What is you computer model, does it work with the OS

Here you can post about your various experiences with PC hardware. You can also post about hardware that is not compatible with the linux kernel or not recommended for use with Porteus.
User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4902
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

What is you computer model, does it work with the OS

Post#1 by francois » 03 Jan 2011, 00:30

This thread is about the computers on which you run this distribution. It would be good that you identify:
1) you box,
2) the specific OS that you use 32bit or 64bit
3) the wifi card and the graphic card that you have,
4) a link to the overall specs of the box
5) the use that you make of the OS in terms of hardware or software (optional, but interesting)

I have different boxes at home, all of them laptops. I am to describe them one at a time.

1) ultraslim MSI 340X.
2) remix09 32bit
3) Graphic card and wifi card as provided by lspci are:
root@slax:~# lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset Memory Controller
Hub (rev 07)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset Int
egrated Graphics Controller (rev 07)
...
...
03:00.0 Network controller: Intel Corporation Wireless WiFi Link 5100
root@slax:~#
4) Specifications can be found in the following link:
http://www.msimobile.com/level3_product ... d=4&id=168


Everything works fine with remix09. I am able to function dual display with a benq G220HD as stand alone display at the side. I use a small xrandr script to get into dual display mode. Otherwise, by itself remix will recognize the external display. It has to be set to the right resolution thru krandr.

The wifi is recognized by fanthom network setup tool. I work with wpa2 security at home and at work were security is enforced with the use of registered mac address. Almost all my needs are met since Remix09 for this computer.

This laptop also works fine on kubuntu (debian) and on salix and zenlive (slackware based).

Edited as of 2011-01-08, Montréal.
Last edited by francois on 09 Jan 2011, 06:09, edited 4 times in total.
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: What is you computer model, does it work with the OS

Post#2 by fanthom » 03 Jan 2011, 04:35

Thanks for this nice recommendation :)

could you post the wifi model of your PC at work? (maybe some driver or firmware is missing?)
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4902
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: What is you computer model, does it work with the OS

Post#3 by francois » 03 Jan 2011, 12:03

This is the one : ultraslim MSI 340X, the card is Wireless WiFi Link 5100. It works at home wpa2 but not at work wpa2. As I wrote, the only difference being that the laptop is registered with the wifi mac address on the server.
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: What is you computer model, does it work with the OS

Post#4 by fanthom » 03 Jan 2011, 18:14

sorry i thought you have 2 different models :)

is your network at work secured with a mac filtering? If yes then you can use sns-tool to bypass this - just need to know a valid MAC address.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5436
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: What is you computer model, does it work with the OS

Post#5 by brokenman » 03 Jan 2011, 18:48

I have a pavillion DV6 3135TX.

When i try to boot Slax 6.12 it hangs at UDEV and the quad core processor gets hotter and hotter, the fan gets faster and faster and it won't boot. The remix works great.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Posts: 1331
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
Location: USA

Re: What is you computer model, does it work with the OS

Post#6 by Ahau » 04 Jan 2011, 15:31

Here's my laptop. I'll get my desktop some other time, I don't use it with Porteus very often.

You'll all be proud to know that your resident noob was able to redirect the output of lspci into a text file, without looking up how to do it (I HAZ MAD LINUX SKILLZ!)

00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile PM965/GM965/GL960 Memory Controller Hub (rev 0c)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation Quadro NVS 140M (rev a1)
03:01.0 CardBus bridge: O2 Micro, Inc. Cardbus bridge (rev 21)
03:01.4 FireWire (IEEE 1394): O2 Micro, Inc. Firewire (IEEE 1394) (rev 02)
09:00.0 Ethernet controller: Broadcom Corporation NetXtreme BCM5755M Gigabit Ethernet PCI Express (rev 02)
0c:00.0 Network controller: Intel Corporation PRO/Wireless 3945ABG [Golan] Network Connection (rev 02)
Everything not listed above is: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family)

Everything works out of the box with Porteus v09 and fanthom's sns-tool for the wifi (though i've not tested the ethernet or firewire). nouveau driver seems to work with this nVidia card, but it wouldn't run out of the box with the nVidia card on my desktop (I think it's a GeForce, somewhere in the 6 series). Will comment on that one later, if I ever need to tackle it.
Last edited by Ahau on 05 Jan 2011, 16:28, edited 1 time in total.
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4902
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: What is you computer model, does it work with the OS

Post#7 by francois » 09 Jan 2011, 05:46

The second box is a laptop too.

1) hp pavilion 2713ca
2) remix09 32bit
3) Graphic card and wifi card as provided by lspci are:
root@slax:~# lspci
...
00:12.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation C67 [GeForce 7150M / nForce 630M] (rev a2)
...
...
04:00.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4328 802.11a/b/g/n (rev 03)
root@slax:~#
4) Specifications can be found in the following link:
http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/docu ... ct=3650146

Everything works more than fine with remix09. It is the first time that I get as much satisfaction from out that box, that came with the first version of windows vista (a real nightmare to install, it took overnite). However, I should recognized that the first time I was able to run any linux os was with remix09.

