Stuck in software rendering in Virtualbox

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
Post Reply
drjaking
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 1
Joined: 12 Apr 2017, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus-CINNAMON-v3.2.2-x86_64
Location: UK

Stuck in software rendering in Virtualbox

Post#1 by drjaking » 12 Apr 2017, 13:40

Hi,

I'm struggling to get hardware accelerated rendering working in 3.2.2 Cinnamon x86_64 which is booting in Virtualbox 5.1.18 on a Windows host. I've tried using the VirtualBox-5.1.10-porteus-v3.2-x86_64-1prt.xzm module and also tried installing from the ISO supplied with Virtualbox.

Can anyone advise me how to debug this (and it's a long time since I tried to do anything in Linux!).

Cheers

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2563
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: Stuck in software rendering in Virtualbox

Post#2 by Bogomips » 12 Apr 2017, 16:58

Welcome to Porteus. AFAIK we do boast quite a few experts in this area. Probably have to wait on opposing TZ. :)
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

fulalas
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 756
Joined: 26 Oct 2016, 15:34
Distribution: Porteus
Location: Brazil

Re: Stuck in software rendering in Virtualbox

Post#3 by fulalas » 13 Apr 2017, 10:35

AFAIK, you need to give Linux a hint of what virtual hardware you have. In other words you need a VirtualBox graphics driver for Linux that can handle kind-of-direct calls to the hardware. I'm not sure if VirtualBox comes with such a driver. Try to follow the option called 'install guest additions'. ;)

jpagan
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 4
Joined: 10 Feb 2016, 23:05
Distribution: Ubuntu
Location: Texas

Re: Stuck in software rendering in Virtualbox

Post#4 by jpagan » 28 Jun 2017, 21:06

drjaking wrote:Hi,

I'm struggling to get hardware accelerated rendering working in 3.2.2 Cinnamon x86_64 which is booting in Virtualbox 5.1.18 on a Windows host. I've tried using the VirtualBox-5.1.10-porteus-v3.2-x86_64-1prt.xzm module and also tried installing from the ISO supplied with Virtualbox.

Can anyone advise me how to debug this (and it's a long time since I tried to do anything in Linux!).

Cheers
@drjaking - I am having the exact same problem on the same setup. Except that I am using VirtualBox 5.1.22. I was able to install the guest additions successfully but when I reboot I get the same error message. Were you able to resolve this issue?

fulalas
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 756
Joined: 26 Oct 2016, 15:34
Distribution: Porteus
Location: Brazil

Re: Stuck in software rendering in Virtualbox

Post#5 by fulalas » 28 Jun 2017, 21:15

jpagan wrote:I am having the exact same problem on the same setup. Except that I am using VirtualBox 5.1.22. I was able to install the guest additions successfully but when I reboot I get the same error message. Were you able to resolve this issue?
As soon as Porteus finishes booting process, can you go to the terminal and call 'glxgears' with success?

Post Reply