[SOLVED]Bridge Incoming WiFi connections ?

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
Post Reply
crouseman
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 7
Joined: 08 Apr 2012, 08:39
Location: Florida

[SOLVED]Bridge Incoming WiFi connections ?

Post#1 by crouseman » 13 Apr 2012, 11:44

Is there any way to bridge an incoming wifi single from this laptop to my xbox ? I have seen this done on ubuntu and a few other linux based systems. This would save me a buttload of cash if it works.
Last edited by crouseman on 17 Apr 2012, 15:51, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Bridge Incoming WiFi connections ?

Post#2 by fanthom » 15 Apr 2012, 17:49

i hope you are aware that you will need 2 NIC's for bridging purpose?
do you have 2 wifi cards or going to use wifi->ethernet to connect with xbox?

Anyway - please follow this HOWTO:
http://www.m0rd0r.eu/?p=395
(use slack-13.37 packages instead of -current)
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

crouseman
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 7
Joined: 08 Apr 2012, 08:39
Location: Florida

Re: Bridge Incoming WiFi connections ?

Post#3 by crouseman » 16 Apr 2012, 02:52

I was under the impression that I could somehow activate ICS(internet connection sharing) and bridge the incoming wifi signal to my xbox through an ethernet cable but my problem is that with WCID, I can only find this option when creating a new ADHOC connection. I cannot find an option to apply this setting to the already active incoming connection.

Posted after 15 minutes 18 seconds:
After reading that tutorial, I just don not believe that portues has the ability to do this without having a hard time or having to download more software. Windows can do this with a simple "check box" along with ubuntu and MANY other linux based systems I have tested so far. Porteus may have the ability to do this but it will NOT be easy for someone like myself who is new. If anyone can give me a tutorial written in english and not in "techno talk" I think I will be able to do this, lol. Other wise.... I just have no idea what people are talking about.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Bridge Incoming WiFi connections ?

Post#4 by fanthom » 16 Apr 2012, 15:00

I just don not believe that portues has the ability to do this without having a hard time or having to download more software.
we can use iptables+NAT instead of bridge-utils - check below.
Windows can do this with a simple "check box" along with ubuntu and MANY other linux based systems I have tested so far.
our main goal is to stay under 300MB thus we cant afford many extra utilities in the ISO.

to the point:
a) save this scripts as "connection-sharing"

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash
# Shares internet from wlan0 through eth0
case "$1" in
    start)
ifconfig eth0 up
ifconfig eth0 192.168.10.1
iptables --table nat --append POSTROUTING --out-interface wlan0 -j MASQUERADE
echo 1 > /proc/sys/net/ipv4/ip_forward
echo "set other computers in the range of"
echo "192.168.10.0 255.255.255.0"
echo "gateway 192.168.10.1"
echo "dns 8.8.8.8"
;;
    stop)
echo 0 > /proc/sys/net/ipv4/ip_forward
ifconfig eth0 down
iptables --table nat --delete POSTROUTING --out-interface wlan0 -j MASQUERADE
;;
    *)
echo "usage: $0 {start|stop}"
;;
esac
b) make it executable

Code: Select all

chmod +x connection-sharing
c) run in terminal

Code: Select all

connection-sharing start
d) set your xbox IP to static as in this HOWTO:
http://portforward.com/networking/staticip-xbox360.htm

details:
IP: 192.168.10.20
GATEWAY: 192.168.10.1
DNS: 8.8.8.8

should work now :)

btw: run "connection-sharing stop" to stop this service. if you want autostart then add 4 lines to /etc/rc.d/rc.local

Code: Select all

ifconfig eth0 up
ifconfig eth0 192.168.10.1
iptables --table nat --append POSTROUTING --out-interface wlan0 -j MASQUERADE
echo 1 > /proc/sys/net/ipv4/ip_forward
EDIT:\\
tested on following configuration:
router->wifi->laptop->ethernet->PC
and works like a charm :)
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

crouseman
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 7
Joined: 08 Apr 2012, 08:39
Location: Florida

Re: [SOLVED]Bridge Incoming WiFi connections ?

Post#5 by crouseman » 17 Apr 2012, 15:55

I now understand why this isn't something can just be done with a "click", I have resolved the problem anyways.
Thanks though ! I do have a few ideas for a nice mix up of porteus.
I will post it in the appropriate place.

P.S.
I know I had a few typos in my original post, I have banana fingers and a little keyboard,lol.

Post Reply