Feedback for Porteus version 2.0 RC2

New features which should be implemented in Porteus; suggestions are welcome. All questions or problems with testing releases (alpha, beta, or rc) should go in their relevant thread here, rather than the Bug Reports section.
User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4625
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Feedback for Porteus version 2.0 RC2

Post#46 by fanthom » 02 Feb 2013, 18:59

@claude
You have libdb-4.8 in /lib in Porteus 2.0-rc1
yes but this is a plain lib which belongs to aaa_elflibs package (please read it's description) without headers and such.
in fact, slackware provides 3 varsions of db package.
please go here:
http://packages.slackware.com/
and search for 'db4' for your arch and slackware version (slackware-14.0 in case of porteus-2.0)

btw: this site is handy when searching for libraries (choose "Mode->content").
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

claude
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 80
Joined: 02 Jan 2013, 15:16
Distribution: XFCE 3.1
Location: California

Re: Feedback for Porteus version 2.0 RC2

Post#47 by claude » 02 Feb 2013, 20:04

@fanthom
Thanks a lot for link :) I've downloaded it...will try compiling CM again tonight.

johnel
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 3
Joined: 03 Feb 2013, 12:57
Distribution: Porteus RC1
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Feedback for Porteus version 2.0 RC2

Post#48 by johnel » 03 Feb 2013, 13:05

A quick bug report

I'm not sure what happened but with the current RC Xorg seems to be running really slow (intel 915 on Compaq Q notebook)

I noticed this while dragging windows around and movies are low frame rate.

The Previous RC was fine. I've had a quick check in the logs and haven't seen anything obvious.

When I get a chance I'll look into it further and post logs here too (which ones will be most helpful?)

I've tried installing in 2 different USB sticks and booted to "Always Fresh" just to be sure. I'll also try another PC to see if the problem arises.

BTW: You guys are doing a great job and Porteus is extremely useful to me - thanks for all the hard work.

I've also created a few modules (Chrome, Gimp & Inkscape - created via previous RC) - Will anyone find these useful?

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1319
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

Re: Feedback for Porteus version 2.0 RC2

Post#49 by Rava » 03 Feb 2013, 13:44

Hi,

checking out 2.0 rc2 x86_64 the first time, loads nice and quick, also the new USB installer is neat and quick.

But why is it refusing to load all modules from base?

These are what was loaded:

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ ls /mnt/live/memory/images/
000-kernel.xzm/  002-xorg.xzm/     0090-xfce.xzm/
001-core.xzm/    006-firefox.xzm/  0091-xfce-apps.xzm/
But these are what I put in base:

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ ls /mnt/sda1/porteus/base/
000-kernel.xzm   0090-xfce.xzm
001-core.xzm     0091-xfce-apps.xzm
002-xorg.xzm     nVidia-310.32-porteus-v2.0-rc2-x86_64-1ftm.xzm
006-firefox.xzm
And sure, the graphics driver needs to be loaded prior starting X.

I searched the announcement post viewtopic.php?f=35&t=1868 for "base" but found nil...
Cheers!
Yours Rava

claude
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 80
Joined: 02 Jan 2013, 15:16
Distribution: XFCE 3.1
Location: California

Re: Feedback for Porteus version 2.0 RC2

Post#50 by claude » 03 Feb 2013, 16:31

@fanthom
@brokenman
No luck. Compilation keeps asking for additional libraries. Tried using Porteus
package manager, but no claws-mail apparently available for 32bit arch. Not worth
it all this effort. What I'll do, I'll wait for Porteus 2.0 final and then go for 64bit-arch
edition. There should be no problem with 64bit Porteus and claws-mail, gnutls and
its dependencies. For the time being I'll still use old slax 6.1.2 for using claws-mail.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5656
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Feedback for Porteus version 2.0 RC2

Post#51 by brokenman » 03 Feb 2013, 16:38

but no claws-mail apparently available for 32bit arch.
I just tested claws (through PPM) from a default install of Porteus 32bit v2.0rc2 (it is most certainly in the repository) and it worked ok. All dependencies were resolved, it downloaded in less than 1 minute and clicking the icon in the menu started claws. Actually, I used this app for testing the package manager during updates because it requires many deps.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

claude
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 80
Joined: 02 Jan 2013, 15:16
Distribution: XFCE 3.1
Location: California

