rpm2txz (rxcpio error)

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
bour59
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 118
Joined: 29 Dec 2010, 08:10
Distribution: porteus v3.2.2-xfce
Location: France

rpm2txz (rxcpio error)

Post#1 by bour59 » 24 Oct 2012, 19:16

hello ! I'm v1.2 32bits
try convert rpm to tgz with rpm2tgz
the rpm is Libreoffice3.5_calc-3.5.7.2.iso586.rpm
or any other
have rpm2txz failed : rxcpio failex (maybe is not a rpm)
activating crippled don't solve
rpm2txz with same file works fine on slackware full install 3.2.23
help needed.

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1847
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: rpm2txz (rxcpio error)

Post#2 by Hamza » 24 Oct 2012, 20:44

Slackware 3 is still used ??! :%)

Please provides the source/link of your rpm package
NjVFQzY2Rg==

bour59
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 118
Joined: 29 Dec 2010, 08:10
Distribution: porteus v3.2.2-xfce
Location: France

Re: rpm2txz (rxcpio error)

Post#3 by bour59 » 24 Oct 2012, 21:03

seems for you more easy to download libreoffice.gz, tar -xzf
then find any rpm
and try yourself to rpm2txz
sorry but i dont know how to send a file to you.

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1847
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: rpm2txz (rxcpio error)

Post#4 by Hamza » 24 Oct 2012, 21:14

Just post the link of page where you downloaded this file :)
NjVFQzY2Rg==

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5460
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: rpm2txz (rxcpio error)

Post#5 by brokenman » 25 Oct 2012, 00:01

http://rpm.pbone.net/index.php3/stat/4/ ... 6.rpm.html

I just tested the file here and seems to work ok.

rpm2txz /home/guest/Downloads/*.rpm
rpm2tgz /home/guest/Downloads/*.rpm

Both produce the expected file in the current folder. Here is the output of:

Code: Select all

file /home/guest/Downloads/zoneminder-1.24.2-6.fc14.i686.rpm
RPM v3.0 bin i386/x86_64
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

bour59
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 118
Joined: 29 Dec 2010, 08:10
Distribution: porteus v3.2.2-xfce
Location: France

Re: rpm2txz (rxcpio error)

Post#6 by bour59 » 25 Oct 2012, 09:17

@hamza hereis the command

Code: Select all

wget -c http://ftp.free.fr/mirrors/documentfoundation.org/libreoffice/stable/3.5.7/rpm/x86/LibO_3.5.7_Linux_x86_install-rpm_en-US.tar.gz

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1847
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: rpm2txz (rxcpio error)

Post#7 by Hamza » 25 Oct 2012, 11:10

It worked here. I've extracted xzm module made from rpm file and it contains two directory /opt and /var so I'm assuming this is not rpm file or Porteus. Double-clicked on the rpm file and it converted automatically from GUI.

Maybe a corrupted download ?
NjVFQzY2Rg==

bour59
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 118
Joined: 29 Dec 2010, 08:10
Distribution: porteus v3.2.2-xfce
Location: France

Re: rpm2txz (rxcpio error)

Post#8 by bour59 » 25 Oct 2012, 13:47

same issue with
-download frrom firefox (under windows)
-download from firefox (under porteus)
-downloag using wget (under porteus)
have also tried with porteus on an usb installed from iso
the double click open a window : error creating module

remind remix had got the same problem (offset ?)

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1847
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: rpm2txz (rxcpio error)

Post#9 by Hamza » 25 Oct 2012, 14:08

Sorry, I can't reproduce this error on my side so I cannot exactly understand what's the problem. Maybe another one will have the same problem or even another member may know what's wrong on your side.

Did you checked md5sum of package ?
NjVFQzY2Rg==

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4566
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: rpm2txz (rxcpio error)

Post#10 by fanthom » 25 Oct 2012, 14:29

@bour59
maybe you could provide a link to 'Libreoffice3.5_calc-3.5.7.2.iso586.rpm' which originally caused the error?
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1847
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: rpm2txz (rxcpio error)

Post#11 by Hamza » 25 Oct 2012, 14:40

It seems to be inside a tar.gz archive that can be found at

http://ftp.free.fr/mirrors/documentfoun ... -US.tar.gz
NjVFQzY2Rg==

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5460
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: rpm2txz (rxcpio error)

Post#12 by brokenman » 26 Oct 2012, 11:55

Works fine.

Code: Select all

rpm2txz libreoffice3.5-en-US-3.5.7-2.i586.rpm

Slackware package maker, version 3.14159.

Searching for symbolic links:

No symbolic links were found, so we won't make an installation script.
You can make your own later in ./install/doinst.sh and rebuild the
package if you like.

This next step is optional - you can set the directories in your package
to some sane permissions. If any of the directories in your package have
special permissions, then DO NOT reset them here!

Would you like to reset all directory permissions to 755 (drwxr-xr-x) and
directory ownerships to root.root ([y]es, [n]o)? n

Creating Slackware package:  /mnt/sda4/tmp/LibO_3.5.7rc2_Linux_x86_install-rpm_en-US/RPMS/libreoffice3.5-en-US-3.5.7-2.i586.txz
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
wread
Module Guard
Module Guard
Posts: 1069
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 18:48
Distribution: Porteus v3.2.5-kde5-64 bits
Location: Santo Domingo
Contact:

Re: rpm2txz (rxcpio error)

Post#13 by wread » 26 Oct 2012, 12:35

Did you run your rpm in an OS that uses rpm apps with success? Your rpm may be corrupt!
Porteus won't correct corruptions...
Porteus is proud of the FASTEST KDE ever made.....(take akonadi, nepomuk and soprano out and you will have a decent OS).
The Porteus Community never sleeps!

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5460
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: rpm2txz (rxcpio error)

Post#14 by brokenman » 26 Oct 2012, 12:53

I am uploading working version now. A few tweaks were required.

Add menu icon
Menu item points to script that adds /opt/libroffice to $PATH
Start main interface with: soffice

After activation you can start from menu under 'office' or from terminal with: libreoffice
You can also start the individual programs by terminal (e.g scalc swriter)

http://code.google.com/p/porteus/downloads/list
NB: This is the converted .rpm package and as such i won't post it in the modules section. A better job was done with the 3.6 version here.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
bigbass
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 151
Joined: 13 Jan 2012, 14:35
Distribution: slackware 14

Re: rpm2txz (rxcpio error)

Post#15 by bigbass » 26 Oct 2012, 13:40


Post Reply