[SOLVED] no connection with Intel Ethernet I217-LM

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
rych
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 63
Joined: 04 Jan 2014, 04:27
Distribution: Porteus 2.1 32-bit
Location: NZ

[SOLVED] no connection with Intel Ethernet I217-LM

Post#1 by rych » 14 Jan 2017, 08:39

I have two computers next to each other at work, normally under Windows. On one Porteus (3.2.2) connects to network just fine, but on the other which is a newer model, the network icon keeps saying "Requesting an ethernet network address". Could someone walk me through steps to diagnose this problem please?
Last edited by rych on 20 Feb 2017, 07:14, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4988
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Requesting an ethernet network address

Post#2 by francois » 14 Jan 2017, 13:56

Try with a more recent kernel, porteus rc5 included one or slackbuild kernel-firmware (brokenman, then jack posts):
viewtopic.php?f=117&t=6519

porteus 3.2 rc5:
https://ftp.heanet.ie/mirrors/dl.porteu ... s-v3.2rc5/
slackbuild kernel-firmware (you need devel.xzm module):
http://mirrors.slackware.com/slackware/ ... -firmware/
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

rych
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 63
Joined: 04 Jan 2014, 04:27
Distribution: Porteus 2.1 32-bit
Location: NZ

Re: Requesting an ethernet network address

Post#3 by rych » 15 Jan 2017, 06:54

Thank you francois. I tied the 000-kernel.xzm from rc5. It's even worse: the icon now says "No network devices available", and some strange mouse lag in my xfce desktop. So I'm back to the original kernel (4.9.0) from porteus 3.2.2. At least it agrees that the machine does have an ethernet card.

Speaking of hardware, I should add that the working computer is Dell OptiPlex 9010 with an Intel 82579LM network adapter whereas the failing one is OptiPlex 9030 AIO with an Intel Ethernet Connection I217-LM on system board. Both work fine under Windows, so I guess BIOS settings and firmware should be fine?

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1175
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: Requesting an ethernet network address

Post#4 by donald » 15 Jan 2017, 08:11

regarding "Intel Ethernet Connection I217" + Linux
scroll down to the screenshot
https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=191981
also
http://iokevins.blogspot.de/2015/12/wak ... r-off.html
good luck..

rych
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 63
Joined: 04 Jan 2014, 04:27
Distribution: Porteus 2.1 32-bit
Location: NZ

Re: Requesting an ethernet network address

Post#5 by rych » 24 Jan 2017, 06:05

Thank you, @donald. One of the solutions in the pages linked is to "Reset the PCI Device before starting the Network Interface":

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash

#Get the PCI-Address of network card (Caution: This works ONLY with ONE NIC)
PCI=`/usr/bin/lspci | /bin/egrep -i 'network|ethernet' | /usr/bin/cut -d' ' -f1`
PCIPATH=`/usr/bin/find /sys -name *\${PCI} | /bin/egrep -i *pci0000*`

#echo "PCI    =$PCI"
#echo "PCIPATH=$PCIPATH"
#ls -la $PCIPATH

/usr/bin/logger -t "ResetNIC" "Resetting PCI NIC ${PCIPATH}"

#Reset the PCI Device completely (like Power-ON/Off)
echo 1 >${PCIPATH}/reset
I'm going to try to run it, hopefully it doesn't need any editing for porteus. But first, how do I stop and start the Network Interface (and/or the Network Manager)?

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1175
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: Requesting an ethernet network address

Post#6 by donald » 24 Jan 2017, 10:39

Code: Select all

root@porteus:/home/guest# /etc/rc.d/rc.networkmanager status
NetworkManager is currently running

root@porteus:/home/guest# /etc/rc.d/rc.networkmanager stop
Stopping NetworkManager: stopped

root@porteus:/home/guest# /etc/rc.d/rc.networkmanager status
NetworkManager is not running.

root@porteus:/home/guest# /etc/rc.d/rc.networkmanager start
Starting NetworkManager daemon:  /usr/sbin/NetworkManager

root@porteus:/home/guest# /etc/rc.d/rc.networkmanager status
NetworkManager is currently running

rych
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 63
Joined: 04 Jan 2014, 04:27
Distribution: Porteus 2.1 32-bit
Location: NZ

