save [Solved]

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
Post Reply
sonic
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 12
Joined: 16 Jan 2013, 11:31
Distribution: Porteus Standard 32 bits 1.2
Location: France

save [Solved]

Post#1 by sonic » 16 Jan 2013, 16:44

Hello !

Very interested Porteus, beautiful fast, but I can not to save the changes made ​​during my sessions.
I tried to find the English forum, but without success.
Well, I had a little success: I learned to load a module! :D

So I have an installation called "frugal" on my hard drive.

a first partition (sda2) it is a Puppy Linux distribution,
the second (sda3) the Porteus.
the third are much larger backups of documents.
there is also a swap partiton (sda1)

Here's menu.lst grub, the two distributions start well:

Code: Select all

# menu.lst produced by grub4dosconfig-v1.7
color white/green yellow/blue white/black green/black
timeout 10
default 0

# Frugal installed Puppy

title Lupu 525 (sda2/puppy525)
  find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /puppy525/initrd.gz
  kernel /puppy525/vmlinuz   psubdir=puppy525 pmedia=atahd pfix=fsck
  initrd /puppy525/initrd.gz

title Lupu 525 (sda2/puppy525) RAM mode\nBoot up Puppy without pupsave
  find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /puppy525/initrd.gz
  kernel /puppy525/vmlinuz   psubdir=puppy525 pmedia=atahd pfix=ram,fsck
  initrd /puppy525/initrd.gz

title Porteus 
  root (hd0,2)
  kernel /boot/vmlinuz
  APPEND vga=791 changes=/porteus/ noauto copy2ram toroot
  initrd /boot/initrd.xz
  

title Reboot computer
  reboot

title Halt computer
  halt
I created a backup using the File Manager Porteus Save a backup 'porteussave.dat' which is positioned under / mnt/sda3/porteus.

Well, that's all. I thought maybe it was specify the full path in grub 'porteussave.dat', ie instead of:

Code: Select all

changes=/porteus/ noauto copy2ram toroot

Code: Select all

changes=sda3/porteus/ noauto copy2ram toroot
but it is strange because Grub, when I selected the menu Porteus, know to look first in (hd0, 2)?

Here, I hope I was clear despite my bad english, I thank you for reading this far!
I posted too in the french forum..
See you soon!
Last edited by sonic on 18 Jan 2013, 06:37, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5456
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: save

Post#2 by brokenman » 17 Jan 2013, 00:46

If your partition is ext2/3/4 you will not require a porteussave.dat
You can simply put changes=/mnt/sda3/porteus/

If you're partition is FAT32 you will require the porteussave.dat file
changes=/mnt/sda3/porteussave.dat
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

sonic
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 12
Joined: 16 Jan 2013, 11:31
Distribution: Porteus Standard 32 bits 1.2
Location: France

Re: save

Post#3 by sonic » 17 Jan 2013, 07:37

brokenman wrote:If your partition is ext2/3/4 you will not require a porteussave.dat
You can simply put changes=/mnt/sda3/porteus/

If you're partition is FAT32 you will require the porteussave.dat file
changes=/mnt/sda3/porteussave.dat
Thanks brokenman for your answer.
I thought it was the opposite !

my partitions are ext 2/3, so, I erase the porteusave.dat file, and change like you tell me the menu.lst

no success, I tried so :
changes=/dev/sda3/porteus/

no success.

but, perhaps I must do something when I quite Porteus ?

Thanks to read me.

EDIT : here is my psinfo :
http://pastebin.ca/2303774

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4566
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: save

Post#4 by fanthom » 17 Jan 2013, 12:14

@sonic
please boot with 'changes=/mnt/sda3/porteus' (make sure /mnt/sda3/porteus folder really exist) and then show me output of following commands:

Code: Select all

cat /proc/cmdline
cat /var/log/porteus-livedbg
thanks
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5456
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: save

Post#5 by brokenman » 17 Jan 2013, 12:26

Looks like you did not boot with changes= cheatcode.

Code: Select all

BOOT INFO:
root=/dev/ram0 rootfstype=ext4 rw
 
BOOT DISK:
You booted from: /mnt/sda3/porteus
After booting with changes=/mnt/sda3/porteus/ you should see a new folder created called /mnt/sda3/porteus/changes/
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

sonic
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 12
Joined: 16 Jan 2013, 11:31
Distribution: Porteus Standard 32 bits 1.2
Location: France

Re: save

Post#6 by sonic » 17 Jan 2013, 13:11

@fanthom :

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ cat /proc/cmdline
root=/dev/ram0 rootfstype=ext4 rw

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ cat /var/log/porteus-livedbg
# Recognized devices:
/dev/sda1: TYPE="swap"
/dev/sda2: UUID="af779d93-12cb-4494-94a2-5fd30e9c55c3" TYPE="ext3"
/dev/sda3: UUID="a5f08035-07c6-46d9-9721-583a36412a0f" SEC_TYPE="ext2" TYPE="ext3"
/dev/sda4: UUID="aefcb4ad-30c9-4da4-8775-642860f9ce10" TYPE="ext4"

# Porteus boot device:
sda3

# Porteus data found in:
/mnt/sda3/porteus

# Changes are stored in:
none

# Non standard /rootcopy dir:
none

# Loaded modules:
base/000-kernel.xzm
base/001-core.xzm
base/002-xorg.xzm
base/003-lxde.xzm
base/004-tde.xzm
base/005-tdeapps.xzm
base/006-abiword.xzm
base/007-devel.xzm
base/008-firefox.xzm
modules/google-chrome-21.0.1180.57-i386-1sl.xzm
modules/locales-fr_FR.utf8-i486.xzm
modules/sudo-1.7.4p6-i486-1.xzm

@brokenman
you are right : there is no new folder created called /mnt/sda3/porteus/changes

thank you both

Edit :
perhaps my frugal install isn't good ? (I hardly read English, sorry)
I burn a DVD, so I copied the /boot and /porteus folders in sda3 part,
so I modified the menu.lst of grub which is in sda2 part like I wrote in my post.
and that's all.
now, the DVD is not in the DVD player.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4566
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: save

Post#7 by fanthom » 17 Jan 2013, 20:23

@sonic
i know where the problem is:
your cheatcodes are placed in wrong place (grub4dos config syntax is different than syslinux one)

this entry must work:

Code: Select all

title Porteus
  root (hd0,2)
  kernel /boot/vmlinuz vga=791 changes=/mnt/sda3/porteus noauto copy2ram toroot
  initrd /boot/initrd.xz
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

sonic
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 12
Joined: 16 Jan 2013, 11:31
Distribution: Porteus Standard 32 bits 1.2
Location: France

Re: save

Post#8 by sonic » 18 Jan 2013, 06:31

Ho many many thanks !
that's right !
Now I can explore Porteus .
:Yahoo!:

Post Reply