VirtualBox VNC

New features which should be implemented in Porteus; suggestions are welcome. All questions or problems with testing releases (alpha, beta, or rc) should go in their relevant thread here, rather than the Bug Reports section.
Post Reply
Kartweel
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 18
Joined: 23 Feb 2012, 15:56
Location: Australia

VirtualBox VNC

Post#1 by Kartweel » 23 Feb 2012, 16:06

Hi,

Just a question about the VirtualBox 4.1.8 package. Is that built from source? Or is it the binary package from Oracle? Just wondering because I wanted to try VNC support, but it needs to be compiled in. And building virtualbox from source doesn't look like a fun task :/. So I thought if someone has already done it, could they build it again with the VNC flag? :) Otherwise I'll give it a go.

Thanks!

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4617
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: VirtualBox VNC

Post#2 by fanthom » 23 Feb 2012, 17:36

Welcome on board Kartweel,

Virtualbox module is created from precompiled binaries provided on Oracle site.
i think you are referring to RDP protocol and not VNC, if this is the case then please download and install VirtualBox Extension Pack:
http://download.virtualbox.org/virtualb ... ox-extpack
which contains "Support for USB 2.0 devices, VirtualBox RDP and PXE boot for Intel cards."

Extension pack is not licensed with GPL so is not included by default in the module.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Kartweel
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 18
Joined: 23 Feb 2012, 15:56
Location: Australia

Re: VirtualBox VNC

Post#3 by Kartweel » 24 Feb 2012, 01:23

Thanks!.

The community version (built from source) has VNC ability that you can compile in, so it all remains GPL'd. I'll have a go to try and build it on Porteus as soon as I get a chance.

I'm liking the Porteus experience very much. I'm using it to build a portable virtual server. The ability to add and remove the customisations (modules and rootcopy) make it really easy for building and testing (None of this oh I messed up and now need to rebuild the entire thing again and get it right this time). Then every reboot it will be in a fresh state (I'm storing config in another partition), so any issues with the OS and a reboot will make it as good as new... I get so sick of rebuilding server OS, and even restoring from backup is a pain, it never works right on different hardware, etc.

Thanks

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4617
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: VirtualBox VNC

Post#4 by fanthom » 24 Feb 2012, 07:03

you are right - i can see vnc flag on my gentoo box:

Code: Select all

app-emulation/virtualbox-4.1.4  USE="additions alsa opengl pam qt4 sdk -doc -extensions -headless -java -pulseaudio -python -vboxwebsrv -vnc"
not sure why it's not enabled by default in Oracle's version.

please share your module when ready.
thanks
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Kartweel
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 18
Joined: 23 Feb 2012, 15:56
Location: Australia

Re: VirtualBox VNC

Post#5 by Kartweel » 02 Mar 2012, 04:42

Hi,

I'm having a wee bit of trouble building it. It needs 32-bit support to compile.

I found the forum topic viewtopic.php?f=39&t=134 which has packages, but there is the notice

* * DON'T USE this module when *building* other modules with kernel stuff in it, like virtualbox, ndiswrapper or the nvidia driver;

Any pointers?

Maybe I should just build it in a slackware environment? make a tgz, then move it into porteus?

Thanks!

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4617
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: VirtualBox VNC

Post#6 by fanthom » 02 Mar 2012, 22:22

hello Kartweel,

not sure why ponce wrote that but i saw 64bit libs mixed with 32bit in his modules (even older glibc version than is in slack-13.37), so maybe that's the reason.
i have uploaded new module converted from slacky.eu and added missing libstdc symlink (bumped to -2ftm).
you should be able to compile kernel modules without any troubles when it's activated:
http://ponce.cc/porteus/x86_64/packages ... 4-2ftm.xzm
Maybe I should just build it in a slackware environment? make a tgz, then move it into porteus?
that's also a good idea.
just be aware that we are using updated qt, kdelibs, etc in porteus-1.1 comparing to slackware-13.37 so you may have to update stock slackware packages with alien bob KDE-4 first.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1847
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: VirtualBox VNC