Re: Requesting an ethernet network address

Post#7 by rych » 25 Jan 2017, 05:26

OK, I've stopped and started again the NetworkManager using rc.networkmanager, but now the nm-applet (?) in the systray says: "NetworManager is not running" and "Networking disabled". Even if I do

Code: Select all

killall nm-applet
nm-applet&
So I think I need to restart the two (or something else in addition) in a different way. For example, NetworManager upon restarting writes in the syslog a warning that it failed to connect to D-Bus. What would be a complete and reliable way to restart networking?

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1175
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: no connection with Intel Ethernet Connection I217-LM

Post#8 by donald » 25 Jan 2017, 07:46

I cannot reproduce this error.

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ pkill nm-applet && nm-applet &
work fine.The nm-applet reappeared in the panel and is working.

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ cat /var/lib/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.state
[main]
NetworkingEnabled=true
WirelessEnabled=true
WWANEnabled=true
porteus 3.2.2
NetworkManager-1.4.4-i486-1jay
network-manager-applet-1.2.2-i586-1

EDIT
Just in case you mixed up guest and root logins.

start / stop network-manager, as shown in previous post, was executed logged in as guest.
(teminal > su to root > start/stop/status)
no need to touch the nm-applet at all.

If you need / have to restart nm-applet, is has to be done as guest if logged in as guest.

rych
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 63
Joined: 04 Jan 2014, 04:27
Distribution: Porteus 2.1 32-bit
Location: NZ

Re: no connection with Intel Ethernet Connection I217-LM

Post#9 by rych » 26 Jan 2017, 06:36

Is it important or beneficial to do it from the guest account? I do everything from root. If it affects anything I could login to guest, which I've not done before.

frederick
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 16
Joined: 13 Jan 2017, 16:31
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 Mate 32bit
Location: toronto

Re: no connection with Intel Ethernet Connection I217-LM

Post#10 by frederick » 26 Jan 2017, 08:25

Hi donald
rych wrote:OK, I've stopped and started again the NetworkManager using rc.networkmanager, but now the nm-applet (?) in the systray says: "NetworManager is not running" and "Networking disabled"
donald wrote:I cannot reproduce this error.

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ pkill nm-applet && nm-applet &
work fine.The nm-applet reappeared in the panel and is working.
Not trying to hijack this post!, but same thing is happening to me with wireless.
And can confirm that is exactly what's happening, at least in MATE and XFCE. See post:
viewtopic.php?f=81&t=6561
I posted two pictures of that happening. Have to pay very close attention to the little red x in nm-applet, they are small pictures.

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1175
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: no connection with Intel Ethernet Connection I217-LM

Post#11 by donald » 26 Jan 2017, 17:45

It's hard to troubleshoot without getting any errors on my side.
see screenshot
https://s30.postimg.org/t2y38cvqp/wifi.jpg
I'm running out of ideas... :unknown:

frederick
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 16
Joined: 13 Jan 2017, 16:31
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 Mate 32bit
Location: toronto

Re: no connection with Intel Ethernet Connection I217-LM

Post#12 by frederick » 28 Jan 2017, 00:30

Don't worry, I run out of those a long time ago!
But the helps is still welcome and very much appreciated! :)
KInda find a solution. Check viewtopic.php?f=81&t=6561

Thanks
frederick

rych
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 63
Joined: 04 Jan 2014, 04:27
Distribution: Porteus 2.1 32-bit
Location: NZ

Re: no connection with Intel Ethernet Connection I217-LM

Post#13 by rych » 31 Jan 2017, 06:04

To bring us back to the original topic, here's a news. We have even newer computers at my work and the ones with l219-LM work well again. So if we list these Intel NICs from old to new, then
  • Intel 82579LM -- good
  • Intel Ethernet Connection I217-LM -- bad
  • Intel Ethernet Connection I219-LM -- good!
I think before trying to do tricks (which themselves may be not so strighforward or may not work) I'll search specifially about the Linux kernel driver/module e1000e and Intel's l217-LM.

