64bit official Porteus repository bug reports

Please reproduce your error on a second machine before posting, and check the error by running without saved changes or extra modules (See FAQ No. 13, "How to report a bug"). For unstable Porteus versions (alpha, beta, rc) please use the relevant thread in our "Development" section.
User avatar
oranus
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 69
Joined: 25 Aug 2011, 13:46
Location: Turkey

Re: 64bit official Porteus repository bug reports

Post#31 by oranus » 17 Apr 2013, 10:33

Thanks fanthom for reply.
It works...

eugene28
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 7
Joined: 08 Apr 2013, 12:19
Distribution: porteus
Location: uk

Re: 64bit official Porteus repository bug reports

Post#32 by eugene28 » 18 Apr 2013, 15:28

Hi. Another bug I have spotted after reporting a bag with Skype is video playback. I did not install any video drivers so it is must be nouveau driver. So whatever player I used for playback my mkv video I could only watch for few minutes. Players just kept stopping the video giving black screen in player. Tried downloading other video player, but it did not help. Played it off ntfs partition. Never had any problem with video playing it on Wifislax

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4566
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: 64bit official Porteus repository bug reports

Post#33 by fanthom » 18 Apr 2013, 17:52

hi eugene28,

please open terminal and play your movie with following command:

Code: Select all

mplayer /path_to/movie.mkv
please wait few minutes and once payback stops please copy and paste here mplayer output.

please also test this movie with nVidia driver and let us know if that helped.

Thanks
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

miguipda
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 157
Joined: 12 Jun 2012, 18:21
Location: france

Re: 64bit official Porteus repository bug reports

Post#34 by miguipda » 19 Apr 2013, 17:13

fanthom wrote:@miguipda

i have fixed skype issue just yesterday (without version bump, probably i should do it).
please download again as for sure the version from 64bit official repo is working.
Hi,

it works great now. Sincerely thanks for your help and update.

Miguipda ;-)

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1847
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: 64bit official Porteus repository bug reports

Post#35 by Hamza » 26 Apr 2013, 16:56

Offtopic. Your message is about sound card issue and not about modules repository issue.
NjVFQzY2Rg==

cttan
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 332
Joined: 26 Jan 2011, 16:15
Distribution: Porteus 3.2 64bit KDE
Location: Malaysia

Re: 64bit official Porteus repository bug reports

Post#36 by cttan » 02 May 2013, 15:38

Hi,

I found the Gambas module not able to work with gb.qt.webkit/libgstapp missing error.
I have downloaded and installed the Gambas runtime then another error popup saying libffi.so.4 is missing.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4566
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: 64bit official Porteus repository bug reports

Post#37 by fanthom » 04 May 2013, 19:48

@cttan
gambas issue was caused by some strange bug in our scripts. should be fixed now.
I have downloaded and installed the Gambas runtime then another error popup saying libffi.so.4 is missing.
must be some old version as porteus-2.0 has libffi.so.6 in stock ISO.
i also think (not 100% sure) that gambas runtime is integrated with main gambas package.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 843
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 3.2.2-64bit xfce/openbox
Location: australia
Contact:

Re: 64bit official Porteus repository bug reports

Post#38 by ncmprhnsbl » 03 Jun 2013, 02:40

(64 kde/lxde/xfce/af) installed with ppm:
chromium 28
output:

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ chromium
[3037:3037:0524/124728:FATAL:zygote_host_impl_linux.cc(138)]
The SUID sandbox helper binary was found, but is not configured correctly.
Rather than run without sandboxing I'm aborting now. 
You need to make sure that /usr/lib64/chromium/chromium_sandbox is owned by root and has mode 4755.
Aborted
audacious(kde/lxde)(dependency of conky 1.9)

Code: Select all

uest@porteus:~$ audacious
WARNING: Audacious seems to be already running but is not responding.
FATAL: No output plugin found.
Forum Rules : http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4566
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: 64bit official Porteus repository bug reports

Post#39 by fanthom » 03 Jun 2013, 10:39

a) added a rule to chmod chromium_sandbox with 4755 (had one for google-chrome but chromium was missing)
b) added 'audacious-plugins' as functional dependency to 'audacious'

please update PPM indexes and download chromium/conky again.
thanks
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 843
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 3.2.2-64bit xfce/openbox
Location: australia
Contact:

Re: 64bit official Porteus repository bug reports

Post#40 by ncmprhnsbl » 03 Jun 2013, 13:54

thanks fanthom,
all good with chromium now...
will test out audacious later...but i'm pretty sure i tried audacious-plugins with no luck, but i'll check again.
dont really need it in kde, just thought i'd report its nonfunctionallity..

