Porteus-v1.2-rc1 x86_64 is ready for testing!

New features which should be implemented in Porteus; suggestions are welcome. All questions or problems with testing releases (alpha, beta, or rc) should go in their relevant thread here, rather than the Bug Reports section.
User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Porteus-v1.2-rc1 x86_64 is ready for testing!

Post#1 by fanthom » 20 Feb 2012, 18:57

First rc of upcoming 64bit Porteus-1.2 is ready. Please give it a shot and report all bugs and suggestion which could improve users experience.
Detailed changelog about the release can be found in this thread:
http://porteus.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=44&t=1064

Download the ISO from here:
http://ponce.cc/porteus/x86_64/testing/Porteus-v1.2-rc1

ISO is slightly larger mainly due to upgraded 'qt' package to version 4.8.0 .
Just today i have decided to include broadcom-sta by default. All other broadcom drivers (b43, b43-legacy, bcma) are blacklisted by default. Let's hope this release gonna solve never-ending broadcom wifi failure saga.

'vga-detect' cheatcode is much improved in this release so please test it extensively. I have added "xorg guard" process which unloads proprietary GPU drivers in case when xorg doesn't start properly so you should always get into desktop despite of drivers being used.

@beny
Please prepare 3 nVidia drivers for this release:
- current
- 173.14.x
- 96.43.x
and i'll drop them to the repo when ready.

Have fun and dont hesitate to post in this thread.
Last edited by brokenman on 20 Feb 2012, 19:22, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Stuck it
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

fortix
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 5
Joined: 11 Dec 2011, 10:42
Location: Berlin

Re: Porteus-v1.2-rc1 x86_64 is ready for testing!

Post#2 by fortix » 20 Feb 2012, 23:27

Hi to all avid porteus programmers testers users alike
Beautiful, fast, responsive distro, the fastest on my laptop (techs: dual core @ p7450) to date. Copied,pre hand, a couple of files to porteus/base and sent the thing for a spin. This ROCKS 8)
LO_fast, krusader_fast, sound_very good, FF_ver.10-excellent -> kernel 3.2.6 8) giving the last boost out my system.
I as a user must bow down and must add for a RC1,WOW. What is still to come when Porteus-v1.2 finally is out?
Keep up this passion, and a :beer: from me ...

cchuang
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 33
Joined: 03 Jan 2011, 06:55
Location: Taiwan

wicd failed in Porteus 1.2rc

Post#3 by cchuang » 20 Feb 2012, 23:42

Hi,

Just test porteus-1.2rc1 and wicd does not work. This error message after execute "wicd" in shell is as follows:

File "/usr/share/wicd/daemon/wicd-daemon.py", line 60, in <module>
from wicd.misc import noneToBlankString, _status_dict
ImportError: cannot import name _static_dict

cch

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5436
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v1.2-rc1 x86_64 is ready for testing!

Post#4 by brokenman » 21 Feb 2012, 00:08

Thanks for the kind words ... what started out as a plaything (64bit porteus) for fanthom, he has turned into a solid usable platform. Kudos!! Keep up the great work fanthom!
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5436
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: wicd failed in Porteus 1.2rc

Post#5 by brokenman » 21 Feb 2012, 13:42

What is the output of: wicd-gtk

Wicd should already be started in the systray after boot. When you click it, is it populated with wireless networks or not?
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

cchuang
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 33
Joined: 03 Jan 2011, 06:55
Location: Taiwan

Re: wicd failed in Porteus 1.2rc

Post#6 by cchuang » 21 Feb 2012, 23:46

Sorry for my mistake.

This error is due to execute wrong python, 2.7.2 version I added, which is auto-loaded while startup and makes system confusing. wicd-gtk uses python-2.6.6 (come with porteus). Sorry.
Porteus-1.2rc was tested on my MacBook air 13 (i7 version); i915 and wifi work WELL now but the touchpad seemingly works a little sensible (at least it works well in 1.1 version), I will keep trying.

Thanks for all of you, Porteus developers!

cch

EDIT:\\
merged with rc1 thread
fanthom

Tonio
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 266
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 16:37
Distribution: Slackware,porteus,FreeBSD,Slax
Location: 127.0.0.1

Re: Porteus-v1.2-rc1 x86_64 is ready for testing!

