Opera Upgrade Loop

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
Post Reply
willard
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 80
Joined: 02 Sep 2012, 08:36
Location: Sweden

Opera Upgrade Loop

Post#1 by willard » 20 Sep 2012, 02:14

Hi,
Opera6 was my original and just got Opera12 installed on Porteus. The package needs upgrade and went with the Slackware binary. Is this the right choice? I'm in a loop, since Porteus reports no suitable Archive Manager found for the 'XZ' tarball. Can this loop be rectified?
willard

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5439
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Opera Upgrade Loop

Post#2 by brokenman » 20 Sep 2012, 02:39

Firstly double check that you have xz.

Most probably you will need xzdec to decompress.
http://snapshot.opera.com/unix/xzdec/

You can also find pre compiled packages here, as well as a link to a slackbuild (xzdec required)
http://my.opera.com/ruario/blog/index.dml/tag/SLACKWARE
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

willard
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 80
Joined: 02 Sep 2012, 08:36
Location: Sweden

Opera Flash Install HELP

Post#3 by willard » 20 Sep 2012, 03:22

Hi,
Should Porteus be in root or guest, when installing the Opera Flash Player plug-in? Also, what would be the preferred install syntax, for this essential plug-in?
willard

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5439
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Opera Upgrade Loop

Post#4 by brokenman » 20 Sep 2012, 12:48

I've merged your two opera threads here.

It should be enough to symlink to the existing firefox flashplayer plugin.

ln -s /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/libflashplayer.so /usr/lib/opera/plugins/libflashplayer.so

If you don't have firefox installed then just follow the instructions here:
http://www.opera.com/docs/linux/plugins/install/#flash

Make the symlink as root ... but it shouldn't matter.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

willard
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 80
Joined: 02 Sep 2012, 08:36
Location: Sweden

Re: Opera Upgrade Loop

Post#5 by willard » 20 Sep 2012, 18:16

Hi,
Opera sync's to the flash player, bundled w/Porteus. Updating flash is noted from '236 to '238. Any special procedure for this to happen? I would think security updates gives the flash upgrade credence!
willard

Posted after 4 hours 28 minutes 58 seconds:
Hi,
Just added mail account and a few URL's to Speed Dial and Opera hiccups during launch.
link

link

Post Reply