K3B don't want to DVDrip

Please reproduce your error on a second machine before posting, and check the error by running without saved changes or extra modules (See FAQ No. 13, "How to report a bug"). For unstable Porteus versions (alpha, beta, rc) please use the relevant thread in our "Development" section.
Post Reply
blablotin
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 67
Joined: 04 Jan 2011, 22:59
Location: Euro

K3B don't want to DVDrip

Post#1 by blablotin » 13 Jan 2011, 19:46

Good morning, I would like to DVDrip to be abble to watch the rented movie after to give back the DVD to the multimedia rent compagnie. so I open K3B and choose the menu tools -> Rip Video DVD, but nothing happen.

so I restart in terminal KDB to be able to see why K3B don't want to DVDrip, but he realy do nothing at all because when I ask to DVD rip, nothing happen, even on terminal, (no message printed) (I waited for a message like "impossible to ... because lib....so.3 is missing")

So, how can I do to Know what do I need to DVDrip? whitch modules are required?

beny
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 720
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 11:33
Location: italy

Re: K3B don't want to DVDrip

Post#2 by beny » 14 Jan 2011, 15:23

btw.it's illegal,but k9copy and libdvdcss doing the job,k3b with commercial dvd don't work.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5439
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: K3B don't want to DVDrip

Post#3 by brokenman » 15 Jan 2011, 00:21

Don't think i would call this a bug. To RIP DVD k3b requires transcode, ffmpeg, libdvdread, libdvdnav, and dependencies. The other obstacle you may find is any copyright protection.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

blablotin
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 67
Joined: 04 Jan 2011, 22:59
Location: Euro

Re: K3B don't want to DVDrip

Post#4 by blablotin » 15 Jan 2011, 09:00

@ Beny, thank you for required modules but RIP once for private use could'nt be illegal everywhere. In France, when we buy one media we are allow to do once copy if booth commercial media and copy stay inside the family. It is exactly the same about reccording the radio or the TV.
I think we can do the same for rented DVD, because if we want to increase our English listening, with only once rented DVD at the same time, it is usefull to dvd rip to be abble to see 4 movies during the week end, the time it is closed.

@ brokenman, thank for K3B's dependences I know it is not a bug, but I am not able to find the area to be able to ask question which is not in the FAQ, neither to make request about modules and dependencing identification.

Burninbush
Power user
Power user
Posts: 49
Joined: 29 Dec 2010, 01:46
Location: Near SF, CA

Re: K3B don't want to DVDrip

Post#5 by Burninbush » 04 Feb 2011, 19:09

I will add to this for the benefit of those users in countries where making a personal backup copy is legal -- probably not for the US of A.

Try using DVDFab.exe [latest edition free download] running under Wine. Works very well in tests here, and so far has been able to defeat even the most bizarre copy protection schemes. It appears that the company is dedicated to beating whatever the studios come up with.

Post Reply