Re: Feedback for Porteus version 2.0 RC2

Post#52 by claude » 03 Feb 2013, 18:17

brokenman wrote:I just tested claws (through PPM) from a default install of Porteus 32bit v2.0rc2 (it is most certainly in the repository) and it worked ok. All dependencies were resolved, it downloaded in less than 1 minute and clicking the icon in the menu started claws. Actually, I used this app for testing the package manager during updates because it requires many deps.
Possibly my fault, as I don't quite understand how to work the package manager....
Can you explain to me exactly the steps to take once I open package manager and select HD
directory for downloaded modules? Choosing "Porteus categories" and then "network" shows
nothing. Entering keyword "claws-mail" shows nothing. I'm probably doing something wrong.
Please explain. Thanks.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4625
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Feedback for Porteus version 2.0 RC2

Post#53 by fanthom » 03 Feb 2013, 20:19

@johnel
I'm not sure what happened but with the current RC Xorg seems to be running really slow (intel 915 on Compaq Q notebook)
do you have a dual GPU setup by any chance?
(yesterday i have found that a quirk for disabling discrete GPU introduced in rc2 gives me oopses on nVidia + intel laptop so i'll remove it for final)
When I get a chance I'll look into it further and post logs here too (which ones will be most helpful?)
please run 'Porteus system info' and dump full report -> upload to pastebin.com and link here.
I've also created a few modules (Chrome, Gimp & Inkscape - created via previous RC) - Will anyone find these useful?
if they are not present in official repo already then please post them in 'modules' section of the forum.
BTW: You guys are doing a great job and Porteus is extremely useful to me - thanks for all the hard work.
our pleasure :)

@Rava
But why is it refusing to load all modules from base?
the only explanation is a corrupted module.
please try to mount it with 'mloop nVidia-310.32-porteus-v2.0-rc2-x86_64-1ftm.xzm' command.

@claude
i had the same problem after upgrade form 1.2 to 2.0-rc1.
must be some incompatibility in PPM configs.
if brokenman wont give you better advice which file to delete then i would boot in 'always fresh' and check if PPM works.
if that resolves PPM issue then i would delete whole /etc/ppm and /opt/ppm folders from your changes (please make sure you are doing it in 'always fresh' mode so aufs wont remember that these folders were deleted) and then boot as normal.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5656
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Feedback for Porteus version 2.0 RC2

Post#54 by brokenman » 03 Feb 2013, 22:01

Yes the PPM from rc1 suffered many bugs due to the gtkdialog upgrade. These have been addressed in the latest PPM. Please download from one of the following links.

32bit
64bit

Our modules are slowly growing in the repo. 64bit has more than 32bit but i will catch up for final.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1319
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

Re: Feedback for Porteus version 2.0 RC2

Post#55 by Rava » 03 Feb 2013, 22:41

fanthom wrote:@Rava
But why is it refusing to load all modules from base?
the only explanation is a corrupted module.
please try to mount it with 'mloop nVidia-310.32-porteus-v2.0-rc2-x86_64-1ftm.xzm' command.
Idiot me not thought of that possibility... I checked the md5sum after downloading it (on another PC), but not after saving it and running it from the USB stick.
Anyhow, what do you folks think of the idea of some bold and red info / warning text when for some reason, like corrupted module, the insertion of a module failed?

According to Porteus 1.2 md5sum aon a x86 machine, the md5sum should be okay:

Code: Select all

rava@porteus:/mnt/sda1/bin/linux/64$ grep nVidia-310.32-porteus-v2.0-rc2-x86_64-1ftm.xzm md5sums.txt
8576e9181ced4faaa5530f0f5e867445  drivers/nVidia-310.32-porteus-v2.0-rc2-x86_64-1ftm.xzm
rava@porteus:/mnt/sda1/bin/linux/64$ md5sum nVidia-310.32-porteus-v2.0-rc2-x86_64-1ftm.xzm /media/extUSB03/porteus/base/nVidia-310.32-porteus-v2.0-rc2-x86_64-1ftm.xzm 
8576e9181ced4faaa5530f0f5e867445  nVidia-310.32-porteus-v2.0-rc2-x86_64-1ftm.xzm
8576e9181ced4faaa5530f0f5e867445  /media/extUSB03/porteus/base/nVidia-310.32-porteus-v2.0-rc2-x86_64-1ftm.xzm
So, according to the md5sum text file the module should be okay... Has anyone else tested that very module?

I now try to activate it by hand on the console on the same machine to see if I get any more info.