I am able to function dual display with a benq G220HD as stand alone display at the side with remix09. I this case I have installed the nvidia lzm module provieded by beny. It will recognize the external display with the nvidia server settings program. However, you have to blacklist nvidia and nouveau driver to get it work, see citation in following thread:
faq.php?sid=4adaba6866066aed4fc974312a39c3f0
jcas1411 wrote:
Seemed to get my nvidia geforce 450 and geforce 9700GT cards working, added the closed source binary drivers and blacklisted nvidia and nouveau

francois.e:
I can confirm that this procedure worked for me, for a nvidia geforce 7 serie graphic card, with beny's nvidia_x86.260.19.29 module:
http://www.slax.org/forum.php?action=vi ... ntID=70793

The wifi is recognized by fanthom network setup tool. I work with wpa2 security at home and at work were security is enforced with the use of registered mac address. The wifi card is not an easy one, it was the reason for many headaches. However with remix09, the solution was easy as shown in the citation from the following thread:
http://www.slax.org/forum.php?action=vi ... ostid71309
francois.e:
I knew that linux sta for bcm was on the distribution. I finally understood that to use the bcm43xx (for me 4328), all I had to do was to blaclist ssb and b43, as proposed in:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Broadcom_BCM43XX

The only trouble that I have with that box is the fact that it gets hot within an hour or two. I went recently to a used computer shop. The ninety canadian dollars required to clean the box was not quite worth the residual value of the machine. I would like to clean it up myself, but I was not able to do so. Maybe I forgot to remove a few of the screws.

Ubuntu works also quite fine on that box, I have tried it quite recently, but I might turn to mint that seems even more performing. But maybe not as sharp as remix09. The issue of the BCM wifi driver is not settled with Salix os another slackware based distribution.

The third box is a laptop too: hp1540ca. It works too. The specifications are:
http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/docu ... ct=1838153
Last edited by francois on 30 Jul 2014, 09:49, edited 4 times in total.
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
X-Factor
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 88
Joined: 29 Dec 2010, 23:19
Location: bali, indonesia

Re: What is you computer model, does it work with the OS

Post#8 by X-Factor » 09 Jan 2011, 07:04

This is a bit embarrassing but here goes.

Generic PIV using SIS chipset
1.5 Gb ram
40 Gb HDD
1 USB stick modem with optional storage data.
1 1 GB USB stick bootable V9 remix ( 4 GB usb stick boot via G4D )

All of this i inheret from my uncle.

Up untill now i have problem try to make bootable USB stick (4 Gb or higher) so i concluded my hardware =@
That is why i'm interested with USB Dongle that able to go to the net boot porteus and save data in it. :)
Did i forgot to mention it save electricity consumption?
I've been confine to my quarter
http://img143.imageshack.us/i/medusathing.jpg/

oithona
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 3
Joined: 08 Jan 2011, 23:04
Location: Uk

Re: What is you computer model, does it work with the OS

Post#9 by oithona » 09 Jan 2011, 22:54

Hello everyone - nice job on the remix - I'm using Slax-Remix v0.9 32-bit

Works beautifully on my Acer Aspire One A110 from USB install - one of the best I've seen on this hardware.

Just completed a frugal install on my desktop system booted from pre-existing GRUB 0.97 and using changes=/dev/sdXY cheatcode. All seems to work very well right now.

Brief hardware description:

Homebuilt system using Asus P5KPL-VM motherboard
Intel E4600 dual core " 2.4GHz
2GB 800MHz RAM
NVidia GeForce 7300
Broadcom BCM4306 Wireless chipset.

The latter took a little figuring out but now working fine.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5436
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: What is you computer model, does it work with the OS

Post#10 by brokenman » 13 Jan 2011, 06:07

HP Pavillion dv6 3135TX

Linux porteus 2.6.37-porteus
64bit Intel(R) Core(TM) i5 CPU (quad core) @ 2.53GHz

Everything runs very nice on Porteus 32 bit (and 64bit) apart from the sound card.
Card: hda intel
Chip: IDT 92HD81B1X5

After a few shutdowns i get a udev error on boot and it times out after 122 seconds then continues booting. I can still go into kmix and raise levels on gain and phoneout which gives me sound. The nosound cheatcode gives me a clean boot.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: What is you computer model, does it work with the OS

Post#11 by fanthom » 13 Jan 2011, 11:04

@brokenman
does 'always fresh' mode work (maybe there is something wrong with your saved settings/changes)
i'm wonder if full re-installation could fix it.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4902
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: What is you computer model, does it work with the OS

Post#12 by francois » 24 Jan 2011, 21:24

Just tried porteus v09 64 bit installation with falcony's grubinstall on a ultraslim laptop Acer 3820TG 3022. This is a great experience, wifi wpa2 worked out of the box (wicd) without any other adjustment. Ubuntu and the like should hand firmly to their pants! :lol:

A more detailed report will be going under this post later, especially pertaining to the graphic card and to dual screen settings.
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5436
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: What is you computer model, does it work with the OS

Post#13 by brokenman » 26 Jan 2011, 20:19

does 'always fresh' mode work
On further investigation i'm not so sure it is a sound problem. Fresh mode is the same. Something to do with this laptop hardware. All versions running from HD have this error most times when booting, and usually stop at loading Xsession. I am forced to cold reboot by holding power button down. It will start on 2nd or 3rd attempt. fsck the drive doesn't solve. Booting from USB (ext2) doesn't have the problem. I may reformat drive and start fresh.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4902
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: What is you computer model, does it work with the OS

Post#14 by francois » 28 Jul 2011, 22:53

It would be good to refresh the information for all our machines with porteus v 1.0.
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

humpty
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 3
Joined: 13 Aug 2011, 16:36
Location: HK

Re: What is you computer model, does it work with the OS

Post#15 by humpty » 13 Aug 2011, 17:05

1) eMachines (Acer) EM350 cheapo Netbook.
2) Porteus 1.0 32bit
3) Graphics: Intel GMA 3150 . LAN: AR8132. Wifi: BCM4313.
4) http://www.emachines.com/products/produ ... eM350-2074
5) too heavy for travel, so i just use it for batch encoding, distro testing and as a spare.

* WiFi note ! *
The b43 driver doesn't support broadcom 4313, so i had to follow these guides to make it work;
http://wireless.kernel.org/en/users/Drivers/b43
http://wireless.kernel.org/en/users/Drivers/brcm80211

Post Reply