Change kiosk_config without need to rebuild ISO

Share your opinion about Porteus Kiosk Edition.
Post Reply
dtouzeau
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 3
Joined: 18 Jun 2017, 11:21
Distribution: Debian
Location: France

Change kiosk_config without need to rebuild ISO

Post#1 by dtouzeau » 18 Jun 2017, 14:02

I plan to use pxe boot and change dynamically config
According to some remote offices, i need to modify the kiosk_config url dynamically using scripts from in boot folder (using unsquashfs )
I have extracted all xzm files but i'm unable tot find which file stores this value
is it possible to do that ?

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4614
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Change kiosk_config without need to rebuild ISO

Post#2 by fanthom » 19 Jun 2017, 05:28

Hello dtouzeau,

You could use remote management with PXE boot:
http://porteus-kiosk.org/remote-management.html

Thanks
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

dtouzeau
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 3
Joined: 18 Jun 2017, 11:21
Distribution: Debian
Location: France

Re: Change kiosk_config without need to rebuild ISO

Post#3 by dtouzeau » 19 Jun 2017, 07:09

This is the objective.
But as it said "kiosk_config" was fixed during the ISO build task.

Up until now the kiosk config (presented on the final configuration page in the kiosk wizard) was always embedded in the ISO and burnt on the hard drive/usb stick during system installation.
The main advantage of this approach is that system configuration file gets encrypted and stored in a safe, read-only place

I need to change this value after burning the ISO and put is content inside the pxe server.
Is there a possibility to do that ?

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4614
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Change kiosk_config without need to rebuild ISO

Post#4 by fanthom » 19 Jun 2017, 15:55

I cant share (especially on a public forum) how to decrypt -> update -> encrypt kiosk config as kiosk security would suffer.

You have to create new ISO with remote management enabled and use it for PXE booting.

Thank you.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

dtouzeau
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 3
Joined: 18 Jun 2017, 11:21
Distribution: Debian
Location: France

Re: Change kiosk_config without need to rebuild ISO

Post#5 by dtouzeau » 19 Jun 2017, 20:49

We can discuss by eMail , my is davidATarticatech.com

We need this feature and it is possible to give money back for this "extra support"

Post Reply