Printing

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3058
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Printing

Post#16 by Ed_P » 08 Mar 2013, 19:39

francois wrote:Are you on 32 bit or 64bit?
32-bit
You have choosen the GENERIC or the HP as the manufacturer?
One of each.
What is the name you gave to your printer?
Let's see how this works.

Code: Select all

▼ Queue Name ▼	         Description	                Location	  Make and Model	              Status
HP_Officejet_Pro_8600	HP Officejet Pro 8600		                HP DeskJet Series	              Idle
HP_printer	                   HP OfficeJet Pro 8600	Upstairs	   Generic PCL Laser Printer	Idle
1) Did you tried the test page from the CUPS interface? This is important, if the test does not work, it will not work in your word processor or utility.
To test proper functioning of the printer, select Maintenance > Print test page (if it comes out, your in business)
I did not see that function. I will try it now.
2) From within your word processor or utility, be sure you selected the printer with the name that you choose.
Ok
Ed

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3058
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Printing

Post#17 by Ed_P » 08 Mar 2013, 19:44

http://localhost:631/printers/HP_printer

Print Test Page HP_printer Error

Unable to print test page:

Unsupported format "application/vnd.cups-banner".



http://localhost:631/printers/HP_Officejet_Pro_8600

Print Test Page HP_Officejet_Pro_8600 Error

Unable to print test page:

Unsupported format "application/vnd.cups-banner".
Ed

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4902
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Printing

Post#18 by francois » 08 Mar 2013, 20:51

Did you tried the usb install procedure to see if it work at all?

I am sorry for you, I thought the AppSocket could have made the difference. As I mentioned above HP states that the network function does not work under slackware. But there are other distributions that seem to work network wise.
http://hplipopensource.com/hplip-web/mo ... _8600.html

Alternatively, maybe you can try to state your problem on linuxquestions under the slackware topic.
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3058
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Printing

Post#19 by Ed_P » 08 Mar 2013, 21:05

francois wrote:Did you tried the usb install procedure to see if it work at all?
I have not.
I am sorry for you, I thought the AppSocket could have made the difference. As I mentioned above HP states that the network function does not work under slackware. But there are other distributions that seem to work network wise.
http://hplipopensource.com/hplip-web/mo ... _8600.html
I think there are two different meanings to the term "network function". One is the ability to print from anywhere via the Internet and the other is to print from a local/home network. This printer has both functions though I've never used or configured the Internet one.
Alternatively, maybe you can try to state your problem on linuxquestions under the slackware topic.
Thanks I may do that.

I appreciate your help francois.

BTW Do you know where Valois Bay is?
Ed

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3058
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Printing

Post#20 by Ed_P » 08 Mar 2013, 21:13

EdP wrote:http://localhost:631/printers/HP_printer

Print Test Page HP_printer Error

Unable to print test page:

Unsupported format "application/vnd.cups-banner".



http://localhost:631/printers/HP_Officejet_Pro_8600

Print Test Page HP_Officejet_Pro_8600 Error

Unable to print test page:

Unsupported format "application/vnd.cups-banner".
In that I have banners, Starting and Ending, set to None for both printer configs why is there an error on a file named vnd.cups-banner?
Ed

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4902
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Printing

Post#21 by francois » 08 Mar 2013, 22:17

In my understanding it means that the printer is not setup properly. You never get that message when it is without doing anything particular beforehand when the printer is well setup. But I may be wrong.

But before anything else it would be really a good idea to try to setup the printer usb wise.

Maybe we can have a look at the error log file (though I am no expert there), this would surely interesting information to have on hand):
http://www.linuxfoundation.org/collabor ... ror_log.3F
/var/log/cups/error_log

Meanwhile I am coming in with another option system-config-printer:
viewtopic.php?f=61&t=1994

It does not work with GENERIC printer option. However, if you see your printer model in CUPS, why not try it.