EDIT i didnt redownload anything as i already had the plugins, which i retried and now it works, dunno why it didnt before...probly just confused myself..
One thing i notice is no mp3,wma... plugins included..
Forum Rules : http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

KnallKopf
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 134
Joined: 18 Sep 2012, 20:56
Distribution: Porteus 64bit KDE4
Location: Absurdistan

Re: 64bit official Porteus repository bug reports

Post#41 by KnallKopf » 15 Jun 2013, 20:27

Non binary depence:
# pygtk
pycairo,pygobject




I missed Files in 2.0 and 2.1.rc1 :

/usr/lib64/libSDLmain.a
It should contain in sdl-1.2.14-x86_64-6_slack14.0
according to /var/log/packages/sdl-1.2.14-x86_64-6_slack14.0
The orginal txz contain it.

usr/lib64/qt/lib/libQtDesigner.so.4.8.4
It should contain in qt-4.8.4-x86_64-1ftm
according to /var/log/packages/qt-4.8.4-x86_64-1ftm
I use this http://mirror.nl.lea.seweb.net/slackwar ... 6_64-4.txz
but I think the combination of 4.8.4 with 4.8.2 is not good



another request please can you add the root-mode dolphin respectively another file-browser
to the menü

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4566
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: 64bit official Porteus repository bug reports

Post#42 by fanthom » 15 Jun 2013, 20:53

a) will add pycairo and pygobject as deps to pygtk.
b) i guess that you need static libSDL for compilation - is it? if yes then will add it to devel module for rc2 (i'm keeping only minimal set of static libs there but it's external module now so we can afford this)
c) 'aaa_portlibs' from the repo contains these libs (in ver 4.8.2) and i havent seen any problems so far. all qt apps from the repo are compiled against qt-4.8.2 so should be ok.
another request please can you add the root-mode dolphin respectively another file-browser
to the menü
dolphin is preferred file browser under kde4. users are free to choose any other one but have to make it default themselves.
you can create root-mode for it by adding .desktop file to /usr/share/applications (please take 'su-dolphin.desktop' as sample)
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

KnallKopf
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 134
Joined: 18 Sep 2012, 20:56
Distribution: Porteus 64bit KDE4
Location: Absurdistan

Re: 64bit official Porteus repository bug reports

Post#43 by KnallKopf » 21 Jun 2013, 09:08

Thanks for reply

You're probably right,
it make probably no differenz between 4.8.2 and 4.8.4

But I try to compile "gnuradio", that is a little difficult in general.
The last error was on to build gr-qtgui.

Have you the library libQtDesigner.so.4.8.4 somewhere ?
I want to exclude all possible sources of error.
and can you give it to me please ?



In my general opiniom you can make a higher size of Porteus, but let the packages complete, if it is possible.
I known the great advantage of Slackware and there derivates that packages mostly complete and all thinks on Board.
Compiling of software will better work on Porteus better than other distros, because packages mostly complete and all thinks on Board.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4566
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: 64bit official Porteus repository bug reports

Post#44 by fanthom » 21 Jun 2013, 20:58

But I try to compile "gnuradio", that is a little difficult in general.
The last error was on to build gr-qtgui.

Have you the library libQtDesigner.so.4.8.4 somewhere ?
unfortunately no (i have stripped qt just after compilation) but i may provide you with a slackbuild if you want to compile it itself (time consuming task).
my other proposition is to run 'removepkg qt' to get rid of porteus version of 'qt' and then 'installpkg qt-4.8.2' from slackware-14.0.
this way you can check if gr-qtgui builds ok and resulting package should be fully compatible with porteus and other slackware-14.0 apps.
fixes introduced in 4.8.4 mostly affects runtime so backward compatibility with apps compiled against 4.8.2 should be fully preserved (i hope).
In my general opiniom you can make a higher size of Porteus, but let the packages complete, if it is possible.
i have different opinion in this subject. i recon that only about 1% of porteus users compile from sources so devel stuff is not the priority.
ideally i would love to see maintainers compiling on slackware and not porteus. this way we could focus on the runtime stuff only making porteus even smaller and sharper.
i'm aware that it's probably impossible to make, but the trend is there: devel module is not a part of the default ISO anymore.
sorry about that.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

KnallKopf
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 134
Joined: 18 Sep 2012, 20:56
Distribution: Porteus 64bit KDE4
Location: Absurdistan

Re: 64bit official Porteus repository bug reports

Post#45 by KnallKopf » 27 Jun 2013, 19:28

Thanks i will try it, when i will build a newer version of gnuradio.
At this time i must play with my radio.

Post Reply