[SOLVED]fail to load porteus 1.1 at a laptop (hp 2133)

Non release banter
Post Reply
feng
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 62
Joined: 18 Jan 2011, 15:51
Location: internet

[SOLVED]fail to load porteus 1.1 at a laptop (hp 2133)

Post#1 by feng » 02 Feb 2012, 11:10

currently, i am running porteus 1.1 32bit.
i put it in a usb pen, it works fine at desktop.

but it fails to loading at a laptop (hp 2133).
the screen turns to blue, then red, then grey... just right after the line:
triggering udev events: /sbin/udevadm trigger --action=add

any suggestion?
Last edited by feng on 19 Feb 2012, 06:45, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1846
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: fail to load porteus at a laptop

Post#2 by Hamza » 02 Feb 2012, 11:38

This should be an issue related to GPU's kernel module. Please post more information about your computer where the Porteus boot failed.
NjVFQzY2Rg==

feng
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 62
Joined: 18 Jan 2011, 15:51
Location: internet

Re: fail to load porteus at a laptop

Post#3 by feng » 02 Feb 2012, 15:01

strange, slax 6.1.2 success to load at the laptop "hp 2133"
the kernel version is 2.6.27.27


By the way, I found the driver source at http://goo.gl/uNKpq and also at http://goo.gl/LvCHJ

how do I to put them in my porteus linux?

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5436
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: fail to load porteus at a laptop

Post#4 by brokenman » 02 Feb 2012, 16:21

Please boot to porteus on your desktop and give the output of: uname -r

Porteus -v1.1 runs kernel 3.1.8 so it seems you are not running our standard linux kernel. Also please let us know which graphics card your laptop has. The drivers for nvidia or ATI can be found as modules here:

http://ponce.cc/porteus/i486/current/

Download the graphics driver you require and place it in the porteus/modules folder of the ISO. Please try to boot to 'text mode' as this will help narrow down if it is your video causing the problem. If you can boot to text mode please give output of: lspci|grep VGA
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

feng
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 62
Joined: 18 Jan 2011, 15:51
Location: internet

Re: fail to load porteus at a laptop

Post#5 by feng » 02 Feb 2012, 16:50

hi brokenman !

my desktop:
~# uname -r
3.1.8-porteus


and sadly, my laptop (hp 2133) is neither using a NVidia nor a ATI graphic card, but a "VIA Chrome 9 graphics chip"
ref: http://goo.gl/G28Q2

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5436
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: fail to load porteus at a laptop

Post#6 by brokenman » 02 Feb 2012, 17:34

Please try blacklisting: viafb

You will need to edit the file: /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf

and add: blacklist viafb

Posted after 7 minutes 39 seconds:
Porteus contains the package: xf86-video-openchrome-0.2.904-i486-2 which should be sufficient to get your card up. You could also try booting into text mode and then running xorgsetup and see where that gets you.

In any case your xorg.conf file may need to have in the Section "Device":

Code: Select all

Driver "openchrome"

and at the end:

Section "DRI"
	Mode 0666
EndSection
Let us know how it goes. If you edit xorg ro get it working you will want to edit: /etc/X11/gui.conf

and cange:

Code: Select all

SKIP_XCONF=
to
SKIP_XCONF=yes
This will ensure your xorg.conf file is not redone at every boot.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

feng
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 62
Joined: 18 Jan 2011, 15:51
Location: internet

Re: fail to load porteus at a laptop

Post#7 by feng » 02 Feb 2012, 19:06

hi brokenman !

you're amazing! thanks for the help!

after editing the file: /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf in /base/001-core.xzm

porteus can boot into text mode ( set telinit~3), no problem.

and, i follow your another two file editing. it seems work well now.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5436
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED]fail to load porteus at a laptop (hp 2133)

Post#8 by brokenman » 02 Feb 2012, 20:59

Glad to hear it. Thanks for adding solved to the thread, others may find it useful.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

Post Reply