Porteus-1.2 feedback

Non release banter
feng
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 62
Joined: 18 Jan 2011, 15:51
Location: internet

Re: Porteus-1.2 feedback

Post#61 by feng » 20 Aug 2012, 17:07

Hi all,

i have been running porteus 1.2 (XFCE) for a while, and now in 1.2 update.

i have tried to disable "power saving", but the screen will be blank sometime later, still. any idea?

thanks a lot in advance!

User avatar
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Posts: 1331
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
Location: USA

Re: Porteus-1.2 feedback

Post#62 by Ahau » 21 Aug 2012, 23:22

Hi feng,

Just to make sure, have you set all sliders to 'never' in Xfce Power Manager, both on the 'actions' tab and the 'monitor' tab, for 'on AC' and 'on Battery'? Also, do you have laptop-mode-tools enabled?

I thought for a moment that it might be this line from /etc/rc.d/rc.services (hat tip to fanthom for remembering this file had an acpi setting off-hand):

Code: Select all

setterm -blank 15 -powersave powerdown -powerdown 60 &
however, changing that setting to '-blank 1' doesn't cause the monitor to go blank after one minute, so my thinking must be off. Unfortunately I don't have fifteen minutes to spend with no activity to test this further right now...will see what if I can reproduce this later today and find a solution. My initial thinking is that there must be some other acpi service that is taking over and causing the screen to go blank despite the settings that Xfce is managing.
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

feng
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 62
Joined: 18 Jan 2011, 15:51
Location: internet

Re: Porteus-1.2 feedback

Post#63 by feng » 22 Aug 2012, 07:36

Hi Ahau,

in the previous version - 1.2rc2 XFCE, it could disable the screen go blank through the control panel.

currently, my power manager setting in control panel
On AC - Actions -
Put the computer to sleep when inactive for: Never

On AC - Monitor -
Put display to sleep when computer is inactive for: Never
Switch off display when computer is inactive for: Never

by the way, i ran the command "/etc/rc.d/rc.laptop-mode stop" last night. it seems it doesn't stop the screen go blank.

sams
Legendary
Legendary
Posts: 27
Joined: 05 Jan 2011, 18:53
Location: Alaska

Re: Porteus-1.2 feedback

Post#64 by sams » 30 Aug 2012, 05:24

Hi Porteus Devs,

I have a request that level2 ISO 9660 filenames work with isolinux booter in future releases, in other words please consider to add "-l" option to mkisofs in make_iso.sh.

My porteus worked fine from USB with all my custom syslinux configuration files, but not all configuration files worked when I made my custom ISO. I finally figured out I had some long ( > 8.3) filenames included by isolinux configuration files. Same config worked fine from syslinux, but didn't work in isolinux until I added the "-l" flag to mkisofs.

cheers!

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus-1.2 feedback

Post#65 by fanthom » 30 Aug 2012, 16:16

@sams

will be added and thanks for valuable feedback.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

don570
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 99
Joined: 01 Jun 2012, 00:37
Location: Ontario

a wrapper script for slock

Post#66 by don570 » 30 Aug 2012, 22:44

I wrote a wrapper script for slock to lock the computer screen
from intruders. You might be interested in looking at it.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... 571#649571

_______________________________________

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 790
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 3.2.2-64bit xfce/openbox
Location: australia
Contact:

Re: Porteus-1.2 feedback

Post#67 by ncmprhnsbl » 01 Sep 2012, 02:42

Regarding the kernel upgrade, ati drivers and vga_detect..... for my Mobility Radeon HD 5730, it doesn't want to use the proprietry 12.8 driver(in optional), only radeon. I tried the legacy just in case, but no. Had not tested with previous kernel/ati driver.

Code: Select all

root=/dev/ram0 rootfstype=ext4 rw initrd=/boot/initrd.xz nomagic vga_detect copy2ram changes=/porteus/changes2 BOOT_IMAGE=/boot/vmlinuz 
.
Also, radeon don't seem to be working properly.... glxgears crashes giving this:

Code: Select all

[  646.169735] radeon 0000:01:00.0: evergreen_surface_check_1d:243 cb height 300 invalid must be aligned with 8
[  646.169741] radeon 0000:01:00.0: evergreen_cs_track_validate_cb:427 cb[0] invalid (0x00000027 0x000005db 0x00000010 0x01088268)
[  646.169745] radeon 0000:01:00.0: evergreen_packet3_check:2096 invalid cmd stream 467
[  646.169749] [drm:radeon_cs_ib_chunk] *ERROR* Invalid command stream !

