" ), but not gives me any additional information of what went wrong...
Cheers!
Yours Rava

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v2.0-i486 bug reports

Post#66 by fanthom » 12 Jul 2013, 17:31

"modprobe sg" exits with exit code 1
ok - let's track this down.
please boot 2.0 to 'always fresh' mode -> run 'modprobe sg' -> attach your external burner -> upload /var/log/dmesg to pastebin.com and link here.
if you get 'modprobe exits with code 1' then please make a screenshot of the terminal and upload to tinypic.com

also - please generate full system report (while in 'always fresh') and upload to pastebin.com.

thanks
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1319
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

Re: Porteus-v2.0-i486 bug reports

Post#67 by Rava » 13 Jul 2013, 21:36

fanthom wrote:also - please generate full system report (while in 'always fresh') and upload to pastebin.com.
What do you mean with " full system report"? psinfo?
Cheers!
Yours Rava

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v2.0-i486 bug reports

Post#68 by fanthom » 14 Jul 2013, 19:29

the tool is named 'Porteus System Info' and is placed in your desktopm menu under 'System' heading.
please launch PSI and dump 'full report'.

thanks
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Post Reply