[QUASI SOLVED] PPM BUG

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1847
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: PPM BUG

Post#16 by Hamza » 13 Sep 2012, 17:54

You should always run this type of command under root account from terminal :)
NjVFQzY2Rg==

User avatar
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Posts: 1331
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
Location: USA

Re: PPM BUG

Post#17 by Ahau » 14 Sep 2012, 00:48

A shot in the dark -- I'm stuck in windows now, so I can't easily confirm. Perhaps geda is in the repo for slackware 12, but not slackware 13.37, nor the slackyd repo? Or perhaps it's the wrong version of libgeda and libstroke?

I believe that, when faced with unresolved dependencies in a binary, PPM will search the slackyd 13.37 repos to resolve deps (which would not include a search through 12.2). If this is the problem at hand, PPM should be updated/fixed to issue a warning and fail gracefully instead of hanging.

In the short term, try manually searching for and installing libgeda and libstroke from the slackware 12.2 repo (this can be done through PPM -- in one of your screenshots, libgeda and libstroke are listed), then try installing geda.

This would also explain why slackyd continues to fail when searching for libgeda and libstroke. Looking at slackfind.net and pkgs.org, I don't see geda or libgeda included in slackware 13.37 (official or slackyd).
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

willard
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 80
Joined: 02 Sep 2012, 08:36
Location: Sweden

Re: PPM BUG

Post#18 by willard » 18 Sep 2012, 04:12

Ahau wrote:A shot in the dark -- I'm stuck in windows now, so I can't easily confirm. Perhaps geda is in the repo for slackware 12, but not slackware 13.37, nor the slackyd repo? Or perhaps it's the wrong version of libgeda and libstroke?

I believe that, when faced with unresolved dependencies in a binary, PPM will search the slackyd 13.37 repos to resolve deps (which would not include a search through 12.2). If this is the problem at hand, PPM should be updated/fixed to issue a warning and fail gracefully instead of hanging.

In the short term, try manually searching for and installing libgeda and libstroke from the slackware 12.2 repo (this can be done through PPM -- in one of your screenshots, libgeda and libstroke are listed), then try installing geda.

This would also explain why slackyd continues to fail when searching for libgeda and libstroke. Looking at slackfind.net and pkgs.org, I don't see geda or libgeda included in slackware 13.37 (official or slackyd).
Dear Ahau:
Since adding 'libgeda' and 'libstroke' from the slackware 12.2 repo, gedasche' still ends in Lost & Found w/o launching. Therefore, shouldn't these be installed also:
GEDA PACKAGE REQUIRMENTS:
atk >= 1.23.5-i486-1,
cairo >= 1.6.4-i486-1,
expat >= 2.0.1-i486-1,
fontconfig >= 2.6.0-i486-2,
freetype >= 2.3.7-i486-1,
glib2 >= 2.16.6-i486-1,
glibc-solibs >= 2.7-i486-17,
gmp >= 4.2.3-i486-1,
gtk+2 >= 2.12.12-i486-1,
guile >= 1.8.5-i486-1,
libICE >= 1.0.4-i486-1,
libSM >= 1.0.3-i486-1,
libX11 >= 1.1.5-i486-1,
libXau >= 1.0.4-i486-1,
libXcomposite >= 0.4.0-i486-1,
libXcursor >= 1.1.9-i486-1,
libXdamage >= 1.1.1-i486-1,
libXdmcp >= 1.0.2-i486-1,
libXext >= 1.0.4-i486-1,
libXfixes >= 4.0.3-i486-1,
libXi >= 1.1.3-i486-1,
libXinerama >= 1.0.3-i486-1,
libXrandr >= 1.2.3-i486-1,
libXrender >= 0.9.4-i486-1,
OK_libgeda >= 1.4.2-i486-1sy,
libpng >= 1.2.32-i486-1,
OK_libstroke >= 0.5.1-i486-1sy,
libtool >= 1.5.26-i486-1,
libxcb >= 1.1-i486-1,
pango >= 1.20.5-i486-1,
pixman >= 0.12.0-i486-1,
zlib >= 1.2.3-i486-2
*********************
THX
willard

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5461
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: PPM BUG

Post#19 by brokenman » 18 Sep 2012, 13:14

Use the debian section of PPM to get libstroke and libgeda. EDIT: Just read you got that sorted.
gedasche still ends in Lost & Found w/o launching.
Check .desktop files and run binary from console to see why.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

beny
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 724
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 11:33
Location: italy

Re: PPM BUG

Post#20 by beny » 18 Sep 2012, 17:53

willard take a look at this repository : http://repository.elettrolinux.com/

Posted after 2 minutes 38 seconds:
btw. PPM, use to search standard software and you can use it for this...

willard
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 80
Joined: 02 Sep 2012, 08:36
Location: Sweden

Re: PPM BUG

Post#21 by willard » 19 Sep 2012, 09:56

brokenman wrote:Use the debian section of PPM to get libstroke and libgeda. EDIT: Just read you got that sorted.
gschem still ends in Lost & Found w/o launching.
Check .desktop files and run binary from console to see why.
Dear brokenman:
In XFCE it ends up in 'OTHER' start folder, when I directed PPM it should be 'GRAPHICS"!
Here is the error gschem traps:
  • Password:
    root@porteus:/home/guest# gschem
    gEDA/gschem version 1.4.2.20081220e
    gEDA/gschem comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY; see COPYING for more details.
    This is free software, and you are welcome to redistribute it under certainm
    conditions; please see the COPYING file for more details.

    Failed to load default font.
    Could not load question font char -- check font-directory keyword
    root@porteus:/home/guest#
************
willard

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5461
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: PPM BUG

Post#22 by brokenman » 20 Sep 2012, 02:50

So check the desktop file and see what category it is being put into!

Also it may be that you need the Cyrillic vector font.

https://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?ID=14261
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

willard
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 80
Joined: 02 Sep 2012, 08:36
Location: Sweden

Re: PPM BUG

Post#23 by willard » 21 Sep 2012, 11:11

brokenman wrote:So check the desktop file and see what category it is being put into!

Also it may be that you need the Cyrillic vector font.

https://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?ID=14261
Dear brokenman:
I've used XFCE, KDE/TRINITY and LXDE, the past week. Where/HOW is the 'desktop file' indexed using XFCE, to see the apps 'category'?

Post Reply