Problems with Win-1251 Russian encoding in PCManFM

Please reproduce your error on a second machine before posting, and check the error by running without saved changes or extra modules (See FAQ No. 13, "How to report a bug"). For unstable Porteus versions (alpha, beta, rc) please use the relevant thread in our "Development" section.
Cyril
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 21
Joined: 04 Nov 2011, 10:11
Location: Ukraine
Contact:

Problems with Win-1251 Russian encoding in PCManFM

Post#1 by Cyril » 04 Nov 2011, 10:28

Hello again,

In LXDE PCManFM doesn't display Win-1251 Russian characters in filenames, while Konqueror does. I'm using the following kernel parameters:

lang=ru_RU.cp1251 iocharset=cp1251

for both FAT and NTFS partitions. Konqueror displays everything correctly, but PCManFM shows only squares in all cases. So I have to use only Konqueror in LXDE.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4586
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Problems with Win-1251 Russian encoding in PCManFM

Post#2 by fanthom » 04 Nov 2011, 15:21

Welcome on board Cyril,

if you are using Porteus-1.0 then i would recommend to use "Language Selection Tool" to generate unique xzm module with preferred language settings and required files.
'lang=' cheatcode wont be necessary then.

let us know if LST worked for you.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Cyril
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 21
Joined: 04 Nov 2011, 10:11
Location: Ukraine
Contact:

Re: Problems with Win-1251 Russian encoding in PCManFM

Post#3 by Cyril » 06 Nov 2011, 18:05

Thanks for your help. Well, here's what happened.

As I mentioned in the above thread, I'm using version 1.1rc1 frugally installed on USB. Before even running Porteus for the first time, I found this thread: http://porteus.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=54&t=621 (this is a Russian localization pack for Porteus 1.0). I've downloaded this pack on the link: http://www.mediafire.com/?doe0enw01jv8u35. And I posted my messages using this particular configuration. In this case everything worked fine, the whole system was in Russian, all the filenames were displayed correctly, except for PCManFM.

Then I followed your advice. I deleted all the Russian modules from that pack. As I don't have an Internet connection on my netbook (where I tried Porteus), I couldn't use the Language Selection Tool. So I downloaded (on my home PC) the following files:

glibc-i18n-2.13-i486-4jay.xzm
kde-i18n-ru-3.5.12-i486-1jay.xzm
locales-porteus-i486-1jay.xzm

I booted into KDE and chose the Russian language for the system in KDE Control Center. The system was in Russian again, but the files now weren't displayed correctly in BOTH Konqueror and PCManFM. I rebooted in KDE and LXDE and it was the same everywhere. (The reason, I guess, is in this file: 5-config-ru_RU_CP1251-x86; it's in the Russian loco pack archive) So I deleted these 3 files and installed that Russian loco pack again.

So now I'm at where I began: everything is displayed fine, but PCManFM still doesnot show Russian characters in Win-1251 encoding. Well, now I think that's a PCManFM's bug only. Can anything be done with it?

User avatar
Blaze
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1422
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: Problems with Win-1251 Russian encoding in PCManFM

Post#4 by Blaze » 07 Nov 2011, 08:57

In this case everything worked fine, the whole system was in Russian, all the filenames were displayed correctly, except for PCManFM.
hm, i have the same problems in the Porteus-v1.1 rc1 32 bit with my Russian localization [cp1251] too - konqueror and PCManFM have problems with russian files and folders.
In previous versions of Porteus I had no problems with my localization.

I think these problems because of
- switched whole system to 'en_US.UTF-8' locale to be able to display all names on FAT/NTFS by default
Linux porteus 4.13.3-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sat Sep 23 18:22:13 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4586
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Problems with Win-1251 Russian encoding in PCManFM

Post#5 by fanthom » 07 Nov 2011, 14:36

i have the same problems in the Porteus-v1.1 rc1 32 bit with my Russian localization [cp1251] too - konqueror and PCManFM have problems with russian files and folders.
on which filesystem does it happen?
if on FAT then please boot with 'iocharset=cp1252' cheatcode

Cheers
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
Blaze
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1422
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: Problems with Win-1251 Russian encoding in PCManFM

Post#6 by Blaze » 07 Nov 2011, 17:22

fanthom, i have this problem with NTFS
http://img810.imageshack.us/img810/641/glibcbuggg.jpg

I think this problem in glibc.
My version glibc is glibc-i18n-2.12.2-i486
Linux porteus 4.13.3-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sat Sep 23 18:22:13 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1847
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: Problems with Win-1251 Russian encoding in PCManFM

Post#7 by Hamza » 07 Nov 2011, 19:26

Did you tried with media:/ instead system:/media..? Just a question :)
NjVFQzY2Rg==

User avatar
Blaze
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1422
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: Problems with Win-1251 Russian encoding in PCManFM

Post#8 by Blaze » 08 Nov 2011, 07:19

hi Hamza.

Yes, i tried it:
Image
Linux porteus 4.13.3-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sat Sep 23 18:22:13 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1847
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: Problems with Win-1251 Russian encoding in PCManFM

Post#9 by Hamza » 08 Nov 2011, 18:47

Do Konqueror profile has been set Russian Encoding? :roll:
NjVFQzY2Rg==

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4586
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Problems with Win-1251 Russian encoding in PCManFM

Post#10 by fanthom » 09 Nov 2011, 10:34

@Blaze
In previous versions of Porteus I had no problems with my localization.
i went back to porteus 1.0 and even 0.9 but still cant force pcmanfm to display polish characters correctly on ntfs with non UTF-8 encoding (utf8 works fine).
could you show me a screenshot where pcmanfm works ok with cp1251 on ntfs?

Cheers
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
Blaze
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1422
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: Problems with Win-1251 Russian encoding in PCManFM

Post#11 by Blaze » 09 Nov 2011, 13:44

fanthom,
Image
Cheers
Linux porteus 4.13.3-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sat Sep 23 18:22:13 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4586
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Problems with Win-1251 Russian encoding in PCManFM

Post#12 by fanthom » 09 Nov 2011, 14:09

thanks Blaze,

anyway - i was asking for pcmanfm and not konqueror .
i know that konqueror works fine with non UTF-8 encodings - only pcmanfm causes troubles for me.
please show the same folder in pcmanfm.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
Blaze
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1422
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: Problems with Win-1251 Russian encoding in PCManFM

Post#13 by Blaze » 09 Nov 2011, 17:02

sorry.
Image
damn it :(
Linux porteus 4.13.3-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sat Sep 23 18:22:13 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4586
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Problems with Win-1251 Russian encoding in PCManFM

Post#14 by fanthom » 09 Nov 2011, 18:29

@Blaze
time for switching to ru_RU.UTF-8 :)
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
Blaze
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1422
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: Problems with Win-1251 Russian encoding in PCManFM

Post#15 by Blaze » 10 Nov 2011, 06:55

fanthom,
Yep, but i don't use PCManFM and prefer 1251 :)
Linux porteus 4.13.3-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sat Sep 23 18:22:13 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

Post Reply