KDE4 in 32bit discussion

Here is a place for your projects which are not officially supported by the Porteus Team. For example: your own kernel patched with extra features; desktops not included in the standard ISO like Gnome; base modules that are different than the standard ISO, etc...
User avatar
bigbass
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 151
Joined: 13 Jan 2012, 14:35
Distribution: slackware 14

Re: KDE4 in 32bit discussion

Post#16 by bigbass » 29 Oct 2012, 04:21

wread
Please, your comments
I had commented before
about kde but since then some things have changed
with Tomas M offering a lite version kde we should offer an option too
as to what is the default thats a tough question
so I guess let the end users pick

there is more package/module compatibility with kde
but it comes with a size price but those that can run it would enjoy the option :)
so I will give you +1 for your efforts

p.s I have used and still use tde since I started using porteus and it works well for me
(brokenman did an excellent job with it )
but with the switch to slackware 14 I would give kde4 a new try

xcfe is also well liked by slackers
so having options is nice


Joe

User avatar
wread
Module Guard
Module Guard
Posts: 1080
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 18:48
Distribution: Porteus v3.2.5-kde5-64 bits
Location: Santo Domingo
Contact:

Re: KDE4 in 32bit discussion

Post#17 by wread » 04 Nov 2012, 01:10

@all kde4-32 bits users!
As promised, I have rebuilt the 005-devel module for kde4-32 bits as a twin brother of the corresponding 64-bit module. My thanks to fanthom for the devel-stack and his valuable orientation how to do it. Here is the link:
http://www.mediafire.com/?dqaxu1bcsy6qaqs

The new devel-module contains automoc and cmake, so you can delete these if you have them in modules.
Now devel loads after kde and doesn't break anything, as it should be :)

Cheers!
Porteus is proud of the FASTEST KDE ever made.....(take akonadi, nepomuk and soprano out and you will have a decent OS).
The Porteus Community never sleeps!

User avatar
bigbass
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 151
Joined: 13 Jan 2012, 14:35
Distribution: slackware 14

Re: KDE4 in 32bit discussion

Post#18 by bigbass » 05 Nov 2012, 00:12

Hey wread

Is it possible to use your new dev module and a link to the 32bit kde4 modules and just replace these two and get a kde4 experience by
replacing the official 32 bit porteus 1.2
with these two modules or is more tweaking required ?

or do we download a kde4 iso and replace the dev module
would like to test but I want to start correctly

and I have lilo installed as the bootloader
I was able to boot into xfce porteus as a new folder so it should be easy to do the same for kde4

Joe

User avatar
wread
Module Guard
Module Guard
Posts: 1080
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 18:48
Distribution: Porteus v3.2.5-kde5-64 bits
Location: Santo Domingo
Contact:

Re: KDE4 in 32bit discussion

Post#19 by wread » 05 Nov 2012, 03:29

Hello, Joe!

I start installing the official v1.2 version normally. Then -as root- I download 004-kde4.xzm, 005-kde4apps.xzm and now 005-devel.xzm from the forum repo and put them in "optional".

Next, I open two file managers, one in "base" and the other in "optional", move 003-lxde.xzm, 004-tde.xzm, 005-tdeapps.xzm and now 007.deve.xzm to "optional" and bring 004-kde4.xzm, 005-kde4apps.xzm and 005-devel.xzm to "base",(if you don't take out lxde, the NetworkManager icons will look ugly!)...

Reboot toroot and you can configure your desktop, etc. as you like; you must explore kde4 a little bit, and that's it.

If you will like kde4, you can delete the modules in optional as soon as you feel comfortable with kde4; only in case something goes wrong, you keep them there to start the system again.

I run kde4 in 1.25 GB ram on an old Toshiba Satellite laptop without problems; the original modules are all from Bob Alien, well tested mostly. My current version is 4.8.2 (I think fanthom's 64-bit is 4.8.4), Slackware 13.37 mainly. For Porteus 2.0, I would like to synchronize it enirely with the 64-bit edition.

Regards,

William
Porteus is proud of the FASTEST KDE ever made.....(take akonadi, nepomuk and soprano out and you will have a decent OS).
The Porteus Community never sleeps!

