Hope it is okay with naive question of size?

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
Post Reply
newbody
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 54
Joined: 19 May 2011, 14:40
Location: Sweden

Hope it is okay with naive question of size?

Post#1 by newbody » 25 Dec 2012, 08:45

I've downloaded two iso.
Porteus-v2.0-rc1-i486.iso (235MB),
Porteus-XFCE-v2.0-rc1-i486.iso (198MB),

I am booted in Porteus-v2.0-rc1-i486.iso (235MB),
is that one bigger and require more memory and such?


The text on DW says
Porteus 2.0, a set of Slackware-based live images
with a choice of KDE 4, LXDE, Razor-qt and Xfce desktop
environments:
if I use this boot code

Code: Select all

title Porteus 2.0 root toor
root (hd0,0)
kernel /porteusboot/isolinux/vmlinuz from_dev=/dev/sda1 from_dir=/porteus  toroot max_loop=256 fsck kmap=se
initrd /porteusboot/isolinux/initrd.xz 
kmap=se allow me to have English text but Swedish åäö on keyboard. As I want it to be
I added toroot which allow me to edit the menu.lst and save that file despite being Guest.

I am on NTFS formatted HD an old Vista machine.

I fail to get whatRazor is in relation to xfce win manager. are
Razor bigger than xfce?

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5575
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Hope it is okay with naive question of size?

Post#2 by brokenman » 25 Dec 2012, 20:51

The only difference between Razor-qt and xfce is that razor is a qt based desktop manager. They are both very lightweight, i am actually not sure which is smaller. Razor desktop is only about 5Mb but we have added many other things to the distro which increases the size. At the end of the day it is a matter of preference as to which one you use. Razor is a new desktop only released this year. Have to say Ahau did a great job with xfce this time, it looks really attractive.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

newbody
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 54
Joined: 19 May 2011, 14:40
Location: Sweden

Re: Hope it is okay with naive question of size?

Post#3 by newbody » 26 Dec 2012, 20:59

Thanks I notice there where a thread of post that did mention
Guest account and the root ? I used the toroot but still I am guest
If I get it so I have to find that thread or post again. :)

thanks for having a friendly forum

could be this thread? Re: how remove the guest acount ? [SOLVED]
viewtopic.php?f=81&t=904&start=10&hilit=guest+root

At least that one did caught my eye the other day.

User avatar
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Posts: 1331
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
Location: USA

Re: Hope it is okay with naive question of size?

Post#4 by Ahau » 26 Dec 2012, 21:10

"toroot" is not used in version 2.0, it has been replaced with "login=", so use "login=root". We have made this change so that those who want a custom user name (example, "newbody") could use it without having to add another cheatcode just for that (they would use "login=newbody").
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

newbody
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 54
Joined: 19 May 2011, 14:40
Location: Sweden

Re: Hope it is okay with naive question of size?

Post#5 by newbody » 26 Dec 2012, 21:12

Ahau wrote:"toroot" is not used in version 2.0, it has been replaced with "login=", so use "login=root". We have made this change so that those who want a custom user name (example, "newbody") could use it without having to add another cheatcode just for that (they would use "login=newbody").
Oh thanks.

I read every post in that thread Ilinked to but did nto get a word of it
so much appreciated your explain. Not sure what it means but instead of toroot
I should have login=root in the boot code. I test that right away then.

Edit
Report now when I am back in booted as root. Have to check using Terminal

Code: Select all

[/coroot@porteus:~# whoami
root
root@porteus:~# 

ah cool.

But that produce new problems 

[b]Please set root's editor in View|Preferences|Advanced[/b]

I guess every thing I would want to do ask me to set what program to use? 
Okay my bad wanting to be root. I am too stupid to use advanced things  :)

User avatar
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Posts: 1331
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
Location: USA

Re: Hope it is okay with naive question of size?

Post#6 by Ahau » 26 Dec 2012, 23:15

are you seeing this in razor or xfce, and in what program, or what command did you run?

We don't discourage use of 'root', but for security/safety we have 'guest' set as default. Everything should be configured to run out of the box on either of those accounts. Of course, you are always running at your own risk and can damage things when running as root, but it's not up to us to tell you not to do so :)
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

Post Reply