...and no compositing/effects in kde4.
Similar situation in 32bit xfce, tho radeon seems to work ok with composite.
No problems with Nvidia.
Forum Rules : http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus-1.2 feedback

Post#68 by fanthom » 01 Sep 2012, 18:59

@ncmprhnsbl,

yes - oranus reported this issue to me few days ago.

please use these initrd's with fixed vga_detect code:

32bit:
http://www.4shared.com/file/89C6Ovy_/initrd_2.html

64bit:
http://www.4shared.com/file/sKPiu5B6/initrd.html

thanks
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 790
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 3.2.2-64bit xfce/openbox
Location: australia
Contact:

Re: Porteus-1.2 feedback

Post#69 by ncmprhnsbl » 02 Sep 2012, 01:57

Thanks fanthom, 32bit 12.8 driver detected and working now :)
4shared seems a bit crap... create an account and all that... might be useful i suppose...
and with the 64bit i get 'server not found' or something when i try to download :unknown: ..tried adding to my account.. same
..... so haven't tested.
edit.. ok... got it now, all working as it should :good:
thanks again
Forum Rules : http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

feng
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 62
Joined: 18 Jan 2011, 15:51
Location: internet

Re: Porteus-1.2 feedback

Post#70 by feng » 06 Sep 2012, 11:15

i found a solution about blank screen, run the command:

Code: Select all

xset s off
then blank screen will be disable.

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1319
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

XFCe Porteus keyboard layouts reset bug

Post#71 by Rava » 12 Sep 2012, 14:09

fanthom: What do you think of the idea of giving major updates like new kernel, new initrc and all such minor version numbers, e.g. Porteus v1.2.1 , Porteus v1.2.2 and such?


Anyhow, on Porteus v1.2 x86 XFCe version.

Code: Select all

14110720 2012-08-13 14:01 000-kernel.xzm
  753080 2012-08-13 14:02 initrd.xz
 2526448 2012-08-14 08:03 vmlinuz
I have this bug / issue:
I want XFCe keybord settings as German Nodeadkeys and UK.

Now, this machine Samsung Q40 has a broken keyboard and some keys are not working, so once in a while I plug in a USB keyboard. But when I do so, the Keyboard Layouts I set are deleted and it sets itself to US...
And this is the reason for the two above layouts: the internal one is UK, and my USB and all other keyboards are DE Nodeadkeys.

What can be done to disable this reset?
Cheers!
Yours Rava

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1846
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: Porteus-1.2 feedback

Post#72 by Hamza » 12 Sep 2012, 16:42

I'm using this command to change keyboard through the terminal and it appear to works on all DEs.

Code: Select all

setxkbmap MY_LANG
Example,

Code: Select all

setxkbmap de
This will set your keyboard layouts to Deutsch default keyboard (not a variant of it)
NjVFQzY2Rg==

User avatar
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Posts: 1331
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
Location: USA

Re: Porteus-1.2 feedback

Post#73 by Ahau » 12 Sep 2012, 23:06

@Rava,

Please give me the output of

Code: Select all

setxkbmap -query
from before and after plugging in your keyboard (meaning, I want to see your xkb settings in both working and non-working setup), and also give me the output of

Code: Select all

dmesg |tail -n25
So we can see what your kernel is doing. I'm guessing that the keyboard settings are getting refreshed and sent back to an old setting when a new kernel module is loaded for the external keyboard. Not sure if this is Xfce related or not, but hopefully this will shed some light on the issue. I have an external USB keyboard as well, so hopefully I can recreate and test this...
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1319
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

Re: Porteus-1.2 feedback

Post#74 by Rava » 13 Sep 2012, 03:14

Ahau....
The reset setxkbmap was this

Code: Select all

$ setxkbmap -query
rules:      evdev
model:      evdev
layout:     us
options:    terminate:ctrl_alt_bksp
Prior the test I changed Keyboard Settings so that I kept the US settings that were put in by itself.