User avatar
wread
Module Guard
Module Guard
Posts: 1080
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 18:48
Distribution: Porteus v3.2.5-kde5-64 bits
Location: Santo Domingo
Contact:

Re: KDE4 in 32bit discussion

Post#20 by wread » 06 Nov 2012, 12:02

@all kde4-32-bits users!
There is a new "cleaned-up" version of 004-kde4.xzm, following "porteus-rules" (=thanks to fanthom!), eliminating unnecessary stuff from the module. The unsquashed 004-kde4 is 340 MB, the new 004-kde (no 4 at the end) only 289 MB. This makes the system much more responsive now. The xzm is now 98 MB instead of 121.5 MB. Here is the new module: http://www.mediafire.com/?7ekmh2dj58jxp1z

I left in the old splash images, but took out the old wallpapers in favor of new ones; you can download your own wallpapers by right clicking the background and choosing "Desktop Settings" and making a module of your changes. I prefer to put them in rootcopy/root/.kde/share/wallpapers/

Here are my 2 new desktops:
Image
and
Image

Any doubts, please ask me.

Enjoy!
Porteus is proud of the FASTEST KDE ever made.....(take akonadi, nepomuk and soprano out and you will have a decent OS).
The Porteus Community never sleeps!

User avatar
bigbass
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 151
Joined: 13 Jan 2012, 14:35
Distribution: slackware 14

Re: KDE4 in 32bit discussion

Post#21 by bigbass » 06 Nov 2012, 17:09

Hey wread

almost there ...

before I go any further
I would like to confirm the md5sums

could you run this in your base folder for kde

Code: Select all

 :> ../CHECKSUMS.md5
 find .  -exec md5sum {} \; >>../CHECKSUMS.md5
 cat ../CHECKSUMS.md5
#

and look in the folder one above the base folder and post this file CHECKSUMS.md5
here in the thread


I will check it with this

Code: Select all

 md5sum -c ../CHECKSUMS.md5
to see if we have the same files

Thanks
Joe

User avatar
wread
Module Guard
Module Guard
Posts: 1080
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 18:48
Distribution: Porteus v3.2.5-kde5-64 bits
Location: Santo Domingo
Contact:

Re: KDE4 in 32bit discussion

Post#22 by wread » 06 Nov 2012, 19:19

Hi Joe!
I forgot to send you my md5sums, excuse me!

Code: Select all

4439e2ab9f8e4fe074b5b1c93b532df7  ../boot/vmlinuz
aa479e54b669d8467d17cddf90ae8b6a  ../boot/initrd.xz
4e30b7d9ffb000f9438bc39021e7b3d8  ./base/000-kernel.xzm
2074dff08df544bf872f8324e7f8d296  ./base/001-core.xzm
2910a5618a606ff158270144720ba254  ./base/002-xorg.xzm
5449410859adbccfb3853bde275cccbc  ./base/003-devel.xzm
a5c0136331c3f222c820db50265c9007  ./base/004-kde4.xzm
24e9c74dbd76028a15eb25e95bcf2ee9  ./base/005-kde4apps.xzm
260a47e2b854292600d3ef5b1b15d3ee  ./base/008-firefox.xzm
Regards!

EDIT: I will put it to date this evening; the new modules 005-devel (instead of 003-devel), 004-kde (instead of 004-kde4) and 002-xorg4.xzm (instead of 002-xorg.xzm) are not yet calculated and changed accordingly. :(

The new md5sums.txt file is following:
4439e2ab9f8e4fe074b5b1c93b532df7 ../boot/vmlinuz
aa479e54b669d8467d17cddf90ae8b6a ../boot/initrd.xz
4e30b7d9ffb000f9438bc39021e7b3d8 ./base/000-kernel.xzm
2074dff08df544bf872f8324e7f8d296 ./base/001-core.xzm
4975f38a6a9c628e98211b5edcbc0f9a ./base/002-xorg4.xzm
bb64066b14ef864efd0216b509560d71 ./base/004-kde.xzm
a831ed64f01e81757e3986a4574f5e57 ./base/005-devel.xzm
24e9c74dbd76028a15eb25e95bcf2ee9 ./base/005-kde4apps.xzm
260a47e2b854292600d3ef5b1b15d3ee ./base/008-firefox.xzm
Truly yours
William
Last edited by wread on 18 Nov 2012, 16:31, edited 2 times in total.
Porteus is proud of the FASTEST KDE ever made.....(take akonadi, nepomuk and soprano out and you will have a decent OS).
The Porteus Community never sleeps!

