[SOLVED]looks good but what about keyboard layout?

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
Post Reply
tosal
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 12
Joined: 25 May 2012, 14:41
Location: italy

[SOLVED]looks good but what about keyboard layout?

Post#1 by tosal » 25 May 2012, 16:35

Hi, i've already installed porteus on my old notebook and i'm glad it works fine and it looks damn good as well.
I need to fix the keyboard in the ITALIAN layout, how to do it?
It seems avaiable only USA DE RU :shock:
Please tell me the way to fix it
Last edited by tosal on 26 May 2012, 13:42, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5504
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: looks good but what about keyboard layout?

Post#2 by brokenman » 26 May 2012, 00:26

Please state which version of Porteus are you using and for what architecture (i486 or x86_64).

In any case you should first try using the Porteus language tool if you are using Porteus v1.1. If you are using the rc2 version the language tool won't be working until the final, but we can supply the required files for you.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4592
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: looks good but what about keyboard layout?

Post#3 by fanthom » 26 May 2012, 00:42

hi tosal,

if you care only about keyboard layout and not language packs then you can also use 'kmap=it' cheatcode (introduced in Porteus-1.1)
please read /boot/docs/cheatcodes.txt to find out about other useful cheats.

Cheers
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

tosal
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 12
Joined: 25 May 2012, 14:41
Location: italy

Re: looks good but what about keyboard layout?

Post#4 by tosal » 26 May 2012, 13:41

Thank you, you all are very kind.
Porteus is version 1.1 and run in an i486 pc.
Really thanks brokenman about your willing to help me.
Thanks Phantom, by the way great cheatscode docs it will be very usable. I resolved as you suggested, i put kmap=it in /boot/porteus.conf on the lxde startup command line.
It works fine, i hope it will not going to crash xorg.
:good:

Post Reply