When you open CUPS. Does it detect any network printer?
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4902
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Printing

Post#22 by francois » 09 Mar 2013, 07:16

@EdP:
Forget about the above.

I have the impression that you have found a bug on porteus v 2.0. 8) Up to now I was working with the precedent version 1.2. I had the same error message yesterday nite as I tried the new 2.0 os version.

Try the following CUPS module and report to tell me if your network intallation works (put it in the /porteus/module folder and activate it by double clicking):
http://www.mediafire.com/?uzg1bvc8zc1c9vt

INSTRUCTIONS.
Just download the module into /porteus/optional and activate it. Thru CUPS select administration and both the printer that you have and delete them thru administration menu. Reinstall the printer as you did and make a printer test. It should work.

However, for now there is no permanent solution. We will have to wait for debugging of CUPS porteus.

Please report.

Thanks.

Edited 2013-03-11 to be more accurate.
Last edited by francois on 10 Mar 2013, 21:09, edited 5 times in total.
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4902
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Printing

Post#23 by francois » 09 Mar 2013, 07:48

For you all:

A simpler printer interface: system-config-printer:
viewtopic.php?f=61&t=1994

Have fun! :D
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4902
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Printing

Post#24 by francois » 10 Mar 2013, 21:10

Modified the second post ahead to give more accurate instructions to EdP.
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

Bjornar
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 1
Joined: 10 Mar 2013, 22:15
Distribution: Porteus v2 64
Location: Norway

Re: Printing

Post#25 by Bjornar » 10 Mar 2013, 23:03

I'm a rookie, but I just want to share my experience with the brother 2030 printer on 64 bit .

I spent a lot of hours with gutenprint and cups without any luck. I had tried the linux drivers which brother got on their website, but, initially, had no luck with them. I finally got it to work after downloading and activating the compat32 libraries and then activating the two packages after right clicking and converting from .deb. :beer:

I have to say, after being able to install a printer in a linux environment I feel... invincible :)

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5436
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Printing

Post#26 by brokenman » 11 Mar 2013, 00:39

Welcome Bjornar and thanks for posting your experience.
I have to say, after being able to install a printer in a linux environment I feel... invincible
I hear you there. We are trying to bridge the gap and create a user friendly environment for things like this. Help from people like Francois (our resident printer guy) is invaluable.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

cttan
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 332
Joined: 26 Jan 2011, 16:15
Distribution: Porteus 3.2 64bit KDE
Location: Malaysia

Re: Printing

Post#27 by cttan » 11 Mar 2013, 08:55

Hi Bjornar,

Glad to hear that you have overcome the printer issue. It definitely a show stopper if you are migrating to Linux and cannot print with it. I have struggled almost 1 year to get my home and office printer to work.

Hi EdP,

I have been successfully print to these printers via network:-
I believe the pxlmono.ppd is the default printer driver that comes with CUPS.

1. HP LaserJet

Code: Select all

lpadmin -E -p HP_LaserJet_P4515 -P /usr/share/cups/model/pxlmono.ppd -v socket://<put your printer IP address here>
cupsenable HP_LaserJet_P4515
cupsaccept HP_LaserJet_P4515
lpoptions -d HP_LaserJet_P4515
/etc/rc.d/rc.cups restart
opera localhost:631/printers
2. Canon iR3570

Code: Select all

lpadmin -E -p Canon_iR3570_35.06 -P /usr/share/cups/model/pxlmono.ppd -v socket://<put your printer IP address here>
cupsenable Canon_iR3570_35.06
cupsaccept Canon_iR3570_35.06
lpoptions -d Canon_iR3570_35.06
/etc/rc.d/rc.cups restart
opera localhost:631/printers
2. Konica Minolta C420