Post#7 by Hamza » 02 Mar 2012, 22:26

Comment removed
* No "senseless" posts. Yes, this is subjective. As a subjective way to help understand the meaning of this rule, if a coherent conversation cannot be read in the thread, it might be senseless.
Last edited by Hamza on 02 Mar 2012, 22:42, edited 3 times in total.
NjVFQzY2Rg==

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4617
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: VirtualBox VNC

Post#8 by fanthom » 02 Mar 2012, 22:30

In other words, Porteus is more up-to-date than Slackware 8)
and?
please dont post comments which has nothing to do with thread subject.
this is against forum rules.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Kartweel
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 18
Joined: 23 Feb 2012, 15:56
Location: Australia

Re: VirtualBox VNC

Post#9 by Kartweel » 04 Mar 2012, 14:12

Hi,

I installed the compat32 libs, and also multilibs from here: http://connie.slackware.com/~alien/multilib/13.37/ (Which is probably where I messed it up!). Getting internet compiler error somewhere in the compilation and it bombs out.

kmk: *** [/tmp/SBo/VirtualBox-4.1.8_OSE/out/linux.amd64/release/obj/VBoxRemPrimary/target-i386/translate.o] Error 1

Looks like where it is compiling something to do with i386, so I've probably messed up the multilibs.


I think I might try doing it on stock slackware and bringing it across :).


Just for reference these are the build dependencies I've installed

porteus
-------
all base modules
package compat32

slackyd
-------
dev86
flex
bison
idl
curl
libcap

slackbuild
----------
acpica

http://connie.slackware.com/~alien/multilib/13.37/
--------------------------------------------------
gcc
g++
glibc
solibs
(I think these aren't compatible! hence my internal compiler error :( )


Thanks!

Posted after 52 minutes 8 seconds:
I'm just thinking, the kernel module will still need compiling on porteus, I won't be able to bring that across from slackware.. I don't think anyway??. How did you go compiling the kernel module with the oracle download?, did that work fine on porteus? Does it require the 32 bit libs?

Thanks

Posted after 8 hours 56 minutes 10 seconds:
Ok,

I've managed to build virtualbox-4.1.8 on slackware and bring it across to porteus. Then build the kernel module on porteus. So it has VNC support.

I'm not quite ready to share it yet. It is 2 separate modules (how can I combine them?), and it is 100MB (Need to find out what is bulking it up!) and it has permission issues (I need to chmod o-w /usr for it to work or it won't start any VMs) and the startup script isn't executable so the module requires manual loading... Once I've got those fixed, and make sure it actually works reliably then I'll share :).

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5574
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: VirtualBox VNC

Post#10 by brokenman » 05 Mar 2012, 00:28

Download the existing vbox module and unpack it to a folder ... do the same with yours. Then go through and du -sh /tmp/unpacked/*
which should show you where the bulk is. Probably in /lib/modules/`uname -r`/

You can merge modules using the porteus package manager ... under the tools section.

Or you can go:

Code: Select all

mkdir /tmp/merged
xzm2dir /path/to/first/module.xzm /tmp/merged
xzm2dir /path/to/second/module.xzm /tmp/merged
dir2xzm /tmp/merged /tmp/mymergedmodule.xzm
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

Kartweel
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 18
Joined: 23 Feb 2012, 15:56
Location: Australia

Re: VirtualBox VNC

Post#11 by Kartweel » 05 Mar 2012, 11:20

Hi,

Thanks for your help.

I've cut the module size right down and combined it, taken the init script from the porteus virtualbox module and made an addition to it to make /usr not world writable (I'm not sure, but this may be world writable because I have files in /usr in my rootcopy which is on a fat32 partition?)

Anyway... module is available here...

http://sulis.webcity.com.au/~ith49826/V ... 64-1kw.xzm

Post Reply