Post#7 by Tonio » 26 Feb 2012, 18:36

Got this new version. Now I do get IP adress and working connection on bootup. This did not happen with the official Porteus v1.1 and rc candidates. Great Job guys :)
have not tested xfce version, but will consider it later. Sorry for being quiet. I have been busy at work :(

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1846
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: Porteus-v1.2-rc1 x86_64 is ready for testing!

Post#8 by Hamza » 28 Feb 2012, 09:40

Currently booting and it doesn't appear something is broken. So, everything is perfect !

We should begin to works to get a boot under 10 seconds 8)
NjVFQzY2Rg==

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1319
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

Porteus-XFCE-v1.2-rc1 and cdrecord bug

Post#9 by Rava » 20 Mar 2012, 23:11

Unable to write a CDROM with an internal BD/DVD/CD writer of an Asus notebook:

Code: Select all

root@porteus:/mnt/DL# l /dev/dvdwriter
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root 3 2012-03-20 23:44 /dev/dvdwriter -> sr0
root@porteus:/mnt/DL# l /dev/cdwriter
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root 3 2012-03-20 23:44 /dev/cdwriter -> sr0
root@porteus:/mnt/DL# l /dev/sr0
brw-rw---- 1 root 11, 0 2012-03-20 23:44 /dev/sr0
root@porteus:/media/Elements/backup# cdrecord --scanbus|grep -- 0,0
Linux sg driver version: 3.5.34
        0,0,0     0) 'ATA     ' 'WDC WD6400BEVT-2' '01.0' Disk
        1,0,0   100) 'ATA     ' 'WDC WD3200BEVT-2' '11.0' Disk
        5,0,0   500) 'Optiarc ' 'BD ROM BC-5500H ' '1.B0' Removable CD-ROM
        8,0,0   800) 'USB     ' 'Flash Disk      ' '2040' Removable Disk
        12,0,0  1200) '        ' 'USB DISK Pro    ' 'PMAP' Removable Disk
        13,0,0  1300) 'Lexar   ' 'USB Flash Drive ' '1100' Removable Disk
        14,0,0  1400) 'WD      ' 'Elements 1023   ' '2005' Disk
root@porteus:/mnt/DL# cdrecord speed=10 dev=5,0,0 gracetime=20 -tao -v KNOPPIX_V6.7.1CD-2011-09-14-DE.iso
Cdrecord-ProDVD-ProBD-Clone 3.01a02 (x86_64-unknown-linux-gnu) Copyright (C) 1995-2010 Joerg Schilling
TOC Type: 1 = CD-ROM
scsidev: '5,0,0'
scsibus: 5 target: 0 lun: 0
Linux sg driver version: 3.5.34
Using libscg version 'schily-0.9'.
SCSI buffer size: 64512
atapi: 1
Device type    : Removable CD-ROM
Version        : 5
Response Format: 2
Capabilities   : 
Vendor_info    : 'Optiarc '
Identifikation : 'BD ROM BC-5500H '
Revision       : '1.B0'
Device seems to be: Generic mmc2 DVD-R/DVD-RW/DVD-RAM.
cdrecord: Cannot load media with this drive!
cdrecord: Try to load media by hand.
Current: none
Profile: BD-ROM 
Profile: DVD+R/DL 
Profile: DVD+R 
Profile: DVD+RW 
Profile: DVD-R/DL layer jump recording 
Profile: DVD-R/DL sequential recording 
Profile: DVD-RW sequential recording 
Profile: DVD-RW restricted overwrite 
Profile: DVD-RAM 
Profile: DVD-R sequential recording 
Profile: DVD-ROM 
Profile: CD-RW 
Profile: CD-R 
Profile: CD-ROM 
Profile: Removable Disk 
Using generic SCSI-3/mmc   CD-R/CD-RW driver (mmc_cdr).
Driver flags   : MMC-3 SWABAUDIO BURNFREE 
Supported modes: TAO PACKET SAO SAO/R96R RAW/R16 RAW/R96P RAW/R96R
cdrecord: Warning: Cannot read drive buffer.
cdrecord: Warning: The DMA speed test has been skipped.
FIFO size      : 4194304 = 4096 KB
Track 01: data   699 MB        
Total size:      803 MB (79:37.62) = 358322 sectors
Lout start:      804 MB (79:39/47) = 358322 sectors
cdrecord: Cannot load media with this drive!
cdrecord: Try to load media by hand.
cdrecord: Cannot load media.
I tried to find a solution in other forums but so far to no prevail.
Cheers!
Yours Rava