Code: Select all

$ setxkbmap -query
rules:      evdev
model:      evdev
layout:     us,gb,de
variant:    ,,nodeadkeys
Now I plug out the keyboard

Code: Select all

[31035.891049] usb 1-1.4: USB disconnect, device number 29
[31248.804459] usb 1-1.4: new low-speed USB device number 30 using ehci_hcd
[31248.890486] input: HID 046a:0001 as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1d.7/usb1/1-1/1-1.4/1-1.4:1.0/input/input19
[31248.890718] generic-usb 0003:046A:0001.000D: input,hidraw1: USB HID v1.00 Keyboard [HID 046a:0001] on usb-0000:00:1d.7-1.4/input0
[35296.755867] usb 1-1.4: USB disconnect, device number 30
and setxkbmap is still the same. Now I plug it in again...
The flag of UK vanished for a second (that was the keymap I selected prior the test) and then the US flag appears as icon for XFCe Keyboard Settings. And sure the US is the only keft in XFCe keyboard settings... :wall:

dmesg:

Code: Select all

[30805.490062][31035.891049] usb 1-1.4: USB disconnect, device number 29
[31248.804459] usb 1-1.4: new low-speed USB device number 30 using ehci_hcd
[31248.890486] input: HID 046a:0001 as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1d.7/usb1/1-1/1-1.4/1-1.4:1.0/input/input19
[31248.890718] generic-usb 0003:046A:0001.000D: input,hidraw1: USB HID v1.00 Keyboard [HID 046a:0001] on usb-0000:00:1d.7-1.4/input0
[35296.755867] usb 1-1.4: USB disconnect, device number 30
[35357.861330] usb 1-1.4: new low-speed USB device number 31 using ehci_hcd
[35357.956856] input: HID 046a:0001 as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1d.7/usb1/1-1/1-1.4/1-1.4:1.0/input/input20
[35357.957433] generic-usb 0003:046A:0001.000E: input,hidraw1: USB HID v1.00 Keyboard [HID 046a:0001] on usb-0000:00:1d.7-1.4/input0

Code: Select all

$ setxkbmap -query
rules:      evdev
model:      evdev
layout:     us
Cheers!
Yours Rava

User avatar
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Posts: 1331
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
Location: USA

Re: Porteus-1.2 feedback

Post#75 by Ahau » 14 Sep 2012, 05:11

Hi Rava,

I think the Xorg server is reconfiguring the layout based on something (maybe it's trying to autodetect?) I'm not sure why it does this, but I've recreated the issue on my end. Here's a segment from my Xorg.0.log:

Code: Select all

[   401.340] (II) config/udev: Adding input device Dell Dell USB Keyboard (/dev/input/event1)
[   401.340] (**) Dell Dell USB Keyboard: Applying InputClass "evdev keyboard catchall"
[   401.340] (**) Dell Dell USB Keyboard: Applying InputClass "keyboard-all"
[   401.340] (**) Dell Dell USB Keyboard: always reports core events
[   401.340] (**) Dell Dell USB Keyboard: Device: "/dev/input/event1"
[   401.340] (--) Dell Dell USB Keyboard: Found keys
[   401.340] (II) Dell Dell USB Keyboard: Configuring as keyboard
[   401.340] (II) XINPUT: Adding extended input device "Dell Dell USB Keyboard" (type: KEYBOARD)
[   401.340] (**) Option "xkb_rules" "evdev"
[   401.340] (**) Option "xkb_model" "evdev"
[   401.340] (**) Option "xkb_layout" "us"
[   401.340] (**) Option "xkb_options" "terminate:ctrl_alt_bksp"
I haven't had time to look into this yet to find out why it's doing it and how to alter the behaviour (perhaps there's a setting that can go in xorg.conf to stop it). If it were me, I'd create a keyboard shortcut in XFCE, using a set of keys that are mapped similar between all the keyboards in question (maybe ctrl-alt+a function key?) to reset the xkb settings, using:

Code: Select all

setxkbmap -layout us,gb,de -variant ,,nodeadkeys
Maybe it works in a pinch...?
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

Post Reply