no netowrk configuration

Non release banter
Post Reply
mtdew3q
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 17
Joined: 25 Dec 2013, 20:27
Distribution: ubuntu 12.04
Location: New York

no netowrk configuration

Post#1 by mtdew3q » 25 Dec 2013, 22:33

Hi-

My desktop booted right into Razor but when I click the network settings menu option it won't launch a configuration utility.

I will see if I can find a work around for this.

thanks

mtdew3q
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 17
Joined: 25 Dec 2013, 20:27
Distribution: ubuntu 12.04
Location: New York

Re: no network configuration

Post#2 by mtdew3q » 26 Dec 2013, 00:11

HI

It seems to be a bug. Lots of users talk about the nm-connection-editor grayed out when trying to run it as root. I am not sure what to do. People suggest changing some packages but that seems to require an internet connection. I thought I heard some people saying to switch the log in manager might work... not sure. I used the build system to create my iso.

thanks

mtdew3q
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 17
Joined: 25 Dec 2013, 20:27
Distribution: ubuntu 12.04
Location: New York

Re: no netowrk configuration

Post#3 by mtdew3q » 26 Dec 2013, 02:23

Hi-

I made some more progress. This time i tried the pns-tool. I don't get any debug errors but it doesn't connect "in a few seconds" or even "a few minutes".
It complained about fast_reauth. If I leave that line in, I get a parse error. If I delete the line fast_reauth, no errors, but it won't connect, and I sit there waiting and waiting.

I don't know what else to do. I wonder why it doesn't time out and at least give me some indication of what happened?

mtdew3q
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 17
Joined: 25 Dec 2013, 20:27
Distribution: ubuntu 12.04
Location: New York

Re: no netowrk configuration

Post#4 by mtdew3q » 26 Dec 2013, 02:31

Hi-

Problem solved. I glanced at the " instruction for including or not including with ssid. At a glance, I read it wrong.

the pns-tool works really good.

thanks

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4566
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: no netowrk configuration

Post#5 by fanthom » 26 Dec 2013, 21:40

glad to hear that someone is still using this old script :)
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Posts: 1331
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
Location: USA

Re: no netowrk configuration

Post#6 by Ahau » 26 Dec 2013, 21:46

Hehe -- I use it all the time when I break NM-applet or if I need to get online through text mode when initially compiling packages for my desktop modules. Still works like a champ!
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4946
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: no netowrk configuration

Post#7 by francois » 26 Dec 2013, 21:59

pns-tool: we are almost talking paleontology here in terms of porteus tools. Back to the era of slax-remix. This tool is next the foundation of porteus, and made the difference between the primitive and the modern era of porteus. :wink:
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5456
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: no netowrk configuration

Post#8 by brokenman » 27 Dec 2013, 23:11

I have a vivid memory of being in hospital to have two metal plates attached to my vertebrae and working on a variation of this tool in my hospital bed. Yes it was the slax-remix days. Fanthom beat me to it (luckily) and the code is still rockin. Awesome.

I will take a look at nm-connection-editor later. Can you please try to launch it from a root terminal with: dbus-launch nm-connection-editor
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

mtdew3q
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 17
Joined: 25 Dec 2013, 20:27
Distribution: ubuntu 12.04
Location: New York

Re: no netowrk configuration

Post#9 by mtdew3q » 12 Jan 2014, 02:32

Hi-

I tried
dbus-launch nm-connection-editor

but everything is grayed out.

Any other ideas? Sorry for not getting back in a while. I was caught in a vicious work cycle.

thanks

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4566
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: no netowrk configuration

Post#10 by fanthom » 12 Jan 2014, 08:40

@mtdew3q
please run 'cat /proc/cmdline' and check if 'nonetwork' is there. if it is then remove it from your bootloader config (porteus.cfg?) and if you are saving changes then follow this:

Code: Select all

nonetwork

   ... This boot parameter will prevent Porteus from automatically
       establishing a network connection on start-up.
       Note that this cheatcode makes some modifications to
       your system which must be manually restored, so it is
       recommended that you only use this cheatcode in "Always
       Fresh" mode. If you've ignored this advice and need to
       recover your network connection, please run the following:

       chmod +x /etc/rc.d/rc.inet1 /etc/rc.d/rc.networkmanager
       sed -i 's/Hidden=true//g' /etc/xdg/autostart/nm-applet.desktop
to recover your network connection.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5456
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: no netowrk configuration

Post#11 by brokenman » 12 Jan 2014, 12:40

I was caught in a vicious work cycle
I hear you there.

Try fanthom's suggestion above and let us know. I have experienced this before (running as root) but not sure what caused it. Restarting the nm-applet fixed it for me.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

mtdew3q
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 17
Joined: 25 Dec 2013, 20:27
Distribution: ubuntu 12.04
Location: New York

Re: no netowrk configuration

Post#12 by mtdew3q » 12 Jan 2014, 14:31

Hi-

The print out from cat /proc/cmdline trick didn't work. Nonetwork is not listed in that print out.

I still can use pns-tool. If you want to take a break trying to help, that is cool. Maybe we could see if anyone else reports this. To be honest, I had tried a few things to "fix it" from the internet and to no avail. I kind of gave up on it. Can't really remember what I tried. It has been almost a month or so. It was weird. If the first time I launched the applet nm-connection-editor if was enabled I would have simply filled it in and would have been on my way. Not sure why it is being disabled "out of the box". The always fresh version connected if I correctly recall.

Another idea is to check my version, and if I don't have the new porteus version, I can upgrade, but I am not doing it until my AT&T mifil plan data refreshes.

If you want to keep firing suggestions, I can try though.

I will check back in a little while. I have to go get ready for the new day. It is 1:30 p.m. GMT .

mtdew3q
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 17
Joined: 25 Dec 2013, 20:27
Distribution: ubuntu 12.04
Location: New York

Re: no netowrk configuration

Post#13 by mtdew3q » 12 Jan 2014, 14:33

oops. and of course, many thanks. The pns-tool is really cool. If the automatic tool doesn't end up running, I won't need to worry.

mtdew3q

Post Reply