[HOW TO] Scanning with porteus

Post tutorials, HOWTO's and other useful resources here.
User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4937
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: [HOW TO] Scanning with porteus

Post#16 by francois » 28 Jun 2014, 02:50

I guess it should. For the brother printer, once it is set up, it is done. All you have to do then is to call simplescan or xsane. What is your scanner model?
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4937
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: [HOW TO] Scanning with porteus

Post#17 by francois » 28 Jun 2014, 04:01

It seems my guess was not that good according to beny and mocabilly. They might join in. I have invited them.

ISCAN SOLUTION FOR EPSON PRINTING:
According to the following link iscan and iscan-data packages would be necessary to the epson scanner. Simone Giustetti would provide the slackware 14.1 packages for iscan and iscan-data. You should try them an then tell us if your scanner works with them:
http://www.giustetti.net/wiki/index.php ... kware_14.1

Download the two packages, convert them into modules (I don't know what type of architecture you are working with) and rename them with a 1 in front of the iscan-data so to rename it to 1-iscan-data, and a 2 in front of iscan to rename it to 2-iscan. They say that iscan-data has to be installed before iscan (iscan-core):
the install order for packages for Your convenience: iscan-data, iscan, scan-plugin.
The list of supported epson scanner with iscan is here:
http://support.epson.ru/upload/library_ ... _linux.pdf
or here
http://download.ebz.epson.net/dsc/du/02 ... e4149a9831

With your scanner model, depending on your needs we will figure out the necessity of some iscan-plugin. Plugins are necessary for some additional image processing functions:
http://download.ebz.epson.net/faq/linux ... 00002.html
This package is optional to add some image processing functions and only available for certain devices. Install it if you want to use some image processing functions.
With the iscan packages you will need the printing.xzm too for simple scan or xsane scanning front end.

I imagine that once you get it going these packages will be in the future included directly into printing.xzm. I guess that ahau or fanthom might consider it. You are the epson tester.
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1319
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

Re: [HOW TO] Scanning with porteus

Post#18 by Rava » 28 Jun 2014, 17:49

Wow.... so it is more complex with my scanner that previous thought...

My architecture is x86-64.
The scanner module is: Epson Perfection V500 Photo

I will load the stuff and see if I get it working will post a reply in here as soon as I managed to put it all together...

But as it seems it's quite more complicated than I first thought, sadly not just loading printing.xzm... it might take a while till I have the free time.

Do I still need printing.xzm or are Simone Giustetti's packages all I need?
It sounds to me like it is all I need, so: no longer using printing.xzm for scanning with a Epson scanner?
Cheers!
Yours Rava

beny
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 723
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 11:33
Location: italy

Re: [HOW TO] Scanning with porteus

Post#19 by beny » 28 Jun 2014, 22:42

hi rava, i have seen in the epson driver site a new revision of iscan 2.29.3 june 2014,maybe you can try to do a package with rpm or deb,but you know the lsusb it is very important ,if i remember well you have to adds this line to driver config,with the old driver version.

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1319
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

Re: [HOW TO] Scanning with porteus

Post#20 by Rava » 29 Jun 2014, 13:48

beny wrote:hi rava, i have seen in the epson driver site a new revision of iscan 2.29.3 june 2014,maybe you can try to do a package with rpm or deb,but you know the lsusb it is very important ,if i remember well you have to adds this line to driver config,with the old driver version.
Why do I have to add a line with the old driver version?

I thought you suggested to use the newest version, aka iscan 2.29.3?
[I currently cannot look up which ones I downloaded, cause I am on another machine, on my only 686 one that cannot run x86-64 Porteus]

And which config do exactly you mean?

I will update here as soon as I can to give you the info on the files I downloaded so far...
Cheers!
Yours Rava

beny
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 723
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 11:33
Location: italy

Re: [HOW TO] Scanning with porteus

Post#21 by beny » 29 Jun 2014, 19:48

# epkowa.conf -- sample configuration for the EPKOWA SANE backend
# Copyright (C) 2004, 2008, 2009 Olaf Meeuwissen
#
# See sane-epkowa(5), sane-usb(5) and sane-scsi(5) for details.

# Detect all devices supported by the backend.
# If you don't have a SCSI device, you can comment out the "scsi"
# keyword. Similarly for the other keywords.
#
usb
scsi


# For any USB scanner not known to the backend (yet), you may, at your
# own peril(!!), force the backend to recognise and use it via libusb.
# You can do so by the following configuration command:
#
# usb <USB vendor ID> <USB product ID>
#
# SEIKO EPSON's USB vendor ID is '0x04b8' (without quotes). In order
# to find the USB product ID, use lsusb(1).
# A sample configuration for the Epson Perfection 1650 (Epson GT-8200),
# which has a product ID of 0x0110, would look as follows:
#
#usb 0x04b8 0x0110


# For SCSI devices not detected, you can add an entry like:
#
# scsi EPSON GT-20000
#
# where the GT-20000 bit corresponds to the SCSI model information as
# shown in the output of dmesg(1) or in the /var/log/kern.log file.


