Porteus can use Salix repo but how do they differ?

Non release banter
newbody
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 54
Joined: 19 May 2011, 14:40
Location: Sweden

Porteus can use Salix repo but how do they differ?

Post#1 by newbody » 17 Mar 2012, 14:56

Guys hope you can be patient with a total absolute nobby type of user.
I am hopeless with anything logic or requiring reading skills.

I have several Porteus that works well. So very satisfied
but got curious on other Slax or Slackware derivatives so
tested to boot Salix when I read about it on DistroWatch.

Code: Select all

title Porteus 1.2RC  w/changes
root (hd0,1)
kernel (hd0,1)/porteusboot/vmlinuz from_dir=porteus/ ramsize=60% root=/dev/ram0 rw fsck lxde kmap=se changes=/mnt/sda2/porteus12rc.dat copy2ram toroot nocd noeject noswap
initrd (hd0,1)/porteusboot/initrd.xz
boot

title salix using salixlive-xfce-13.37-32.iso username=root passwd=live
root (hd0,1)
kernel /salixboot/vmlinuz rw toroot root=/dev/ram0 from_dev=/dev/sda2 from_dir=/salixlive fsck vga=791 autologin changes=salixlive.save noautologin
initrd /salixboot/initrd.xz 
boot
Salix boots fine and works good too. Both being Slackware and Slax? or Salix maybe only Slackware???

So as a noob one get interested. What is different about these two. Apart from the joy of having choice?
Have you guys also tried that one out too and prefer Porteus still? What is better with Porteus then?
Apart from being loyal to something one started with?

Posted after 1 day 1 hour 49 minutes 47 seconds:
Now I know one big difference???
Porteus can be booted into root? Correct me if I am wrong about that?
Salix forbit that to happen? They say so very explicitly on their forum.

http://www.salixos.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=16&t=3301
You're not allowed to enter a graphical environment using the root account. There is no reason for you to do that and you shouldn't do that. Period.
...
It's something that has to be avoided completely and that should be common knowledge.


But maybe I am a poor reader and tester of Proteus. You guys maybe are very anti root too?
Just me curious not trying to argue or something. Just want to know if I can start up xfce
if I am root and how one call it up?
example of "stanza" would be cool to have. How does one boot into root getting desktop in xfce?

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1847
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: Porteus can use Salix repo but how do they differ?

Post#2 by Hamza » 17 Mar 2012, 16:21

Use xfce and toroot cheatcodes.
NjVFQzY2Rg==

User avatar
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Posts: 1331
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
Location: USA

Re: Porteus can use Salix repo but how do they differ?

Post#3 by Ahau » 17 Mar 2012, 18:25

Hi newbody,

Hamza is correct. If you have the porteus-xfce ISO installed, you only need to use 'toroot' to log in as root. We are not "anti-root". The 'xfce' cheatcode is also required instead of 'lxde' as you have in your example.

I have not used salix live, so am not familiar with all differences.

Salix live xfce is about 3 times larger than the Porteus-xfce ISO.
Salix must have more packages installed.
Porteus probably boots up faster (please time them and let us know).
Porteus probably has more tools to run in live mode and frugal install.

Specific to XFCE:
Salix runs version 4.6
Porteus runs the latest version 4.8
Porteus has many fewer dependencies built in: no gnome-keyring, no gstreamer, and many others

Feel free to use whichever you like, that is the freedom of Linux. If you come across more differences, feel free to let us know.
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

newbody
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 54
Joined: 19 May 2011, 14:40
Location: Sweden

Re: Porteus can use Salix repo but how do they differ?

Post#4 by newbody » 17 Mar 2012, 19:32

Thanks to both of you. Shal I time them? Naah I have given up on Salix.
I am a root person and not a sudo person. Sure would be cool if I could
understand such cool things the real Linux people do but I am not on their level.

Yes maybe I misunderstood which iso I did download. I have had many Porteus
and maybe have messed up? I try to look. I looked at vmlinux and it says 3 Aug 2011.
That is the version I use now. xfce worked good. I changed the boot code.
Thanks for telling me. You guys gave really been generous helping me out.

When I look at the isos that I have in the linux.isos dir then none of them have
that date in the vmlinux that says 3 Aug 2011. the oldest is from june july something
and then all of the otehr are from 2012. So not sure what did happen there.

I guess I can look in system and hardware something then it says which version?
Booting from hitting enter after select of Porteus booted to a desktop maybe
some 38 secs or faster. I still have not managed to get 1024 x 768 it is still
800 x600 which is too big.

Now which version do I use? oops that went too fast. stored in what?
porteus system info ah found it. Platform: i686 Kernel: 3.1.8-porteus

but where does it say which version? I seems to have thought at first boot
when I created the save file that it is this /mnt/sda2/porteus12rc.dat

But when I look into that iso it has another date on the vmlinuz file.
is that not odd? I reboot into puppy again I am more used to that one
and have all the bookmarks in that browser.

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1847
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: Porteus can use Salix repo but how do they differ?

Post#5 by Hamza » 17 Mar 2012, 20:55

I am a root person and not a sudo person. Sure would be cool if I could
understand such cool things the real Linux people do but I am not on their level.
You are not alone :oops:
NjVFQzY2Rg==

newbody
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 54
Joined: 19 May 2011, 14:40
Location: Sweden

Re: Porteus can use Salix repo but how do they differ?

Post#6 by newbody » 17 Mar 2012, 21:32

Porteus users and Devs/Admins at forum share something
with a few other people that has chosen to build Slax variations.

Nimblex allow that one are root. Maybe CDLinux too? Parted Magic?
It is surprising that Slackware don't like it. Could it have started with
the first Dev that created Slax? And he set the trend sort of.

