Install to Internal hard drive via "Porteus Install" NTLDR?

Here you can post about non-standard installation methods
(for example when using grub4dos).
Post Reply
mattcintosh
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 5
Joined: 07 Mar 2012, 14:57
Location: Wisconsin

Install to Internal hard drive via "Porteus Install" NTLDR?

Post#1 by mattcintosh » 07 Mar 2012, 15:03

I have a blank internal hard drive formatted with NTFS. I booted from the Porteus CD and used the "Porteus Install" program. I checked the bootloader box. Process completes and tells me I can reboot. I take out the CD and reboot. Error line shows "NTLDR missing, press CTRL + ALT + DEL to reboot"


I'm clueless on how to use LILO/GRUB/ETC... is there just a file I can put on the drive that will act as a bootloader. The drive is sda1.

Thanks

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1847
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: Install to Internal hard drive via "Porteus Install" NTL

Post#2 by Hamza » 07 Mar 2012, 18:39

Porteus Install should works only with ext4 or a linux filesystem.
fanthom wrote:This information is not correct
Last edited by Hamza on 07 Mar 2012, 19:26, edited 1 time in total.
NjVFQzY2Rg==

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4567
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Install to Internal hard drive via "Porteus Install" NTL

Post#3 by fanthom » 07 Mar 2012, 19:23

@Hamza
providing wrong information is sometimes worse than providing no information.

@mattcintosh
this is a bug in 'Porteus Installer' which is using wrong variable for creating /boot/lilo.conf
(brokenman - please replace $MYMNT with $mntpnt in pinstaller script)
please open terminal, navigate to /mnt/sdXY, delete old lilo.conf, run 'lin_start_here.sh' script and follow the wizard.
you are using ntfs so you have to stick to LILO bootloader (no graphical interface - text only).
make sure your BIOS is set to boot from the hd with Porteus and not any other.

should work.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

mattcintosh
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 5
Joined: 07 Mar 2012, 14:57
Location: Wisconsin

Re: Install to Internal hard drive via "Porteus Install" NTL

Post#4 by mattcintosh » 07 Mar 2012, 21:46

YES!!! It worked, only took a minute and it booted right up...I'll have to figure out the container thing later.

*****THANKS!!!!*****

After saying and thinking FSCK FSCK for hours, it only took a minute to fix. :wall:

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5461
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Install to Internal hard drive via "Porteus Install" NTL

Post#5 by brokenman » 08 Mar 2012, 00:30

Thanks guys. Will path this up.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

mattcintosh
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 5
Joined: 07 Mar 2012, 14:57
Location: Wisconsin

Re: Install to Internal hard drive via "Porteus Install" NTL

Post#6 by mattcintosh » 13 Jul 2012, 01:00

I just downloaded version 1.2. Same issue. Please fix, thanks!!!

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4567
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Install to Internal hard drive via "Porteus Install" NTL

Post#7 by fanthom » 13 Jul 2012, 10:14

@mattcintosh
this is definitely fixed now (tested and works ok). fixed also 2 other things:
- MBR backup
- cheatcodes in lilo.conf are updated according to /boot/porteus.cfg from Porteus-1.2

will push new pinstaller to the /updates folder on the server so it will be available to download through PSC.

Thanks a lot.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5461
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Install to Internal hard drive via "Porteus Install" NTL

Post#8 by brokenman » 13 Jul 2012, 13:04

Thanks fanthom.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

mattcintosh
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 5
Joined: 07 Mar 2012, 14:57
Location: Wisconsin

Re: Install to Internal hard drive via "Porteus Install" NTL

Post#9 by mattcintosh » 16 Jul 2012, 04:01

Thanks, that solves that problem, but I have another one that has been broken since version 1.2 (the old version worked fine).

Everytime I boot, I get the "no save file, always fresh?" When I have created one, set up where to find it and it never works.

I'm running KDE on a NTFS disk, and it worked fine in an older version of Porteus. Can anyone help with this?

Thanks

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4567
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Install to Internal hard drive via "Porteus Install" NTL

Post#10 by fanthom » 16 Jul 2012, 18:53

@mattcintosh
im sorry to say that but this is a major screw up from the dev team :oops:
in our defense i can say that booting from ntfs/xfs and reiserfs is rather rare as majority of users and us prefer fat32 and ext* family.

to the point:
all porteus tools (pinstaller, PSC, and save.dat manager) always edits /boot/porteus.cfg which is used by extlinux and isolinux on iso9660/FAT*/ext* and never edits /boot/lilo.conf which is used by lilo on ntfs/xfs/reiserfs....

this bug will be hard to fix as editing of lilo.conf is not enough and installation must be repeated (lilo is less flexible than extlinux and requires reloading after each update of the lilo.conf)

second thing:
pinstaller for xfce edition will still create lilo menu for standard edition (kde/lxde).
Ahau please remember to patch pinstaller and /boot/syslinux/liloinst.sh with XFCE menu entries.

how to fix:
edit /boot/lilo.conf manually and run /boot/lin_start_here.sh so lilo will be able to pick up all the changes made to lilo.conf

this bug will probably be fixed in next release as "updates" mechanism wont cover /boot folder.

thanks for reporting.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Post Reply