Window with some info on desktop (solved)

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
michalh
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 13
Joined: 20 Mar 2017, 14:41
Distribution: Porteus Desktop
Location: Czech Rep.

Window with some info on desktop (solved)

Post#1 by michalh » 03 Apr 2017, 21:35

Porteus 32b with Mate.
I'd like to have window with some text info on desktop, opened automatically after Mate starts. I use rxvt; I can run the command (rxvt + parameters) from Mate (terminal) by hand, it works (it opens rxvt window with desired text).
But:
a) What is the right place for the command? /etc/xprofile did not work (or I did something wrong).
b) I need the rxvt window to be with no borders, no window tittle and so on. Just background with text. How to change these attributes of the rxvt window?

Thanks, Michal
Last edited by michalh on 06 Apr 2017, 06:08, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Blaze
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 3869
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus current ☯ all DEs ☯
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: Window with some info on desktop

Post#2 by Blaze » 04 Apr 2017, 18:01

Hi michalh.
a) How about create your.desktop file at the /etc/xdg/autostart/ with Exec=here-your-rxvt-command?
Linux 6.6.11-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT_DYNAMIC Sun Jan 14 12:07:37 MSK 2024 x86_64 Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E3-1270 v6 @ 3.80GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Navi 23 [Radeon RX 6600] [1002:73ff] (rev c7) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

michalh
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 13
Joined: 20 Mar 2017, 14:41
Distribution: Porteus Desktop
Location: Czech Rep.

Re: Window with some info on desktop

Post#3 by michalh » 05 Apr 2017, 10:14

Blaze wrote:Hi michalh.
a) How about create your.desktop file at the /etc/xdg/autostart/ with Exec=here-your-rxvt-command?
I will try, thanks. Already did that in usr/share/mate/autostart - the window appears, thats ok. But with top icon bar and borders, I!d like to have the window without them.
And it appears in task list on desktop status bar (task bar), I do not want it there.

Michal

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 8341
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 5.01 ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Window with some info on desktop

Post#4 by Ed_P » 05 Apr 2017, 17:19

michalh maybe if you create your window with a gtkdialog you will get closer to what you want. See the coding shown here for an example of one: http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php? ... 233#p49231
Ed

User avatar
Blaze
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 3869
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus current ☯ all DEs ☯
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: Window with some info on desktop

Post#5 by Blaze » 05 Apr 2017, 18:38

gtkdialog (example)

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash 
GTKDIALOG=gtkdialog 
export MAIN_DIALOG=' 
<window title="Title of app" icon-name="gtk-about" resizable="true" width-request="350" height-request="170"> 

<vbox> 

<button>
<label>User 1</label>
<action>exec firefox http://government-site.org</action>
</button>

<button>
<label>User 2</label>
<action>exec firefox http://government-site.org</action>
</button>

<button>
<label>User 3</label>
<action>exec firefox http://government-site.org</action>
</button>

<button>
<label>User 4</label>
<action>exec firefox http://government-site.org</action>
</button>

<button>
<label>Exit</label>
<action type="exit">Cancel</action>
</button>

</vbox>

</window>
'
case $1 in
-d | --dump) echo "$MAIN_DIALOG" ;;
*) $GTKDIALOG --program=MAIN_DIALOG --center ;;
esac
Linux 6.6.11-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT_DYNAMIC Sun Jan 14 12:07:37 MSK 2024 x86_64 Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E3-1270 v6 @ 3.80GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Navi 23 [Radeon RX 6600] [1002:73ff] (rev c7) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

michalh
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 13
Joined: 20 Mar 2017, 14:41
Distribution: Porteus Desktop
Location: Czech Rep.

Re: Window with some info on desktop

Post#6 by michalh » 05 Apr 2017, 19:11

I just discovered "conky", that's exactly what I need... very nice tool.
Thanks.

Post Reply