Porteus-1.2 feedback

Non release banter
camkueh
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 3
Joined: 26 Apr 2011, 09:03
Location: Indonesia

Re: Porteus-1.2 feedback

Post#31 by camkueh » 12 Jul 2012, 09:19

Hi,

I just try this new release and it's work great. But, I've faced a minor error in magic_folder with error message:
"special device /mnt//folder not exists"

The content of my magic_folder/folder.cfg
/mnt/sda1/AmN /AmN
It's likely cannot read the /sda1/ text in folder.cfg, so all of mount bind produce error with same message: "Special device /mnt//AmN not exists" with the double slashes. My Porteus 1.2 x86_64 installed at /dev/sda1 with Linux file system.

Thank you for help.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus-1.2 feedback

Post#32 by fanthom » 12 Jul 2012, 12:52

hi camkueh,

magic folders in Porteus-1.2 defaults to UUID method on partition identification which is more reliable.
(i'm sorry i have probably forgotten to include this info in the changelog)

please run:

Code: Select all

blkid /dev/sda1 | egrep -o " UUID=[^ ]+" | cut -d= -f2 | sed 's/"//g'
command and replace sda1 with the output.

or just run 'magic folders' from the PSC once again to create new config.

Cheers
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5436
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus-1.2 feedback

Post#33 by brokenman » 12 Jul 2012, 12:58

Thats a little strange. The latest version uses UUID instead of a path like you have given. Can you please look at the output of: blkid
and replace the /mnt/sda1 with the UUID and see if that works.

Something like: /mnt/8c7bfa2a-259c-4c43-839b-7f6e7ca98ece

Posted after 45 seconds:
OK. Beat to the punch.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1319
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

Re: Porteus-1.2 feedback

Post#34 by Rava » 12 Jul 2012, 21:15

Ahau...

I used the same USB stick to start up my notebook... and all issues have been gone but the Suspend one... I swear, I did not change anything... :P :unknown:

Is psinfo helful when I run 1.2rc1 or doe I have to start uop 1.2 finale?
Cheers!
Yours Rava

mattcintosh
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 5
Joined: 07 Mar 2012, 14:57
Location: Wisconsin

Re: Porteus-1.2 feedback

Post#35 by mattcintosh » 13 Jul 2012, 01:14

http://porteus.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=62&t=1116

This issue is coming up again. Installing Porteus on an internal NTFS hard drive is resulting in a NTDLR error at bootup. I'm fixing up some computers with no OS and putting Porteus on them so people can see that they at least boot up.

camkueh
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 3
Joined: 26 Apr 2011, 09:03
Location: Indonesia

Re: Porteus-1.2 feedback

Post#36 by camkueh » 13 Jul 2012, 09:59

@fanthom and @brokenman:
Thank you for help. I guess that it is, but I have to confirm it, and look for information in changelog before posting here. It isn't there. I think it's should be listed there in case of upgrading from previous release. It works with UUID. I copied my UUID from my from_dev=UUID cheatcode.

Thank you very much.

User avatar
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Posts: 1331
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
Location: USA

Re: Porteus-1.2 feedback

Post#37 by Ahau » 13 Jul 2012, 17:11

@Rava --

Glad to hear most of your issues went away -- please keep an eye on this and let me know if they come back and, if so, what steps led up to them reoccuring.

psinfo from 1.2 would probably be better, so we see the outputs from the dysfunctional system. Here's another test you can do, to see if this is related to your kernel:
1) on your 1.2RC1 (working install) make a new directory somewhere, e.g. /porteus/1.2RC1modules/ and move modules 001-core.xzm through 0091-xfce-apps.xzm from /porteus/base into this new directory

2) copy modules 001-core.xzm through 0091-xfce-apps.xzm from the 1.2 final ISO into /porteus/base on your 1.2RC1 install

3) reboot and test suspend/resume

This will effectively boot 1.2 final using the kernel, initrd and 000-kernel.xzm from 1.2RC1. If the problem is resolved, then we can be pretty sure it's a regression in the kernel. If you really wanted to keep testing things (maybe you're nuts like me), you could also try putting the kernel, initrd and 000-kernel.xzm from 1.2 final together with your 001-core.xzm through 0091-xfce-apps.xzm modules from 1.2RC1 and testing to see if suspend/resume fails there as well.
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1319
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

Re: Porteus-1.2 feedback

Post#38 by Rava » 14 Jul 2012, 20:03

@Ahau

I think I understand your approach. I use 000-kernel.xzm from 1.2rc1 and all modules (but the nvidia one) from 1.2 finale to run all of 1.2 (minus nvidia) to see if it's a kernek digression.

What would be the difference in doing so, and in also using kernel and initrd and 000-kernel.xzm from 1.2 final ?

Since I run completekly 1.2rc1, I first do the psinfo, so that we have a base for knowing when all works as it should...

When I collected the other psinfo, and sure the testing of suspend/resume, I will tell you and post all the psinfo's...
Cheers!
Yours Rava

User avatar
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Posts: 1331
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
Location: USA

Re: Porteus-1.2 feedback

Post#39 by Ahau » 14 Jul 2012, 21:39

Rava,

000-kernel.xzm contains all of the kernel modules (aka drivers), which are compiled with the kernel. You wouldn't want to use drivers that are compiled against an older or newer kernel, so your vmlinuz and 000-kernel.xzm should always match. initrd.xz is more transferrable between kernels (unless you are pxe booting with a network driver that is compiled as a module), but I usually move it around with the kernel anyway just to help keep things organized.

