Porteus does not offer mounting of dev no more

Please reproduce your error on a second machine before posting, and check the error by running without saved changes or extra modules (See FAQ No. 13, "How to report a bug"). For unstable Porteus versions (alpha, beta, rc) please use the relevant thread in our "Development" section.
Post Reply
User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5072
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Porteus does not offer mounting of dev no more

Post#1 by francois » 13 Jan 2011, 23:40

I am working with v09 frugal install. Before this version, the OS use to ask for mounting of the usb key each time I would plug it in. Each time that I plug the usb, to get access to the files of the usb key or of any external hdd, I have to resort to:
mount /dev/sdb1 /mnt/sdb1

Is there a reason why it does not work this way anymore? Is there a new shortcut?
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4614
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus does not offer mounting of dev no more

Post#2 by fanthom » 15 Jan 2011, 07:49

works here:
http://img814.imageshack.us/img814/6634/snap0000o.jpg
and here:
http://img585.imageshack.us/img585/9434/001li.jpg

please check if your 'hal' daemon is running.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

goyfilms
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 11
Joined: 18 Jan 2011, 22:25
Location: Spain

Re: Porteus does not offer mounting of dev no more

Post#3 by goyfilms » 18 Jan 2011, 22:31

hi!
it works for me like fanthom, but only if I plug in when the Desktop is loaded, however if I boot with the pendrive in, it don't be mounted automatically, I must put in console "mount /dev/sdb1 /mnt/sdb1"
I run porteus from USB pendrive

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4614
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus does not offer mounting of dev no more

Post#4 by fanthom » 18 Jan 2011, 23:43

looks like my implementation of LLS is too fast for your pendrive :)
add 'delay=2' cheatcode and booting will be slowed down by 2 secs which should be enough for your pendrive to get initialized by the kernel. Once done, stick should be automounted properly.
Let me know if that works for you.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5072
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Porteus does not offer mounting of dev no more

Post#5 by francois » 19 Jan 2011, 00:05

Sorry everybody. The problem seems to be tied to my frugal install and to its save changes folder. Meaning rebooting anew without the changes folder did the job.

Thanks for the feedback.
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5558
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus does not offer mounting of dev no more

Post#6 by brokenman » 19 Jan 2011, 00:45

looks like my implementation of LLS is too fast for your pendrive
There is no time for a splash screen to be appreciated. It is TOO fast! Please put a sleep 30 at the end. :shock:

Does anyone know of a faster booting linux? I think DSL and xpud are around the same for me.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
KSA_ARAB
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 52
Joined: 29 Dec 2010, 00:54
Location: Saudi Arabia
Contact:

Re: Porteus does not offer mounting of dev no more

Post#7 by KSA_ARAB » 19 Jan 2011, 01:20

fanthom wrote:works here:
http://img814.imageshack.us/img814/6634/snap0000o.jpg
and here:
http://img585.imageshack.us/img585/9434/001li.jpg

please check if your 'hal' daemon is running.
Image
I worked on Lubuntu to see how to Lxde desktop look like.
yes, when mount devices we see notification window on KDE,
this notification window works on Lubuntu, but it's not work on Lxde Porteus, but when I open Pcmanfm file manager I must go to directory manually or mount USB flash manually.

in LXDE must be like this for Pcmanfm and notification window.
Image
Last edited by KSA_ARAB on 19 Jan 2011, 10:14, edited 6 times in total.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5072
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Porteus does not offer mounting of dev no more

Post#8 by francois » 19 Jan 2011, 01:45

francois wrote:Sorry everybody. The problem seems to be tied to my frugal install and to its save changes folder. Meaning rebooting anew without the changes folder did the job.
.
Concerning the frugal install, I really love jcsoh comment on transforming the save changes folder into a lzm module, citation:

... convert the changes partition or subdirectory to a lzm module (search this expression in the following post)

It happens to me frequently that with time my changes file gets corrupted or all mixex up. Jcsoh's solution is rather elegant, see:
http://www.slax.org/forum.php?action=vi ... ostid72773
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
KSA_ARAB
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 52
Joined: 29 Dec 2010, 00:54
Location: Saudi Arabia
Contact:

Re: Porteus does not offer mounting of dev no more

Post#9 by KSA_ARAB » 19 Jan 2011, 09:24

the problem for automount in Pcmanfm-Lxde , Solved when I installed this version
http://download.salixos.org/i486/curren ... 86-2gv.txz
http://download.salixos.org/x86_64/curr ... 64-2gv.txz

Image

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4614
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus does not offer mounting of dev no more

Post#10 by fanthom » 19 Jan 2011, 10:40

@francoise
please do not post remix or porteus bug reports on slax site. we created porteus site for this purpose. open a bug in relevant subforum and i'll help you with a pleasure.

@KSA_ARAB
works for me with default ISO for both editions:
http://img148.imageshack.us/img148/9062/snap0000.jpg

(this thread has a big chance to be linked in the FAQ as an example of not following Q/A 14 "How to report a bug?" )
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
X-Factor
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 88
Joined: 29 Dec 2010, 23:19
Location: bali, indonesia

Re: Porteus does not offer mounting of dev no more

Post#11 by X-Factor » 19 Jan 2011, 11:42

@ksa_arab
your link is module for cosmetic change so LXDE looks prettier, i had problem too if it is not vanilla porteus even with converting your linked tx file
I've been confine to my quarter
http://img143.imageshack.us/i/medusathing.jpg/

goyfilms
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 11
Joined: 18 Jan 2011, 22:25
Location: Spain

Re: Porteus does not offer mounting of dev no more

Post#12 by goyfilms » 19 Jan 2011, 14:59

fanthom wrote:looks like my implementation of LLS is too fast for your pendrive :)
add 'delay=2' cheatcode and booting will be slowed down by 2 secs which should be enough for your pendrive to get initialized by the kernel. Once done, stick should be automounted properly.
Let me know if that works for you.
thank you very much!!! "delay=2" works fine!

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5072
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Porteus does not offer mounting of dev no more

Post#13 by francois » 19 Jan 2011, 16:13

@fanthom:
Sorry for that. There was a grey zone between slax and porteus, remix. I will be more strict in the future keeping remix and porteus for porteus forum, and naming remix as porteus. However, I can read on slax forum that there are still some people unaware of that distinction.

And thanks for the help proposition.
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

Post Reply