Thanks Great Distro: Have problems with Bootloader

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
Post Reply
AJones394
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 4
Joined: 10 Dec 2012, 14:45
Distribution: Arch Linux Have used Slackware
Location: Albany NY

Thanks Great Distro: Have problems with Bootloader

Post#1 by AJones394 » 10 Dec 2012, 14:54

Used Slax before great distro, love slackware.

I am triple booting ArchLinux, Debian, and Porteus. This is my HD config.

My Partition
/dev/sda
/dev/sda1 --- NTFS DATA 768 GB
/dev/sda5 -NTFS - 678 GB
/dev/sda6 -Debian: 100 GB
/dev/sda3 Arch-Linux 73 GB
/dev/sda4 Porteus[ Just installed now with Boot Loader] Boot option
/dev/sda2 Linux-Swap

Porteus on /dev/sda4 , cannot see GRUB for booting Arch and Debian;
New boot-loader from Porteus installed on /dev/sda4 . Does not list Arch and Debian

Tried installing Grub2 using Porteus Software Manager, tried grub-install /dev/sda ; I just get grub>rescue, cannot find root message.

Thanks,
Alan

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4566
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Thanks Great Distro: Have problems with Bootloader

Post#2 by fanthom » 10 Dec 2012, 22:37

Hi Alan,

when installing to a hard drive you have replaced your existing boot loader with Porteus one.

the simplest solution would be to edit /dev/sda4/boot/porteus.cfg and add entries for other Linuxes (Arch, Debian).
please copy kernel and initrd (if required) from arch/debian partition to /mnt/sdb4/boot and edit porteus.cfg file with any editor - not other action is required.

anyway - i find grub to be superior to extlinux so once you get arch/debian running you could reinstall grub2 (from arch or deban) and then add porteus entry to it.

let us know in case of troubles.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

AJones394
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 4
Joined: 10 Dec 2012, 14:45
Distribution: Arch Linux Have used Slackware
Location: Albany NY

Re: Thanks Great Distro: Have problems with Bootloader

Post#3 by AJones394 » 11 Dec 2012, 03:43

I chrooted and set things right, A strange thing as was my experience with slax was, I had slax and tiny core on the same partition, and had a grub entry to load either of them sharing a partition.

In my case now, I tried slackware 14.0 on /dev/sda4, and when I installed Porteus on it, it did not format/overwrite Slackware 14.0, and in my Grub entry I can boot Slackware 14.0, and when it comes to login prompt, I get tty login screen 4.4 Porteus login:

Strange,

I am trying to add chainloader + for Porteus to existing grub.


I tried, menuentry (hd0,3) "Porteus v1,2"{
insmod ext3
root(hd0,3)
}

or something to that effect,

I get this error at grub bootime:

cant find /boot/grub/ext3.mod
Unable to boot, Press a button to exit.

AJones394
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 4
Joined: 10 Dec 2012, 14:45
Distribution: Arch Linux Have used Slackware
Location: Albany NY

Re: Thanks Great Distro: Have problems with Bootloader

Post#4 by AJones394 » 11 Dec 2012, 11:07

Got it working, Now I have both Porteus and Slackware 14.0 on the same partition and booting.
Most Modules downloaded via PAckage Manager gets installed by root, and only root can open/use them, any other way for regular users to open them.

Thanks
Alan

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5460
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Thanks Great Distro: Have problems with Bootloader

Post#5 by brokenman » 11 Dec 2012, 13:46

Most Modules downloaded via PAckage Manager gets installed by root
Assuming you are booting into the guest account, the package manager (PPM) is opened as root and downloads the modules that you choose. It then asks to activate them, or you manually activate them. The activated modules are injected into the file system and should then be available in the 'guest' menu.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4946
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Thanks Great Distro: Have problems with Bootloader

Post#6 by francois » 27 Dec 2012, 04:37

For the record, I write it here. I will sure need it in the future as I always work with grub legacy. I was able to get porteus v 1.2 kde 32bit to work under grub2, with with the following entry en/etc/grub.d/40_custom. :

Code: Select all

menuentry "porteus v10_32 (on sda2/32bit_v12)" {
set root=(hd0,2)
linux /32bit_v12/boot/vmlinuz from_dev=/dev/sda2 from_dir=/32bit_v12/porteus changes=/mnt/sda2/32bit_v12/1.2_cfg toroot kmap=ca 
initrd /32bit_v12/boot/initrd.xz
}
Porteus /boot and /porteus folders where in /mnt/sda2/32bit_v12 :)
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

Post Reply