User avatar
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Posts: 1331
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
Location: USA

Re: Porteus-v1.2-rc1 x86_64 is ready for testing!

Post#10 by Ahau » 21 Mar 2012, 14:18

Merged with standard edition 1.2 RC1 thread as this is an issue apparently with hardware or cdrecord (maintained in 001 module, not xfce). Rava, does this error occur when you use the standard edition and/or other linuxes with this laptop? Does it occur when you use different software, such as k3b or pburn? Is it repeatable on other hardware, or specific to this one machine?

Thanks!
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1319
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

Re: Porteus-v1.2-rc1 x86_64 is ready for testing!

Post#11 by Rava » 21 Mar 2012, 22:10

Ahau wrote:Merged with standard edition 1.2 RC1 thread as this is an issue apparently with hardware or cdrecord (maintained in 001 module, not xfce). Rava, does this error occur when you use the standard edition and/or other linuxes with this laptop? Does it occur when you use different software, such as k3b or pburn? Is it repeatable on other hardware, or specific to this one machine?
I forgot to add: when I put in an blank CDROM nothing happened in XFCe.
When I started the very same Porteus from the USB stick on another machine all worked well...

But sorry, I don't have that laptop anymore, since it's not mine and I just borrowed it to check out Porteus and x86-64 Linux on it fror the friend who owns it...

When I get the chance I check that issue out later. Maybe he installs besides Windoze 7 also Linux Mint... which I am not so fond of. I used to have it for a while but it was super bloated.
Cheers!
Yours Rava

User avatar
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Posts: 1331
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
Location: USA

Re: Porteus-v1.2-rc1 x86_64 is ready for testing!

Post#12 by Ahau » 21 Mar 2012, 23:23

Ok, thanks. If it's not happening on other computers, then it's probably a hardware-specific issue, like conflicting or absent drivers.
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1319
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

Re: Porteus-v1.2-rc1 x86_64 is ready for testing!

Post#13 by Rava » 23 Mar 2012, 00:21

Ahau wrote:Ok, thanks. If it's not happening on other computers, then it's probably a hardware-specific issue, like conflicting or absent drivers.
Or faulty hardware. :(

When I get the change I try it again with some other Linux... like Knoppix... or Puppy... and give you the heads up. Since conflicting or absent drivers would have been an Porteus issue to be solved :) , and faulty hardware not. :pardon:
Cheers!
Yours Rava

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v1.2-rc1 x86_64 is ready for testing!

Post#14 by fanthom » 03 Apr 2012, 19:47

@all
here is a kernel update (linux-3.3.1) for rc1 of Portues-1.2
this kernel is based on experimental config which i would like to use in rc2 so please test it when you have a chance.
vmlinuz is slightly larger as i have compiled drivers for Multi Media Cards and Memory Sticks into it (as per luc0zade bug report).

ndiswrapper module is absent as it did not compile against 3.3.x kernel.

have fun:
http://ponce.cc/porteus/x86_64/testing/ ... ftm.tar.gz
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

luc0zade
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 8
Joined: 01 Apr 2012, 13:00
Location: London, GB

Re: Porteus-v1.2-rc1 x86_64 is ready for testing!

Post#15 by luc0zade » 05 Apr 2012, 11:42

@fanthom

Thanks so much for working on a solution to the SD card / MMC drive session changes save file bug.

@all

I'll really like to test this kernel update but as I'm not a Linux developer I'm having difficulty finding out how to turn the files inside the tarball into a bootable iso.

Is there a HOWTO help guide for this process online somewhere?

Post Reply