[solved] bootinst.bat error

Please reproduce your error on a second machine before posting, and check the error by running without saved changes or extra modules (See FAQ No. 13, "How to report a bug"). For unstable Porteus versions (alpha, beta, rc) please use the relevant thread in our "Development" section.
Post Reply
User avatar
Hool de Nord
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 13
Joined: 06 Jan 2011, 15:00
Location: Poland
Contact:

[solved] bootinst.bat error

Post#1 by Hool de Nord » 09 Jan 2011, 20:04

I've just tried to install new Porteus-v09 x86_64 (today version) on
FAT32 formatted pendrive, the same which I used for Slax Remix 64bit.
All I got after running bootinst.bat and pressing any key is this error:
http://img811.imageshack.us/img811/6819 ... error1.jpg
("system can't find specified path")

After pressing any key again it gets even worse:
http://img140.imageshack.us/img140/2309 ... error2.jpg

Just letting people know, be careful. I hope it will be fixed...
Last edited by Hool de Nord on 10 Jan 2011, 09:24, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: bootinst.bat error

Post#2 by fanthom » 09 Jan 2011, 22:04

had a quick look on bootinst.bat and looks ok for me. BackupMbr function was added by Jay, and is executed every time at the end (probably a condition must be there). I have removed 64bit edition from the server - just in case.
Jay should look after it so let's wait on his response.

Thanks for bug report.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
Issack
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 15
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 19:11
Location: USA

Re: bootinst.bat error

Post#3 by Issack » 09 Jan 2011, 22:13

Uh oh, I just finished downloading the latest x86_64 image.

Will the fix come in the form of a patch or a new image? (I'm okay with either, I'd just like to know in advance)

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: bootinst.bat error

Post#4 by fanthom » 09 Jan 2011, 22:40

new ISO to avoid further confusion

Posted after 21 minute 53 seconds:
EDIT:\\
i was wrong above - BackupMbr function is called only when scrip is run on drive C. For some reason your pendrive letter was not recognized correctly:
"system can't find specified path"
and the script assumed that it's drive C. That's why BackupMbr function was executed, and you got a warning displayed on second screenshot.
Now we need to find out why a proper letter of your usb stick was not recognized correctly...
Any clues?
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5574
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: bootinst.bat error

Post#5 by brokenman » 10 Jan 2011, 06:29

Only thing i can think of is having more than one USB device plugged in at the time. It seemed to work OK for me during testing although i didn't test with more than one device plugged in. Personally i don't like the method Tomas used to enumerate drives so i will probably rewrite this when i get a chance.

As stated, the backup is initiated when it senses that the C drive is being used. I would say it defaulted there after failing to identify your device. At least the error message stands out!! I think the fix can just be a patch that mounts your ISO, and replaces the bootinst.bat file. Will work it out shortly. In the mean time can you please do some more testing with it and see if you get the same result. The worst it will do is make a backup of your MBR.

Posted after 6 hours 32 minutes 56 seconds:
The problem is a missing semi colon ':' after the first %DISK% in this line

%DISK%\boot\syslinux\syslinux.exe -maf -d \boot\syslinux %DISK%:

Please add the semi colon in and retest. The line should be:

%DISK%:\boot\syslinux\syslinux.exe -maf -d \boot\syslinux %DISK%:

I might also include a new kmenu button in the patch as i prefer blaze's version.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: bootinst.bat error

Post#6 by fanthom » 10 Jan 2011, 09:00

this bug is sorted out now and new ISO is released:
http://ponce.cc/porteus/x86_64/current/ ... x86_64.iso
md5sum is different: 427c273a0ee8b411c13cb6867d6f0a62

please add [Solved]
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Burninbush
Power user
Power user
Posts: 49
Joined: 29 Dec 2010, 01:46
Location: Near SF, CA

Re: [solved] bootinst.bat error

Post#7 by Burninbush » 04 Feb 2011, 19:01

Posted after 6 hours 32 minutes 56 seconds:
The problem is a missing semi colon ':' after the first %DISK% in this line

%DISK%\boot\syslinux\syslinux.exe -maf -d \boot\syslinux %DISK%: >brokenman

++++++++++++++++++

Psssst ... grammar correction, that's a colon, not a semicolon.

Thought you'd want to know.

There was an old erroneous example in slax, perhaps in bootinst.bat; example was shown telling the script to install to "E:\" -- but it would not work unless you left-off the backslash character.

Burninbush
Power user
Power user
Posts: 49
Joined: 29 Dec 2010, 01:46
Location: Near SF, CA

Re: [solved] bootinst.bat error

Post#8 by Burninbush » 18 Feb 2011, 19:58

And I just reinvented another way to screw-up a frugal install -- got the Porteus v1 x86_64 iso and did my usual install -- but it kept reporting that it couldn't find porteus-xx.sgn. The file was obviously there, but the booting kernel script couldn't find it. Turns out that Porteus 64 =is= discerning between upper-case and lower-case characters in filenames on vfat, particularly in the from_dir= statement; I had mixed up a character in my grub4dos menu.lst file.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: [solved] bootinst.bat error

Post#9 by fanthom » 27 Feb 2011, 15:22

@burninbush
"Turns out that Porteus 64 =is= discerning between upper-case and lower-case characters in filenames on vfat"
yes, Porteus recognizes capital letters on vfat. in your case it was causing a troubles but it's an advantage in general. For example (if you are using Porteus on 1 PC only) you can put your xorg.conf in
'/porteus/rootcopy/etc/X11' and forget about xconf cheatcode. You will get faster boot then.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Post Reply