Hit enter for Always Fresh Mode [SOLVED]

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
Post Reply
phill42083
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 31
Joined: 13 Nov 2012, 19:00
Distribution: 1.2 - i486
Location: USA

Hit enter for Always Fresh Mode [SOLVED]

Post#1 by phill42083 » 13 Nov 2012, 19:09

Hi everyone, I am VERY new to linux so I probably will sound very dumb to you.
I am running Porteus 1.2 i486 off of a USB stick, I edited porteus.cfg `in /boot/ so that it goes right to KDE and I added toroot so that i am root not guest. Now that it doesnt ask me to select which to boot in I am prompted to hit enter for always fresh mode. Is there a way to make it so I dont have to hit any key I just go straight to my desktop? What I am trying to do is setup a web stream using darkice and icecast. I want it so if the power goes out the computer will just start backup and start streaming after porteus is fully loaded. So my first to make it so noone has to hit a key it just starts right up. Thanks to anyone that can help me I'v been stuck for a bit.
Last edited by phill42083 on 13 Nov 2012, 20:32, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Iapetus
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 18
Joined: 13 Aug 2012, 16:46
Location: USA

Re: Hit enter for Always Fresh Mode

Post#2 by Iapetus » 13 Nov 2012, 19:21

Welcome, Phil!

I believe all you need to do is remove the "changes=" cheatcode. Since you're likely booting from a flash drive with a FAT filesystem, Porteus can't save changes directly to it. So, you can either run without saved changes or you can create a 'save.dat' container using the save.dat manager from the application menu and point your "changes=" cheatcode to it.

phill42083
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 31
Joined: 13 Nov 2012, 19:00
Distribution: 1.2 - i486
Location: USA

Re: Another Question

Post#3 by phill42083 » 13 Nov 2012, 19:34

thank you so much for the help with that. My next question is if I install darkice and icecast how can I get it to stay now gone next time I restart? I tried creating a xzm in a folder I created on sda1 then added it to the module folder

User avatar
Iapetus
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 18
Joined: 13 Aug 2012, 16:46
Location: USA

Re: Hit enter for Always Fresh Mode

Post#4 by Iapetus » 13 Nov 2012, 20:02

Where did you get the packages, and are they slackware packages or something else? you've done the right thing (creating a module and placing it in /porteus/modules) but perhaps the packages you're creating from need some extra tweaks to work properly.

phill42083
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 31
Joined: 13 Nov 2012, 19:00
Distribution: 1.2 - i486
Location: USA

Re: Hit enter for Always Fresh Mode

Post#5 by phill42083 » 13 Nov 2012, 20:19

I got both from their web sites. They are source. I just followed the directions that i found on various site.

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1846
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: Hit enter for Always Fresh Mode

Post#6 by Hamza » 13 Nov 2012, 20:31

Please create another thread for other questions/answers not related to "Always Fresh Mode". Other users may not understand what's final solution if you provides many answers about the same problem.

Thanks :)
NjVFQzY2Rg==

Post Reply