User avatar
bigbass
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 151
Joined: 13 Jan 2012, 14:35
Distribution: slackware 14

Re: KDE4 in 32bit discussion

Post#23 by bigbass » 07 Nov 2012, 05:59

Thanks William ( wread)

I just wanted to confirm the md5sums


BTW I didn't plan to rewrite the chkbase.sh but I wanted to get the same output
so I reduced the code to just this

now you can run this in the porteus folder also

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash
# checkbase_md5sum
# bigbass

:> CHECKSUMS.md5.txt
 
 find ../boot/vmlinuz  -exec md5sum {} \;  >> CHECKSUMS.md5.txt
 find ../boot/initrd.xz  -exec md5sum {} \;  >> CHECKSUMS.md5.txt
 find ./base/*   -exec md5sum {} \;| sort -k2  >> CHECKSUMS.md5.txt
 cat CHECKSUMS.md5.txt 

# confirm with this for general use 
#md5sum -c CHECKSUMS.md5.txt

# You could create a new list if you updated the modules with
# cp CHECKSUMS.md5.txt md5sums.txt

# confirm with this for base modules 
md5sum -c md5sums.txt


# 

User avatar
bigbass
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 151
Joined: 13 Jan 2012, 14:35
Distribution: slackware 14

Re: KDE4 in 32bit discussion

Post#24 by bigbass » 07 Nov 2012, 15:50

I verified my md5sums and it boots into the startup of kde
4439e2ab9f8e4fe074b5b1c93b532df7 ../boot/vmlinuz-porteus-3.4.9
aa479e54b669d8467d17cddf90ae8b6a ../boot/initrd.xz
4e30b7d9ffb000f9438bc39021e7b3d8 ./base/000-kernel.xzm
2074dff08df544bf872f8324e7f8d296 ./base/001-core.xzm
2910a5618a606ff158270144720ba254 ./base/002-xorg.xzm
bb64066b14ef864efd0216b509560d71 ./base/004-kde.xzm
a831ed64f01e81757e3986a4574f5e57 ./base/005-devel.xzm
24e9c74dbd76028a15eb25e95bcf2ee9 ./base/005-kde4apps.xzm
260a47e2b854292600d3ef5b1b15d3ee ./base/008-firefox.xzm


but locks up before the big blue kde icon comes up
there are 4 icons during the initializing of kde then the big blue kde icon

I dont know why at this time so I thought that maybe my kde cheat code is wrong ?
I use almost the same code to boot xfce porteus this way so I know it works with xfce and lilo



I have a mutiboot box because I have slackware 14 installed
here is a snippet of my lilo.conf
I 'll edit it a bit and see if I can see why it wont start kde correctly

Code: Select all

image=/boot/vmlinuz-porteus-3.4.9
initrd=/boot/initrd.xz
label=Porteus-kde4
append = "initrd=/boot/initrd.xz from_dev=/dev/sda2 from_dir=/porteus-kde4 kde nomagic base_only norootcopy autoexec=xconf;telinit~4 max_loop=256 toroot"
Have to do some things but will use kde4 on porteus2 ... A suggestion * make an iso for porteus 1.2 with your updates.
William all your work on this is important it will make things easier for future versions thanks

Joe

User avatar
wread
Module Guard
Module Guard
Posts: 1080
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 18:48
Distribution: Porteus v3.2.5-kde5-64 bits
Location: Santo Domingo
Contact:

Re: KDE4 in 32bit discussion

Post#25 by wread » 07 Nov 2012, 19:54

Hi Joe!
I start normally kde4 in old AF mode (cheatcode nomagic toroot). You can try it. If it doesn't work you can investigate what is wrong by starting in text mode, typing xconf to configure x and then starting the x server with xinit and then typing startkde. You will get a log of the starting process...

Regards!
Last edited by wread on 09 Nov 2012, 02:04, edited 1 time in total.
Porteus is proud of the FASTEST KDE ever made.....(take akonadi, nepomuk and soprano out and you will have a decent OS).
The Porteus Community never sleeps!

