wicd vs networkmanager

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
Post Reply
bour59
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 118
Joined: 29 Dec 2010, 08:10
Distribution: porteus v3.2.2-xfce
Location: France

wicd vs networkmanager

Post#1 by bour59 » 10 Jul 2012, 15:39

hello! .. sorry for always asking !
Can someone explain (as basically as possible) howto use networkmanager new in v1.2
for connect with iwl3945 as easy that wicd does in v1.1.
Booting from cd in v1.1 give accessc to internet, v1.2 does not
thx for help

User avatar
wread
Module Guard
Module Guard
Posts: 1070
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 18:48
Distribution: Porteus v3.2.5-kde5-64 bits
Location: Santo Domingo
Contact:

Re: wicd vs networkmanager

Post#2 by wread » 10 Jul 2012, 22:57

Probably your dowload is corrupted! :%)
Porteus is proud of the FASTEST KDE ever made.....(take akonadi, nepomuk and soprano out and you will have a decent OS).
The Porteus Community never sleeps!

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5461
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: wicd vs networkmanager

Post#3 by brokenman » 11 Jul 2012, 01:23

It should be the same as in wicd. Please check that your wireless card is working ok.

Open a terminal and tell us the output of:
ifconfig
lsmod|grep iwl


If it does not show 'wlan0' then something is not working. Try typing: ifconfig wlan0 up
and then see if it shows. The firmware for your card is included in Porteus by default: find /lib/firmware|grep -name iwl*
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

bour59
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 118
Joined: 29 Dec 2010, 08:10
Distribution: porteus v3.2.2-xfce
Location: France

Re: wicd vs networkmanager

Post#4 by bour59 » 11 Jul 2012, 09:29

@wread
mds5sum shows ok
@brokenman
effectively wlan0 does not appear in ifconfig as it does before
ifconfig wlan0 up tells me "operation not possible due to RF-kill"
ps: wifi works fine under windows7
have any idea ?

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4567
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: wicd vs networkmanager

Post#5 by fanthom » 11 Jul 2012, 12:16

hi bour59,

please provide psinfo output and /var/log/messages from porteus-1.1 and 1.2
i'll compare them and hopefully find the solution.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

bour59
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 118
Joined: 29 Dec 2010, 08:10
Distribution: porteus v3.2.2-xfce
Location: France

Re: wicd vs networkmanager

Post#6 by bour59 » 11 Jul 2012, 12:43

new : "ifconfig" don't show wlan0 ,but "ifconfig -a" do it !
since the boot with porteusv1.2, i can't see wlan0 neither in porteus v1.1 or porteusv0.9
ok I'will collect the results of what you needs
Google seems to say that it is a problem with "rfkill"
thx to all helpers

What is the best way to send you the 4 files (about 90000 bytes)

UrUtusUbU
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 70
Joined: 21 Apr 2012, 00:19
Distribution: Hannah Montana Linux
Location: inmygrave

Re: wicd vs networkmanager

Post#7 by UrUtusUbU » 11 Jul 2012, 14:04

you are in a netbook or notebook??
you have pressed the button of the wificard in notebook?
rfkill only it means that the wificard is down,
i have an iwl3945 and work fine.

bour59
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 118
Joined: 29 Dec 2010, 08:10
Distribution: porteus v3.2.2-xfce
Location: France

Re: wicd vs networkmanager

Post#8 by bour59 » 13 Jul 2012, 16:36

@UrUtusUbU
My computer is an HP pavillon
the only way to stop wifi (for planes) is in front of the portable
How can you explain why my wifi works with windows7
thx to try to solve my problem

Posted after 2 hours 8 seconds:
hi, all
I choose to reload the bios default settings
and I'm writing this after booting on v1.1 with wicd
Will investigate with v1.2 NM

Posted after 1 day 22 hours 19 minutes 45 seconds:
I have found the soluce
If I boot directly in Kde or Vesa,
I can choose the network then enter the wpa2 key.
If i boot in text mode then startx,
the wpa2 key in never asked.
It is one difference between NM and wicd
tested with iwl3945 on an HP
tested with Atheros on a Compaq.
but I can't explain the reason why !
may be someone?
thx to all

User avatar
wread
Module Guard
Module Guard
Posts: 1070
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 18:48
Distribution: Porteus v3.2.5-kde5-64 bits
Location: Santo Domingo
Contact:

Re: wicd vs networkmanager

Post#9 by wread » 14 Jul 2012, 04:29

Try in einer console: find /usr/bin -name nm*. The last 5 executables you will find are the binaries of Network Manager in CLI form. Experiment with it!

Regards!
Porteus is proud of the FASTEST KDE ever made.....(take akonadi, nepomuk and soprano out and you will have a decent OS).
The Porteus Community never sleeps!

Post Reply