# Network attached devices may be made to work by first installing the
# (non-free) iscan-network-nt package and then adding configuration lines
# as per information below.
#
# For each network attached device, you must add an entry as follows:
#
# net <IP-address|hostname> [port-number]
#
# Ask your network administrator for the device's IP address or check
# for yourself on the panel (if it has one). The port-number is very
# optional and defaults to 1865.
# Note that network attached devices are not queried unless configured
# in this file.
#
# Examples:
#
#net 192.16.136.2 1865
#net 10.0.0.1
#net scanner.mydomain.com


# Some backend behaviour can be customized by using the option keyword
# followed by an option name, as shown below.
#
# option <option-name>
#
# Currently available options:
#
# Makes the automatic document feeder the default document source
#option prefer-adf
i have stripped the iscan rpm package, so this is the file that i mean located in /etc/sane.d

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4937
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: [HOW TO] Scanning with porteus

Post#22 by francois » 30 Jun 2014, 12:56

@rava:
Do I still need printing.xzm or are Simone Giustetti's packages all I need?
Looking at the threads of Simone Giustetti, all you need are these three packages. No need for printing.xzm unless you want to use another gui interface than iscan.

The iscan program is a gui interface for your epson scanner. However, if you want to use another interface as xsane, you need to modify some files. Quote:
http://www.giustetti.net/wiki/index.php ... are_64_bit
If the three packages were installed following the order described above: isca-data, iscan, iscan-plugin, no further configuration should be needed. Udev subsystem rules plus file /var/lib/iscan/interpreter are enough for the computer to recognize the attached scanner and to load the proper firmware.

I have compiled the necessary Perfection V500 Photo iscan-plugin for you for the x86_64 architecture and converted it to a porteus module. The other two necessary package have only been converted to .xzm module as they are provided as slackware txz packages already. I do not have the scanner attached to my laptop, but the program will start yielding a message stating that the scanner could not be reached. I thing this should work for you.

For your Perfection V500 Photo you will need the iscan plugin. With Simone Giustetti, all you have is to install are the three following modules in the right order of numbers (beginning by 01, 02 and 03), I did so by putting them in the /porteus/optional:
https://www.mediafire.com/?3t33a7c2xyp0k

Cheers.
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1319
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

Re: [HOW TO] Scanning with porteus

Post#23 by Rava » 02 Jul 2014, 05:45

francois wrote:For your Perfection V500 Photo you will need the iscan plugin. With Simone Giustetti, all you have is to install are the three following modules in the right order of numbers (beginning by 01, 02 and 03), I did so by putting them in the /porteus/optional:
https://www.mediafire.com/?3t33a7c2xyp0k
You are the best! <B

Hope my md5sums are OK:

Code: Select all

ed746c988a8718ec7bbdb6216afa0911  01-iscan-data-1.25.0-x86_64-1_sg.xzm
0d51b2b36a8a909c9b48230cf61562be  02-iscan-2.29.3-x86_64-1_sg.xzm
0c264d18eab0d4d742831f47a7ed6e3b  03-iscan-plugin-2.1.2-x86_64-1_sg.xzm
Greetings from sunny Franconia! :) :D
Cheers!
Yours Rava

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4937
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: [HOW TO] Scanning with porteus

Post#24 by francois » 03 Jul 2014, 17:27

Sorry for the delay, the x86-64 laptop was at work. I get too much busy once in a while.

ed746c988a8718ec7bbdb6216afa0911 01-iscan-data-1.25.0-x86_64-1_sg.xzm
0d51b2b36a8a909c9b48230cf61562be 02-iscan-2.29.3-x86_64-1_sg.xzm
7b34a6761bfd33646410e6e499b681e4 03-iscan-plugin-2.1.2-x86_64-1_sg.xzm

Give a second try to the iscan-plugin. After an email communication with Simone, I had to use another version of the slackbuild to rebuild the module.
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1319
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

Re: [HOW TO] Scanning with porteus

Post#25 by Rava » 04 Jul 2014, 15:21

francois, the URL changes to https://www.mediafire.com/?3t33a7c2xyp0k#myfiles but I don't see any files on there anymore? What's going wrong?
Cheers!
Yours Rava

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4937
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: [HOW TO] Scanning with porteus

Post#26 by francois » 05 Jul 2014, 12:33

I have verified the link. It is working. The files are there. Maybe you should retry:
https://www.mediafire.com/#3t33a7c2xyp0k
Last edited by francois on 05 Jul 2014, 15:58, edited 1 time in total.
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1319
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

Re: [HOW TO] Scanning with porteus

Post#27 by Rava » 05 Jul 2014, 13:22

francois wrote:I have verified the link. It is working. The files are there. Maybe you should retry:
https://www.mediafire.com/?3t33a7c2xyp0k
Weird, this is what I get:
Image
Cheers!
Yours Rava

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4937
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: [HOW TO] Scanning with porteus

Post#28 by francois » 05 Jul 2014, 16:00

Sorry rava. I do not use mediafire quite often. It seems that a ? signs should be replaced by the # sign in the url. I have corrected it in the precedent post.

I hope it works now. :wink:
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1319
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

Re: [HOW TO] Scanning with porteus

Post#29 by Rava » 06 Jul 2014, 16:53

Even with a # it's the same...

Might it be it's (unknown) bug of Pale Moon? Since I switched on all my Porteus versions from most recent Firefox to most recent Pale Moon... :P
See also here: viewtopic.php?f=53&t=3629
Cheers!
Yours Rava

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4937
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: [HOW TO] Scanning with porteus

Post#30 by francois » 08 Jul 2014, 16:20

Hello rava, one or two days ago I have sent you a private message thru email offering you to send the modules thru email attachment. Did you receive it?

If not just send me a private message, I will send you the modules.
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

Post Reply