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5503
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: KDE4 in 32bit discussion

Post#26 by brokenman » 09 Nov 2012, 00:13

Possibly a problem with desktop effects? Integrated intel chipset?
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
bigbass
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 151
Joined: 13 Jan 2012, 14:35
Distribution: slackware 14

Re: KDE4 in 32bit discussion

Post#27 by bigbass » 10 Nov 2012, 15:15

Hey wread and brokenman

There is something you can do to help boot always fresh
and open a terminal just after kde4 settles and is running and type
cat /proc/meminfo

I need to see the minimum ram value the system uses

*I believe I ran out of ram and I will upgrade my memory that's why it just hangs
with only 768 MB of ram


A side note this box will run kde4 with slackware 14 installed this is the output from slackware

Code: Select all

cat /proc/meminfo
MemTotal: 746772 kB
MemFree: 88892 kB


Joe

User avatar
wread
Module Guard
Module Guard
Posts: 1080
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 18:48
Distribution: Porteus v3.2.5-kde5-64 bits
Location: Santo Domingo
Contact:

Re: KDE4 in 32bit discussion

Post#28 by wread » 11 Nov 2012, 12:20

Hi Joe!
When started in AF with cheatcodes base_only and norootcopy, my system uses 226 MB; I don't see why it wouldn't fit in 768 MB ram. My students bring laptops with all sorts of ram sizes and they all startup ok.
My actual machine, loaded with additional software (Ark, Gwenview, KDevelop, LibreOffice, LMMS, Bricscad, GoogleEarth, Kalzium, Marble, nmap, qt4.8.1, skype, git, subversion and others) uses 286 MB out of 1.1 GB.
Here is a snapshot of my System Monitor output idling:

Image

Maybe on startup it will need more ram than 768 MB; you should try a swapfile of say 2 GB in your harddisk; I have one in /dev/sda1, just in case. I think your multi-boot arrangement is swallowing too much ram. Why don't you try an usb installation plus a swapfile? I have this rc.local file installed in /rootcopy/etc/rc.d/

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
#
# /etc/rc.d/rc.local:  Local system initialization script.
#
# Put any local startup commands in here.  Also, if you have
# anything that needs to be run at shutdown time you can
# make an /etc/rc.d/rc.local_shutdown script and put those
# commands in there.
#
# install swapfile in harddisk if previously configured
if [ -a /mnt/sda1/swapfile.porteus ]; then
	echo "installing existing swapfile to hardisk sda1..."
	swapon /mnt/sda1/swapfile.porteus
fi
#
# Start the SSH daemon:
if [ -a /etc/rc.d/rc.sshd ]; then
    echo "starting ssh daemon..."
    chmod +x /etc/rc.d/rc.sshd 
    /etc/rc.d/rc.sshd start
fi
#
As you see, I install ssh, so I can use fish. Do as I say and you won't miss it!

Good luck!

Regards

William
Porteus is proud of the FASTEST KDE ever made.....(take akonadi, nepomuk and soprano out and you will have a decent OS).
The Porteus Community never sleeps!

User avatar
bigbass
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 151
Joined: 13 Jan 2012, 14:35
Distribution: slackware 14

Re: KDE4 in 32bit discussion

Post#29 by bigbass » 11 Nov 2012, 16:51

Hey William

I did a RAM upgrade so now I have 1.5 GB
and I can confirm it is NOT a RAM problem for sure

I was able to ctrl alt bkspace to get to the cli prompt
and ctrl alt f1 to view the terminal out of kde as it was starting

and this is the out put I still havent googled the error because I am working on some other project
with resolving deps and I ran out of RAM so I will come back to kde in a few days to see what happened
so no rush with this (but I would like to offer you some feed back so if someone else has this problem we can resolve it faster)

but here is the error where it finally locks up
kde(2101) powerDevilUPBackend::setBrightness:



BTW I have 4GB of swap space setup



Joe

User avatar
wread
Module Guard
Module Guard
Posts: 1080
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 18:48
Distribution: Porteus v3.2.5-kde5-64 bits
Location: Santo Domingo
Contact:

Re: KDE4 in 32bit discussion

Post#30 by wread » 26 Nov 2012, 01:05

My students complained they couldn't play music with Gnome-mplayer. This application resides in 002-xorg, but used a library residing in 004-tde (not present in kde4-32 bits). It took me two evenings to find out why and where and how to make it work again. I made a patch to 002-xorg that can be downloaded from here: http://www.mediafire.com/?zw1ne9nwr7gph1t

Cheers :)
Porteus is proud of the FASTEST KDE ever made.....(take akonadi, nepomuk and soprano out and you will have a decent OS).
The Porteus Community never sleeps!

Post Reply