Trying to set up mobile broadband - Failing miserably

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
Post Reply
Hybrid
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 2
Joined: 12 Dec 2012, 22:43
Distribution: 1.2 64-bit
Location: Latvia

Trying to set up mobile broadband - Failing miserably

Post#1 by Hybrid » 12 Dec 2012, 23:00

Ah, quick hello to the Porteus team, seeing as this is my first post here anyway (and already off to asking things away :p).

So, here's what's been troubling me. I've gotten Porteus 1.2. running from a USB flash drive along with Windows 7 on the same computer for now, and I've been trying to set up my mobile broadband's connection to work properly. After fiddling around a bit in KDE a bit and going off to LXDE to try it out again, I managed to get to the Network Manager (hopefully, if I got the right idea, it was right at the bar in the bottom right part), selected to edit connections and went to the "Mobile Broadband" tab. Now, I clicked "New", after which I was presented with the option to input some data in. The part like "Number" I left out as I had no idea what to put in there (there was some short random symbols there, though) as in Windows such things were never asked to me)), along with some other options in the first small section. I only put in the PIN code and tried it out.

Of course, it didn't really work that way. Nothing really changed with the connection icon at the bottom, either.

Trying to set up a proper connection for my broadband stick has been quite a pain on Linux already, so, well, I'm coming here to ask for help, obviously. Do the other data fields affect it? And if not, why doesn't anything really happen?

P.S. Not sure if it's worth much of use, but my mobile broadband stick has some sort of Linux installation in it with some install instructions. I've tried this out before but experienced a bunch of errors on the same version of Porteus. It was on the "Always Refresh" option, so this install got deleted anyway.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5652
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Trying to set up mobile broadband - Failing miserably

Post#2 by brokenman » 13 Dec 2012, 00:04

Welcome Hybrid. I am sure somebody here can assist you in getting up and running, but first you should supply the model of the device you are using to help us isolate the problem. The instructions you spoke about would probably also help a lot. If you are unsure of the device then start up porteus, plug in the device and then open a console and type: dmesg|tail -n 20

I would then suggest typing: psinfo
This will dump an information file onto the /root/Desktop which you can then post the contents of at http://pastebin.ca

Code: Select all

leafpad /root/Desktop/psinfo.txt
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

Hybrid
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 2
Joined: 12 Dec 2012, 22:43
Distribution: 1.2 64-bit
Location: Latvia

Re: Trying to set up mobile broadband - Failing miserably

Post#3 by Hybrid » 13 Dec 2012, 15:21

brokenman wrote:Welcome Hybrid. I am sure somebody here can assist you in getting up and running, but first you should supply the model of the device you are using to help us isolate the problem. The instructions you spoke about would probably also help a lot. If you are unsure of the device then start up porteus, plug in the device and then open a console and type: dmesg|tail -n 20

I would then suggest typing: psinfo
This will dump an information file onto the /root/Desktop which you can then post the contents of at http://pastebin.ca

Code: Select all

leafpad /root/Desktop/psinfo.txt
Thanks for the reply!

Well, the device's model is Huawei e353s-2. Just in case, I also did the psinfo command, but not sure if it will be worth of much use now (Here). Also, I retried the install which was supplied in the device. Well, apprently I still get some odd errors, relating to the "sudo" and "chmod" commands and some directory issues. I've got a small log of that.

Here it is (On line 23-24 I tried out to run the installated remains just to see what happens. Not sure if running root from guest changes much, but I get pretty much the same with already using "toroot").

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5652
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Trying to set up mobile broadband - Failing miserably

Post#4 by brokenman » 13 Dec 2012, 18:28

There is a thread here about Huawei modems. Try putting the following modules in your porteus/modules folder and rebooting.

tcl, tk usbmodeswitsh (all together here)
http://www.mediafire.com/?u4uxpsvjnjqy6a3

You will also need:
GConf-2.32.4-i486-1ftm.xzm
gnome-keyring-3.0.3-i486-1ftm.xzm
gnutls-2.10.0.xzm
libtasn1-2.12.xzm
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4623
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Trying to set up mobile broadband - Failing miserably

Post#5 by fanthom » 13 Dec 2012, 22:03

i do not have a mobile broadband device here so can't check myself but i think NM has already everything you need:
link

it must be a matter of providing necessary details (user, pass, PIN) and it should work out of the box.

btw: would be nice if someone who has this type of connection could write a HOWTO: "Network Manager + mobile broadband" for Porteus users.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

cttan
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 332
Joined: 26 Jan 2011, 16:15
Distribution: Porteus 3.2 64bit KDE
Location: Malaysia

Re: Trying to set up mobile broadband - Failing miserably

Post#6 by cttan » 14 Dec 2012, 15:57

Hi Hybrid,

I have not use 3G modem for a while now but I still keep the config. I am using Porteus 1.2 x64bit and using the wvdial method.

