nVidia Drivers

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1847
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: nVidia Drivers

Post#16 by Hamza » 29 Feb 2012, 21:09

Does your solution works with every DE ?
NjVFQzY2Rg==

edge226
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 98
Joined: 27 Feb 2012, 23:55
Location: Canada

[installed] nVidia Drivers

Post#17 by edge226 » 05 Mar 2012, 18:17

works in both KDE and LXDE. Have not installed any others to test.

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1847
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: nVidia Drivers

Post#18 by Hamza » 05 Mar 2012, 20:08

Please try to apply your tweak on Porteus-XFCE ISO and let us know if that worked for you :)

Thanks for sharing!
NjVFQzY2Rg==

User avatar
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Posts: 1331
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
Location: USA

Re: nVidia Drivers

Post#19 by Ahau » 06 Mar 2012, 01:22

I can confirm that it fixes this issue in XFCE.
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1847
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: nVidia Drivers

Post#20 by Hamza » 06 Mar 2012, 09:12

Let's apply this fix to rc2 :Yahoo!:
NjVFQzY2Rg==

User avatar
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Posts: 1331
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
Location: USA

Re: nVidia Drivers

Post#21 by Ahau » 06 Mar 2012, 12:58

I think fanthom beat you to it -- he's applied it to the 64-bit nVidia driver for rc1 already (working fine for me).
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1847
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: nVidia Drivers

Post#22 by Hamza » 06 Mar 2012, 13:07

So, it's only needed for rc2 32-bit Edition on both Desktop Edition (KDE|LXDE+XFCE)
NjVFQzY2Rg==

User avatar
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Posts: 1331
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
Location: USA

Re: nVidia Drivers

Post#23 by Ahau » 06 Mar 2012, 15:07

hadn't checked 32-bit yet. The fix is already present there in the 1.2rc1 driver as well :)
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4623
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: nVidia Drivers

Post#24 by fanthom » 06 Mar 2012, 21:19

all drivers were bumped (1.1 and 1.2 rc1) once i got confirmation that fix is working correctly.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

edge226
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 98
Joined: 27 Feb 2012, 23:55
Location: Canada

Re: nVidia Drivers

Post#25 by edge226 » 07 Mar 2012, 01:06

Hazma, Brokenman, Fanthom, Ahau

I just gotta say, You are some of the most timely and easy to get along with Dev's. I think there were two major reasons which kept me using Porteus (I usually distro hop to find something that is worth sticking with) 1) You guys rock and are easy to get along with. 2) Porteus is the best damn distribution I have ever used, or at least my vision of what it could be is perfection ;)

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1847
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: nVidia Drivers

Post#26 by Hamza » 07 Mar 2012, 09:13

The Porteus Team is happy to see you enjoyed the use of Porteus :)
NjVFQzY2Rg==

User avatar
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Posts: 1331
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
Location: USA

Re: nVidia Drivers

Post#27 by Ahau » 08 Mar 2012, 16:27

found an issue with the fix that was applied -- everything is fine if I boot as normal, but if I boot with autoexec=xconf, xconf will overwrite /etc/X11/xorg.conf without the UseEdidDPI and DPI lines, so the font goes back to being too large. Just had to copy those lines and put the modified xorg.conf in my rootcopy (and not run xconf again) to fix. I'm guessing this would take modifications to xconf to resolve...
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

Post Reply