Back almost on topic. So when I look at the vmlinuz at my porteus directory
then it looks like it where created around August 2011. But when I look at
the isos that I have on the HD then one is way older from july and all the rest
is from 2012. January to March? Could it be some kind of pre beta an alpha whatever
them get named. RC1 instead of RC2 or something. But August 2011 is that not very early.

I remember vaguely I had problem with the latest iso. So I got back to older versions
until it worked. But I have forgotten all about it.

How do I ask in terminal to know what I ahve? Ooops late I am going to bed now :)

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1847
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: Porteus can use Salix repo but how do they differ?

Post#7 by Hamza » 17 Mar 2012, 21:44

newbody wrote:So when I look at the vmlinuz at my porteus directory then it looks like it where created around August 2011.
This is normal as it is the date at when mksquahfs made the final file (*.xzm)
newbody wrote:How do I ask in terminal to know what I have?
Please use whoami command to know which current user you're running.
NjVFQzY2Rg==

newbody
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 54
Joined: 19 May 2011, 14:40
Location: Sweden

Re: Porteus can use Salix repo but how do they differ?

Post#8 by newbody » 18 Mar 2012, 08:23

Hamza, my confusing English misleads you.
I know that I am root which whoami do confirm.
I want to know which version of Porteus I use.

I planned to use 1.2 but something went wrong
and I went back to an older version. Maybe RC 1 or something.

How do I ask this or look in some file for that info? I had hope
the dates on files would tell. Maybe some log make a note on it?

No big deal at all. Just me curious. I have four iso on the HD
so would be cool to know which one I use. :)

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1847
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: Porteus can use Salix repo but how do they differ?

Post#9 by Hamza » 18 Mar 2012, 09:24

Use this command:

Code: Select all

cat /etc/porteus-version
NjVFQzY2Rg==

newbody
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 54
Joined: 19 May 2011, 14:40
Location: Sweden

Re: Porteus can use Salix repo but how do they differ?

Post#10 by newbody » 18 Mar 2012, 10:08

I test it ASAP :) thanks Edit Yes that did work well.
root@porteus:~# cat /etc/porteus-version
Porteus-v1.2

So I am using Porteus-v1.2 with a vmlinuz from way back in Aug 2011.

Now I only have to change the screen resolution from 800 x 600 to
1024 x 768 not sure why it fail to remember that one. I make the change
using menu > Preferences > Monitor settings
but then I get confused about the apply and save. In which order to use them?
I reboot now to see if it does remember the changed setting. having used both of them
Apply first and then Save.

oops should test if I have Adobe Flash Player too first before reboot. Jay works too.
rebooting
Last edited by newbody on 18 Mar 2012, 10:33, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1847
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: Porteus can use Salix repo but how do they differ?

Post#11 by Hamza » 18 Mar 2012, 10:37

Sorry, but I don't understand correctly what you meant.
Now I only have to change the screen resolution from 800 x 600 to
1024 x 768 not sure why it fail to remember that one. I make the change
using menu > Preferences > Monitor settings
but then I get confused about the apply and save. In which order to use them?
I reboot now to see if it does remember the changed setting. having used both of them
Apply first and then Save.
Please respect forum's rules.
11. Keep on topic - If you are replying about something to do with iptables for example, and someone mentions a configuration tool that runs in KDE, don't start talking about KDE--stick to the topic. Go start a new topic and post a link to the old one if there is relevant information there.
NjVFQzY2Rg==

newbody
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 54
Joined: 19 May 2011, 14:40
Location: Sweden

Re: Porteus can use Salix repo but how do they differ?

Post#12 by newbody » 18 Mar 2012, 10:46

Edit out off topic to follow the rules Thanks for all help
oops I am so sorry.
Yes I will follow the rules. Thanks
Last edited by newbody on 18 Mar 2012, 10:47, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1847
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: Porteus can use Salix repo but how do they differ?

Post#13 by Hamza » 18 Mar 2012, 10:47

But Knoppix using Debian
repo is a must to have and they are the only debian that can be used for us who use frugal boot.
Simple. Use Porteus Package Manager

Please respect this rule.
fanthom wrote:11. Keep on topic - If you are replying about something to do with iptables for example, and someone mentions a configuration tool that runs in KDE, don't start talking about KDE--stick to the topic. Go start a new topic and post a link to the old one if there is relevant information there.
NjVFQzY2Rg==

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4566
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus can use Salix repo but how do they differ?

Post#14 by fanthom » 18 Mar 2012, 22:14

main difference:
- Salix is intended to be installed on hard drive (just like normal Slackware) while main goal for Porteus is to become a "Live" distro.

I'm not surprised Salix guys does not allow root logins due to security reasons.
we can afford root logins as Porteus has 'Always Fresh' mode which corrects all user mistakes.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

newbody
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 54
Joined: 19 May 2011, 14:40
Location: Sweden

Re: Porteus can use Salix repo but how do they differ?

Post#15 by newbody » 18 Mar 2012, 22:51

fanthom that is a likely answer seen from a Porteus point of view.
Unless you know their reasoning from personal correspondence
or you have read them express it that way. But the way they
answered me in their forum I rather get the impression they
would not like anybody being able to be root ever.

Or else they would tell me that I could make Salix behave like Porteus
or they would link to porteus saying that use this OS instead.

But you know more than me I only felt incredibly sad being turned down the way it happened.
I am not a very strong person when it comes to such.

I should not be active even in your friendly environ I am too sensitive to criticism.
I fail to be on topic due to my severe ADHD. I always go off topic in every post.
Not much I can do about it apart from not participating at all.

So I send my best wishes to you guys and will only log in if something goes wrong
with my porteus and look forward to any new version you tell about through DW.
Thanks for caring about me.

Post Reply