vga_detect problem.

Please reproduce your error on a second machine before posting, and check the error by running without saved changes or extra modules (See FAQ No. 13, "How to report a bug"). For unstable Porteus versions (alpha, beta, rc) please use the relevant thread in our "Development" section.
Post Reply
Kriss
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 133
Joined: 06 Jul 2011, 07:07
Location: Russia

vga_detect problem.

Post#1 by Kriss » 26 Sep 2012, 03:04

Hi all!
Currently I'm using Porteus 1.2 x86_64 + update (kernel 3.4.9) and this cheatcode doesn't work for ATi Radeon 4650.
It recognizes videocard properly and says that driver will be activated if present, but module isn't being loaded.
Using load=ati-fglrx-legacy.xzm helps and then driver is being loaded properly (BTW this is the only module starting with ati-fglrx in "optional" folder).
Driver module was downloaded properly from update forlder and works.
Am I doing something wrong?
Suggestions/corrections/additions are always welcome.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4613
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: vga_detect problem.

Post#2 by fanthom » 26 Sep 2012, 08:29

hello Kriss,

this issue is fixed already:
viewtopic.php?f=48&t=1341&p=10552#p10552

Cheers
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Kriss
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 133
Joined: 06 Jul 2011, 07:07
Location: Russia

Re: vga_detect problem.

Post#3 by Kriss » 26 Sep 2012, 08:46

Ah. Sorry then. Thank you, fanthom!

Err... It says I should register to download it from 4shared... =(
If I'll download porteus 1.2-x86_64 anew from ponce.cc, will I find this patched initrd there?
Suggestions/corrections/additions are always welcome.

Kriss
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 133
Joined: 06 Jul 2011, 07:07
Location: Russia

Re: vga_detect problem.

Post#4 by Kriss » 02 Oct 2012, 02:40

It was long since I've had to use use internet explorer to register somewhere, but at least it worked (unlike with firefox).
Links that shouldn't (theoretically) require registration:
http://depositfiles.com/files/zh3qtqvsn (x86)
http://depositfiles.com/files/o5csjyccu (x86_64)
Suggestions/corrections/additions are always welcome.

Kriss
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 133
Joined: 06 Jul 2011, 07:07
Location: Russia

Re: vga_detect problem.

Post#5 by Kriss » 02 Oct 2012, 07:15

Not related problem... Trying to activate module in the folder with spaces (for example "SP UFD 16G", path "/mnt/sdb3/SP UFD 16G/") results in 3 errors:
"SP: Module must end with .xzm"
"UFD: Module must end with .xzm"
"Module is already activated. Deactivate?"

Same modules work when path doesn't contain spaces.
Porteus x86_64 3.4.9 + vga_detect patch
Suggestions/corrections/additions are always welcome.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4613
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: vga_detect problem.

Post#6 by fanthom » 02 Oct 2012, 17:51

Trying to activate module in the folder with spaces (for example "SP UFD 16G", path "/mnt/sdb3/SP UFD 16G/") results in 3 errors:
this is fixed now and will be merged to first rc of porteus-2.0

thanks for bug report.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Post Reply