2.0 RC1 won't recognize 3G modem

Please reproduce your error on a second machine before posting, and check the error by running without saved changes or extra modules (See FAQ No. 13, "How to report a bug"). For unstable Porteus versions (alpha, beta, rc) please use the relevant thread in our "Development" section.
Post Reply
Mechii
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 2
Joined: 28 Dec 2012, 18:18
Distribution: Archbang, Porteus, Mint
Location: Hong Kong

2.0 RC1 won't recognize 3G modem

Post#1 by Mechii » 28 Dec 2012, 18:30

This seems to be an ongoing issue with Porteus, as reported by others during the 1.X build. I just got my old NEC Versa E668 up with 512MB RAM to see how the Razor-qt do on the lean old machine with the 2.0 RC1 build. Good news is that the build run pretty smooth , the not so fun part is that it eat up almost 150MB RM just for the load ( where most lightweight linux today can run as low as 100MB or less ).

But its the 3G modem that the OS simply refuse to recognize , mine is one of HUAWEI E122. It work perfectly fine on this same machine. Try that with a live Linux Mint 12 LXDE, ArchBang 2012.12, Bodhi 1.3, and also Antix 10.

Appreciate if anyone got any idea where this goes. If this had to be something up stream with Slackware or if I had to go to the old USB-modechange ( BTW, does this have it inside the repository anyway )

:bad: .. Mech

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4593
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: 2.0 RC1 won't recognize 3G modem

Post#2 by fanthom » 28 Dec 2012, 20:49

@Mechii
please install this package (or convert to xzm and activate):
http://mirrors.slackware.com/slackware/ ... i486-2.txz
and let us know if that helped, if yes then will be included in rc2

thanks
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Mechii
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 2
Joined: 28 Dec 2012, 18:18
Distribution: Archbang, Porteus, Mint
Location: Hong Kong

Re: 2.0 RC1 won't recognize 3G modem

Post#3 by Mechii » 29 Dec 2012, 13:17

:D fanthom ,

it seems the problem is more than just that. I've download the said file, and convert that to a module, ultimately having to manually copy it into the base load folder ( the package manager somehow won't allow me to search through my local storage for that converted XZM file ), Reboot and confirm its activated. However, well, it still won't recognize the USB 3G Modem whether that being inserted hot after boot or cold before boot. I have not on hand any other machine right now nor a copy of the Slackware. So that's about it how it is right now. Shall report back when I got any further testing with some alternative hardware / setup, that would take time though. that's about it .. for now

regard, Mech

gnomic
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 16
Joined: 29 Dec 2012, 23:56
Distribution: Linuxmint
Location: Aotearoa

Re: 2.0 RC1 won't recognize 3G modem

Post#4 by gnomic » 30 Dec 2012, 00:16

Hullo, will hop in on this thread as I was going to ask about use of 3g modems. As you may be aware many of these have a function called ZeroCD whereby on being plugged into a machine they show up as a CD which has the software required for use with Windows. This is often but not always seen by a Linux filemanager. Linux gets around this with usb_modeswitch, but this does not appear to be included in Porteus 2 rc1. Porteus did appear to mount as sr1, but iirc this wasn't seen in the file managers.

I have looked at this with both 32-bit Razor edition and the KDE4 using a ZTE modem. NetworkManager doesn't seem to become aware of the 3g modem and can't make a connection. This device does work with various other distros and NM. Part of the problem here seems to be the absence of usb_modeswitch. Also I think when NM works with 3g it usually includes a database of 3g providers around the world which includes details about the access point names. The user is provided with a point and click interface to steer them to a usable config.

The modem is seen to be connected via USB, but only as mentioned above as a data device mimicking a CD. I think it would be useful for Porteus to include 3g capability out of the box. Up to the devs of course to decide whether this can be done without making the iso too large. When looking at the issue, software called sakis3g may be of interest, as this also enables 3g usage, and has some useful documentation online.

If I may mention a certain other distro called Slax, v7 is able to use a 3g modem via NM.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4593
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: 2.0 RC1 won't recognize 3G modem

Post#5 by fanthom » 30 Dec 2012, 09:37

usb_modeswitch was missing during compilation of NM so this could be the issue.
will double check that and provide new NM stack for testing in early January as i would like to have it working for rc2.

will let you know when new module is ready.

thanks for reporting guys.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4593
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: 2.0 RC1 won't recognize 3G modem

Post#6 by fanthom » 01 Jan 2013, 20:17

update:
recompilation on NM may not be necessary :)

please install iso-codes package from here:
http://packages.slackware.com/?r=slackw ... arch-1.txz

let me know if that helped and i'll push it to rc2 by default.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Post Reply