EDIT: OK, it turns out that the newest current version from Intel is 3.3.5.3 of 12/11/2016 https://downloadcenter.intel.com/produc ... on-I217-LM whereas the porteus current kernel 4.9.0 comes with an older one:

Code: Select all

#modinfo e1000e
...
version: 3.2.6-k
Does anyone know whether an updated e1000e has been included in recent kernels, if so, how I would load newer kernels in porteus?

neko
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 930
Joined: 09 Feb 2013, 09:55
Distribution: APorteus-FVWM-ja-x86_64.iso
Location: japan

Re: no connection with Intel Ethernet Connection I217-LM

Post#14 by neko » 31 Jan 2017, 07:42

@rych
I don't know whether an updated e1000e has been included in recent kernels.
But you can check it by yourself and build your own kernel.

[How to build recent kernel]
kernel version line: 4.10.0-rc.
recent version: 4.10.0-rc6

1.Prepare 05-devel.xzm & mkKernel-17.01.30-noarch-1.xzm
05-devel.xzm: from Porteus release site
mkKernel-17.01.30-noarch-1.xzm:
http://www.mediafire.com/file/8dz1byga5 ... arch-1.xzm
md5sum: e424c2fa787a72ead0181a40d1fed4f6 mkKernel-17.01.30-noarch-1.xzm

2. activate 05-devel.xzm & mkKernel-17.01.30-noarch-1.xzm

3.Execute "Kernel Builder" (1)
"GUI menu" ---> "Kernel Builder"
<setting window>
"Kernel Builder directory":...........your Kernel Builder work
"Kernel Version":.....................4.10-rc6
"Build Kernel": 64Bit/32Bit:..... select your compiling architecture
"Build Kernel": "download":.... check it on
"Build Kernel": "expand & patch":.... check it on
Push "OK"

4. check kernel whether an updated e1000e has been included
Maybe, with make command, you can do it.
example: compiling architecture is 32Bit.

Code: Select all

% su
# cd 'Kernel Builder work'/v4.10-rc6/32/linux-4.10-rc6/
# make menuconfig
If there is what you want,
you continue in order to modify kernel config.

5.Execute "Kernel Builder" (2)
"GUI menu" ---> "Kernel Builder"
<setting window>
"Kernel Builder directory":...........your Kernel Builder work
"Kernel Version":.....................4.10-rc6
"Build Kernel": 64Bit/32Bit:..... select your compiling architecture
"Build Kernel": "compile":.... check it on
Push "OK"

6.Execute "Kernel Builder" (3)
"GUI menu" ---> "Kernel Builder"
<setting window>
"Kernel Builder directory":...........your Kernel Builder work
"Kernel Version":.....................4.10-rc6
"ISO whose kernel will be update":.... select ISO whose kernel will be update.
Push "OK"

You can get "updated ISO" in "your Kernel Builder work" directory.

"your Kernel Builder work"/UP.XXXX.iso


Thanks.

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1175
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: no connection with Intel Ethernet Connection I217-LM

Post#15 by donald » 31 Jan 2017, 08:36

@ rych
For a quick and dirty test:
download the e1000e-3.3.5.3.tar.gz package and store it somewhere on real filesystem.

reboot into always fresh login=root, activate 05-devel and crippled_sources.xzm
unload the old e1000e module
rmmod e1000e
rename the module e1000e.ko.old

extract e1000e-3.3.5.3.tar.gz package 2 times until you have e.g.
/root/Downloads/e1000e-3.3.5.3 > cd into /root/Downloads/e1000e-3.3.5.3/src/ and run make.
you'll find the new e1000e.ko in the same dir > copy it into the same dir where the e1000e.ko.old is.
(/lib/modules/4.9.0-porteus/kernel/drivers/net/ethernet/intel/e1000e/)

run modprobe e1000e > check with lsmod and modinfo e1000e

try your ethernet.

NOTE
I use 32 Bit, the path can vary in 64 Bit

Post Reply