You have to download, convert and then activate usb_modeswitch-1.2.4-x86_64-2.txz module from http://www.pkgs.org.

Download and activate these modules using PPM:-
1. wvdial-1.61-x86_64-1sl
2. wvstreams-4.6.1-x86_64-2sl

Plug in the 3G modem and enter dmesg. If the modem is detected and in the modem mode then it should show some ttyUSBx, namely ttyUSB0, ttyUSB1 and etc. If it is not, then a little bit of troubleshooting is require.

Sample of the device detected as CD-ROM drive:-

Code: Select all

[ 4038.555589] scsi 12:0:0:0: Direct-Access     HUAWEI   MMC Storage      2.31 PQ: 0 ANSI: 2
[ 4038.557179] sd 12:0:0:0: Attached scsi generic sg3 type 0
[ 4038.558757] scsi 11:0:0:0: CD-ROM            HUAWEI   Mass Storage     2.31 PQ: 0 ANSI: 2
[ 4038.565593] sd 12:0:0:0: [sdc] Attached SCSI removable disk
[ 4038.574197] sr1: scsi-1 drive
[ 4038.575271] sr 11:0:0:0: Attached scsi CD-ROM sr1
[ 4038.576317] sr 11:0:0:0: Attached scsi generic sg4 type 5
Sample of the device detected as modem:-

Code: Select all

[ 9254.293390] usbserial_generic 2-2:1.0: generic converter detected
[ 9254.293564] usb 2-2: generic converter now attached to ttyUSB0
[ 9254.293852] usbserial_generic 2-2:1.1: generic converter detected
[ 9254.294001] usb 2-2: generic converter now attached to ttyUSB1
[ 9254.294835] usbserial_generic 2-2:1.2: generic converter detected
[ 9254.294988] usb 2-2: generic converter now attached to ttyUSB2
[ 9254.295386] usbserial_generic 2-2:1.3: generic converter detected
[ 9254.295544] usb 2-2: generic converter now attached to ttyUSB3
Now create the wvdial.conf in /etc/wvdial.conf as below:-

Code: Select all

[Dialer Defaults]
Modem = /dev/ttyUSB0
Baud = 460800
Init1 = ATZ
Phone = *99#
New PPPD = yes
Username = blank
Password = blank
Stupid Mode = yes
ISDN = 0
Modem Type = Analog Modem
Use wvdialconf to check the 3G modem connection.

Code: Select all

# wvdialconf 
Editing `/etc/wvdial.conf'.

Scanning your serial ports for a modem.

WvModem<*1>: Cannot get information for serial port.
ttyUSB0<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 -- OK
ttyUSB0<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 Z -- OK
ttyUSB0<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 -- OK
ttyUSB0<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 -- OK
ttyUSB0<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 -- OK
ttyUSB0<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0 -- OK
ttyUSB0<*1>: Modem Identifier: ATI -- Manufacturer: huawei
ttyUSB0<*1>: Speed 9600: AT -- OK
ttyUSB0<*1>: Max speed is 9600; that should be safe.
ttyUSB0<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0 -- OK
WvModem<*1>: Cannot get information for serial port.
ttyUSB1<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 -- failed with 2400 baud, next try: 9600 baud
ttyUSB1<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 -- failed with 9600 baud, next try: 9600 baud
ttyUSB1<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 -- and failed too at 115200, giving up.
WvModem<*1>: Cannot get information for serial port.
ttyUSB2<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 -- failed with 2400 baud, next try: 9600 baud
ttyUSB2<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 -- failed with 9600 baud, next try: 9600 baud
ttyUSB2<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 -- and failed too at 115200, giving up.
WvModem<*1>: Cannot get information for serial port.
ttyUSB3<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 -- OK
ttyUSB3<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 Z -- OK
ttyUSB3<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 -- OK
ttyUSB3<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 -- OK
ttyUSB3<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 -- OK
ttyUSB3<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0 -- OK
ttyUSB3<*1>: Modem Identifier: ATI -- Manufacturer: huawei
ttyUSB3<*1>: Speed 9600: AT -- OK
ttyUSB3<*1>: Max speed is 9600; that should be safe.
ttyUSB3<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0 -- OK

Found a modem on /dev/ttyUSB0.
Modem configuration written to /etc/wvdial.conf.
ttyUSB0<Info>: Speed 9600; init "ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0"
ttyUSB3<Info>: Speed 9600; init "ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0"
Dial the connection using wvdial
If all is OK then you should get connected. Ctrl-c to disconnect.
You may need to add the default route using route add

FYI I am using Porteus 1.2 x64bit copy to ram mode.
If you are using Porteus 32bit then just download the relevant module and activate them.

Post Reply