Pulling the power cord?

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
Post Reply
sven
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 8
Joined: 09 Jun 2012, 20:09
Location: Stockholm

Pulling the power cord?

Post#1 by sven » 09 Jun 2012, 20:17

Hi all,

if I run in fresh mode, will the computer start like normal if I pull the power cord?
I need to make a few boxes that must handle that the power is going the hard way, and I assume that the OS will handle that if running in Fresh Mode. Is my assumption correct?

/S

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4548
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Pulling the power cord?

Post#2 by fanthom » 09 Jun 2012, 21:08

yes - 'Always Fresh' stores all changes in RAM so should be ok if apps does not write anything on /mnt/sdXY.

if you want to be 100% sure then always boot with 'copy2ram nohd from_dev=' cheatcodes (if you boot from CD then 'copy2ram nohd' is enough).

Cheers
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

sven
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 8
Joined: 09 Jun 2012, 20:09
Location: Stockholm

Re: Pulling the power cord?

Post#3 by sven » 09 Jun 2012, 21:36

Great, then I'm on right track. Thanks for the info!
They will boot up with a USB, be used for music, video and social stuff. But the power can be pulled anytime.
No need for saved preferences so this will be perfect.

Post Reply