No Browser?

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
Post Reply
Timmi
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 8
Joined: 09 Mar 2017, 04:02
Distribution: Windoze7-Peppermint6-Mint18.2C
Location: Montreal
Contact:

No Browser?

Post#1 by Timmi » 30 Aug 2017, 22:28

I was giving Porteus a spin, 3.2.2 and I noticed that there is no browser.
I thought: Really? That can't be!

I found one that is text-based, but since it is unstalble, crashing shortly after launch, that is not very helpful.

Or have I just not found it?
Maybe someone can show me where it is hidden?

Everyone needs a browser - 100% of users, unlike some other apps I saw in there that may not be needed by everyone. And I don't see what would be wrong with including Midori, so people can at least access the Porteus page (as I wanted to, to look up what the default password is in Live mode - without which, it is not possible to go and fetch a browser!).
Sure, let users decide on the FF vs. Cr choice later on... but not including even a basic one is severely myopic.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3214
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

No Browser?

Post#2 by Ed_P » 31 Aug 2017, 00:39

Have you looked here: http://dl.porteus.org/x86_64/Porteus-v3.2.2/modules/

Download, put in your modules folder, dbl click on it, activate.

:)
Ed

privateip
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 14
Joined: 17 Aug 2017, 18:34
Distribution: LFS

No Browser?

Post#3 by privateip » 31 Aug 2017, 12:20

Hi,
I use Firefox by downloading the version I prefer from https://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/firefox/releases/

Extract the file in /mnt/sda1/programs and make link firefox, then put that link in Desktop

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 881
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 3.2.2-64bit xfce/openbox
Location: australia
Contact:

No Browser?

Post#4 by ncmprhnsbl » 31 Aug 2017, 12:57

Timmi wrote:
30 Aug 2017, 22:28
I noticed that there is no browser.
keeping ISO Size down, user choice, and the browsers update so often these days(typically right after release) ..
there is a set of update-<browser> scripts (but this doesnt help if you can't guess the root pasword) :(
Timmi wrote:
30 Aug 2017, 22:28
And I don't see what would be wrong with including Midori,
while midori itself is quite small, when you factor in its dependency webkitgtk, it's as big as the others..
lynx is perhaps too basic/hard to use/buggy..
netsurf might be a possible contender..
Forum Rules : http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

Timmi
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 8
Joined: 09 Mar 2017, 04:02
Distribution: Windoze7-Peppermint6-Mint18.2C
Location: Montreal
Contact:

No Browser?

Post#5 by Timmi » 02 Oct 2017, 01:42

hi guys, sorry I did not answer sooner. Life. And I never got a notification that there was a reply. Anyways, I'm here now.

@Ed: thank you. No, I did not look there. Because when running it live, there was no way for me to look anything up. Thanks for the tip.

@ncmprhnsbl: that is quite the cop-out. there is a text-based browser that doesn't work.
Users would much sooner like to see Midori in there... what is that, about 1MB extra? How does that handicap the ISO size when it is something so essential?

Timmi
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 8
Joined: 09 Mar 2017, 04:02
Distribution: Windoze7-Peppermint6-Mint18.2C
Location: Montreal
Contact:

No Browser?

Post#6 by Timmi » 02 Oct 2017, 01:43

privateip wrote:
31 Aug 2017, 12:20
Hi,
I use Firefox by downloading the version I prefer from https://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/firefox/releases/
Extract the file in /mnt/sda1/programs and make link firefox, then put that link in Desktop
How do you get there without a browser?

Timmi
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 8
Joined: 09 Mar 2017, 04:02
Distribution: Windoze7-Peppermint6-Mint18.2C
Location: Montreal
Contact:

No Browser?

Post#7 by Timmi » 02 Oct 2017, 01:46

Ed_P wrote:
31 Aug 2017, 00:39
Have you looked here: http://dl.porteus.org/x86_64/Porteus-v3.2.2/modules/
Download, put in your modules folder, dbl click on it, activate.
:)
Hi Ed, OK, I've read everything, and was about to act on suggestions...
forgive me for being such a newb... but how does one get to an http location when the text browser doesn't work, and no other browser is available? In the terminal, perhaps? Sorry, I've only ever done that with a browser.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3214
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

No Browser?

Post#8 by Ed_P » 02 Oct 2017, 04:31

Timmi wrote:
02 Oct 2017, 01:46
Ed_P wrote:
31 Aug 2017, 00:39
Have you looked here: http://dl.porteus.org/x86_64/Porteus-v3.2.2/modules/
Download, put in your modules folder, dbl click on it, activate.
:)
Hi Ed, OK, I've read everything, and was about to act on suggestions...
forgive me for being such a newb... but how does one get to an http location when the text browser doesn't work
Hey, we were all newbs at some point. And I completely agree with you that accessing the web without a browser is awkward. What are you using to post here and why can't it be used to download the module? :%)
Ed

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5504
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

No Browser?

Post#9 by brokenman » 02 Oct 2017, 23:17

Users would much sooner like to see Midori in there... what is that, about 1MB extra?
If it were merely 1mb extra of course I would include it but it is a good deal larger than that.
How do you get there without a browser?
As mentioned somewhere above you can use the update scripts.
update-firefox
update-chrome
update-chromium
update-palemoon
and others.

Thinking of including a first run wizard where users can select what they prefer. What do you think?
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3214
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

No Browser?

Post#10 by Ed_P » 03 Oct 2017, 04:13

brokenman wrote:
02 Oct 2017, 23:17
Thinking of including a first run wizard where users can select what they prefer. What do you think?
Being able to select a browser when booting initially sounds perfect. :happy62:

Will it include asking the user where they want it saved and updating of the porteus.cfg & refind.conf files to include it? :pardon:
Ed

Post Reply