________________________________

Since darkstar.ist.utl.pt is currently not available, I recommend adding, at least commented out, in /etc/slackyd/slackyd.conf

Code: Select all

repository slacky = http://slack.isper.sk/pub/slackware-14.0/
(I had to comment out the slacky = http://darkstar.ist.utl.pt/slackware/addon/slacky/slackware-13.37/ line and insert http://slack.isper.sk/pub/slackware-13.37 to have slackyd working probably, but finding the info was not easy since trying to open http://repository.slacky.eu/slackyd.txt via web browser got me only a redirect to google , only the google cache got me the needed info. :D
Cheers!
Yours Rava

User avatar
bdheeman
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 78
Joined: 15 Sep 2012, 19:39
Distribution: Porteus 3.0.1+ MATE/XFCE
Location: Chandigarh, PB, India
Contact:

Re: Feedback for Porteus version 2.0 RC2

Post#56 by bdheeman » 04 Feb 2013, 03:24

Thanks for introducing cheatcode "timezone"; IMHO, it is still a partial implemetation because the needed cheatcode "utc" is missing.

We missied, that a default value of "utc" should be "localtime", means the hardware clock is set to localtime; that's what most of the windows machines use. Whereas reccomended and, or conventional practice on Unix/Linux is set the hardware clock to UTC time. Hence the utiliy "hwclock" should set the system time according to the cheatcode "utc".
--
Balwinder S "bdheeman" Dheeman (http://bdheeman.BlogSpot.in/)
"Working together, works! The proof is GNU/Linux and F/LOSS Projects;
Do you too voluntarily work on or contribute to making any difference?"

User avatar
bdheeman
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 78
Joined: 15 Sep 2012, 19:39
Distribution: Porteus 3.0.1+ MATE/XFCE
Location: Chandigarh, PB, India
Contact:

Re: Feedback for Porteus version 2.0 RC2

Post#57 by bdheeman » 04 Feb 2013, 03:28

BTW, why do we have both a /run and /var/run?

See also http://www.h-online.com/open/news/item/ ... 19006.html and http://unix.stackexchange.com/questions ... system-run

Moreove, the /var/lock directoy has also been moved to /run/lock on most of the other popular distributions.
--
Balwinder S "bdheeman" Dheeman (http://bdheeman.BlogSpot.in/)
"Working together, works! The proof is GNU/Linux and F/LOSS Projects;
Do you too voluntarily work on or contribute to making any difference?"

User avatar
bdheeman
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 78
Joined: 15 Sep 2012, 19:39
Distribution: Porteus 3.0.1+ MATE/XFCE
Location: Chandigarh, PB, India
Contact:

Re: Feedback for Porteus version 2.0 RC2

Post#58 by bdheeman » 04 Feb 2013, 03:33

How about adding/including a PDF printer driver for cups, see http://www.cups-pdf.de/
--
Balwinder S "bdheeman" Dheeman (http://bdheeman.BlogSpot.in/)
"Working together, works! The proof is GNU/Linux and F/LOSS Projects;
Do you too voluntarily work on or contribute to making any difference?"

User avatar
godzilla
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 16
Joined: 27 Dec 2012, 14:41
Distribution: Porteus2.0/XFCE-64bit
Location: European Union
Contact:

Re: Feedback for Porteus version 2.0 RC2

Post#59 by godzilla » 04 Feb 2013, 05:54

brokenman wrote:Godzilla
Most probably 'wipe' is looking for a flat file system and gets a little confused with aufs during the temp name rewrite. Please confirm by writing a file to a drive and erasing it. It should work.
This appears to be the case and has now been solved, thanks.

User avatar
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Posts: 1331
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
Location: USA

Re: Feedback for Porteus version 2.0 RC2

Post#60 by Ahau » 04 Feb 2013, 07:05

bdheeman wrote:Thanks for introducing cheatcode "timezone"; IMHO, it is still a partial implemetation because the needed cheatcode "utc" is missing.

We missied, that a default value of "utc" should be "localtime", means the hardware clock is set to localtime; that's what most of the windows machines use. Whereas reccomended and, or conventional practice on Unix/Linux is set the hardware clock to UTC time. Hence the utiliy "hwclock" should set the system time according to the cheatcode "utc".
The function of setting the clock to utc and sekecting a timezone are merged together in the "timezone=" cheatcode. This is because setting a timezone while using 'localtime' results in a (perhaps unwanted or unintentional) change to the BIOS clock, which affects the time on future reboots and in other operating systems. To change the system clock to utc without changing the timezone, please use "timezone=Factory" or "timezone=GMT".

does this resolve the matter for you, or am I missing your intention?
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

Post Reply