how to change wallpaper from command prompt [SOLVED]

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
Post Reply
phill42083
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 31
Joined: 13 Nov 2012, 19:00
Distribution: 1.2 - i486
Location: USA

how to change wallpaper from command prompt [SOLVED]

Post#1 by phill42083 » 08 Dec 2012, 07:31

Hello,
I was wondering if it was possible and if so how to can change the desktop wallpaper from command prompt instead of doing it through the GUI. Thanks
Last edited by phill42083 on 09 Dec 2012, 21:53, edited 1 time in total.

crashman
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 118
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 17:03
Location: Poland

Re: how to change wallpaper from command prompt

Post#2 by crashman » 09 Dec 2012, 09:24

Hello phill42083

Try 'feh' package slackyd -g feh and install it, for change wallpaper:

feh --bg-scale /root/your-wallpaper.png

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5460
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: how to change wallpaper from command prompt

Post#3 by brokenman » 09 Dec 2012, 17:26

It really depends on what desktop environment you use. It may be possible through dbus or dcop but i wouldn't rely on this as a long term solution. Simplest way would be to swap the wallpaper porteus.jpg with the one you want to use and login again.

Code: Select all

cp /path/to/my/wallpaper.jpg /usr/share/wallpapers/porteus.jpg
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

phill42083
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 31
Joined: 13 Nov 2012, 19:00
Distribution: 1.2 - i486
Location: USA

Re: how to change wallpaper from command prompt [SOLVED]

Post#4 by phill42083 » 09 Dec 2012, 21:52

thanks so much for getting back to me, I tried the dcop and it worked perfect! I will try to just change the jpg file next. Thanks again!

cttan
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 332
Joined: 26 Jan 2011, 16:15
Distribution: Porteus 3.2 64bit KDE
Location: Malaysia

Re: how to change wallpaper from command prompt [SOLVED]

Post#5 by cttan » 11 Dec 2012, 14:31

Hi phill42083,

Can you pls share the dcop method?
Thank you.

Edited on 15 Dec 2012:-
I am getting error trying to run dcop.

Post Reply