Code: Select all

cp -a /mnt/sdb1/KONICA_MINOLTA_bizhub_420.ppd /usr/share/cups/model
cp -a /mnt/sdb1/minolta /usr/lib64/cups/filter/
lpadmin -p KONICA_MINOLTA_bizhub_420 -P /usr/share/cups/model/KONICA_MINOLTA_bizhub_420.ppd -v socket://<put your printer IP address here>
cupsenable KONICA_MINOLTA_bizhub_420
cupsaccept KONICA_MINOLTA_bizhub_420
lpoptions -d KONICA_MINOLTA_bizhub_420
/etc/rc.d/rc.cups restart
opera localhost:631/printers
minolta script:-

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash
#/usr/lib64/cups/filter/
#source /etc/cups/ppd/${PRINTER}.km
#source /etc/cups/ppd/KONICA_MINOLTA_bizhub_420.km
ACCOUNT_NAME=""
ACCOUNT_PASSWORD="<put your code here>"
ACCOUNT_COETYPE="0"


echo -en "\033%-12345X"
echo -en "@PJL JOB\015\012"
echo -en "@PJL SET KMSECTIONNAME = \"${ACCOUNT_NAME}\"\015\012"
echo -en "@PJL SET KMSECTIONKEY = \"${ACCOUNT_PASSWORD}\"\015\012"
echo -en "@PJL SET KMCOETYPE = ${ACCOUNT_COETYPE}\015\012"
echo -en "@PJL ENTER LANGUAGE = POSTSCRIPT\015\012"

cat -

echo -en "\004\033%-12345X\015\012@PJL EOJ\015\012"
echo -en "\033%-12345X"
remember to chmod 755 minolta

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3058
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Printing

Post#28 by Ed_P » 12 Mar 2013, 04:59

cttan wrote:Hi EdP,

I have been successfully print to these printers via network:-
I believe the pxlmono.ppd is the default printer driver that comes with CUPS.

1. HP LaserJet

Code: Select all

lpadmin -E -p HP_LaserJet_P4515 -P /usr/share/cups/model/pxlmono.ppd -v socket://<put your printer IP address here>
cupsenable HP_LaserJet_P4515
cupsaccept HP_LaserJet_P4515
lpoptions -d HP_LaserJet_P4515
/etc/rc.d/rc.cups restart
opera localhost:631/printers

Hello cttan. :)

Thank you very much for trying to help. I tried but this is what I got.

Code: Select all

root@porteus:~# lpadmin -E -p HP_OfficeJet_P8600 -P /usr/share/cups/model/pxlmono.ppd -v socket://192.168.200.190.3911
lpadmin: Unable to open PPD file "/usr/share/cups/model/pxlmono.ppd" - No such file or directory
root@porteus:~# ls /usr/share/cups/model/
root@porteus:~# cat /usr/share/cups/model/
cat: /usr/share/cups/model/: Is a directory
root@porteus:~# 
Ed

cttan
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 332
Joined: 26 Jan 2011, 16:15
Distribution: Porteus 3.2 64bit KDE
Location: Malaysia

Re: Printing

Post#29 by cttan » 12 Mar 2013, 05:35

Hi EdP,

Sorry! I did not notice that you are using 32bit. I am using 64bit and it is confirmed that the pxlmono.ppd is included.

I am not too sure where to get it. Maybe you can try the gutenprint package as it provide driver for most of the printers available.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3058
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Printing

Post#30 by Ed_P » 12 Mar 2013, 05:42

While my netbook supports 64-bit processing I didn't want my USB stick to be limited to 64-bit machines.
cttan wrote:Maybe you can try the gutenprint package as it provide driver for most of the printers available.
How would I do that?



-update-

:lol: Well I found one way to bypass the banner error. I switched the printer's driver to Generic Postscript. No more banner error. Of course the test printer test emptied the paper tray after printing a single line. :wall:
%!PS-ADOBE-3.0 %%Creator: bannertops/CUPS v1.5.4 %%CreationDate: Tues 12 Mar 2013 0
Last edited by Ed_P on 12 Mar 2013, 06:07, edited 1 time in total.
Ed

Post Reply