001-core.xzm contains the startup scripts, such as /etc/rc.S and /etc/rc.M and 0090-xfce.xzm would have any xfce specific configs that might have changed (I did bump to Xfce 4.10 between rc1 and rc2), so what I'm up to is isolating the source of the problem to narrow our search.

If you recreate the problem with 1.2rc1 kernel, initrd and 000-kernel.xzm mixed with the other modules from 1.2 final, please slide 001-core.xzm and 002-xorg.xzm from 1.2rc1 back in. If the problem persists, then we know for sure that it lies in Xfce (perhaps a bug with xfce power manager).

Thanks!!
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

kaz
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 13
Joined: 07 Jul 2012, 02:21
Location: Japan

Re: Porteus-1.2 feedback

Post#40 by kaz » 15 Jul 2012, 15:01

Hi,

I like Porteus v1.2 and use it for my everyday work.

But is it correct that Porteus 32bit uses Trinity Desktop Environment R14.0.0, while http://porteus.org/info/features.html states
The 32-bit Standard edition includes KDE 3.5.13 (Trinity)
?

Kaso_Da_Zmok
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 10
Joined: 12 Jan 2011, 11:47
Location: Ireland

Re: Porteus-1.2 feedback

Post#41 by Kaso_Da_Zmok » 16 Jul 2012, 19:20

not a big issue but the b43 wifi module is not loaded on Dell D430 with 0c:00.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4311 802.11a/b/g (rev 01)

root@porteus:~# iwconfig
eth0 no wireless extensions.

lo no wireless extensions.

root@porteus:~# modprobe b43
i remember this was fine before on this laptop with 1.0 ,1.1

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus-1.2 feedback

Post#42 by fanthom » 16 Jul 2012, 21:32

@Kaso_Da_Zmok
please check updated Q/A number 10 from our FAQ for Porteus-1.2

Cheers
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Kaso_Da_Zmok
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 10
Joined: 12 Jan 2011, 11:47
Location: Ireland

Re: Porteus-1.2 feedback

Post#43 by Kaso_Da_Zmok » 17 Jul 2012, 18:24

@fanthom: thanks that explains. There is small typo in the FAQ >>> (b43_blackilst.conf)

User avatar
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Posts: 1331
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
Location: USA

Re: Porteus-1.2 feedback

Post#44 by Ahau » 17 Jul 2012, 18:38

Thanks, Kaso_Da_Zmok! I corrected fanthom's post to fix the typo (blackilst => blacklist).
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1319
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

Re: Porteus-1.2 feedback

Post#45 by Rava » 19 Jul 2012, 08:19

Ahau!

Some md5sum to show which initrd, Kernel, 000-kernel and nVidia driver I used:

Code: Select all

root@porteus:/etc/X11/xinit# md5sum /boot/*Porteus_1.2_rc1_x86_64 /mnt/sda1/porteus/base/0[10]0*
95cca9626a27758a9bdcd5202ef73f67  /boot/initrd.xz_Porteus_1.2_rc1_x86_64
f8c4a5781fbb8ffe9d26e642f8db9645  /boot/vmlinuz_Porteus_1.2_rc1_x86_64
151a01c6c605235ef1d6add28477bd4a  /mnt/sda1/porteus/base/000-kernel.xzm
fd0d868168582ffeaaaa2cdc494d622f  /mnt/sda1/porteus/base/010-nVidia-295.20-porteus-v1.2-rc1-x86_64-1beny.xzm
I wanted it to run with the nVidia module, as I would run it as "working system"... but it refused:

startx (as normal user) gave me:

Code: Select all

(==) Log file: "/var/log/Xorg.0.log", Time: Thu Jul 19 09:12:22 2012
(==) Using config file: "/etc/X11/xorg.conf"
(==) Using system config directory "/usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d"
FATAL: Module nvidia not found.
(EE) NVIDIA: Failed to load the NVIDIA kernel module. Please check your
(EE) NVIDIA:     system's kernel log for additional error messages.
(EE) Failed to load module "nvidia" (module-specific error, 0)
(EE) No drivers available.

Fatal server error:
no screens found
And /var/log/Xorg.0.log gave me:

Code: Select all

[   336.182] (II) LoadModule: "nvidia"
[   336.182] (II) Loading /usr/lib64/xorg/modules/drivers/nvidia_drv.so
[   336.183] (II) Module nvidia: vendor="NVIDIA Corporation"
[   336.183] 	compiled for 4.0.2, module version = 1.0.0
[   336.183] 	Module class: X.Org Video Driver
[   336.187] (EE) NVIDIA: Failed to load the NVIDIA kernel module. Please check your
[   336.187] (EE) NVIDIA:     system's kernel log for additional error messages.
[   336.187] (II) UnloadModule: "nvidia"
[   336.187] (II) Unloading /usr/lib64/xorg/modules/drivers/nvidia_drv.so
[   336.187] (EE) Failed to load module "nvidia" (module-specific error, 0)
[   336.188] (EE) No drivers available.
[   336.188] Fatal server error:
[   336.188] no screens found
Dunno what might be wrong with the nvidia module... *shrug* Seems it did load the nVidia module, just to unload it...
So I deactivated the nVidia module, did xconf and started X.

And know what: suspend and resume worked like a charm...

Now... it still could be that it is a rare error that only appears in combination with an nVidia module (who know), but *points above* for some reason, nvidia won't work...

Your thoughts, Ahau?
Cheers!
Yours Rava

Post Reply