Page 1 of 1

cmake in porteus 3.1 notworking

Posted: 31 Mar 2016, 20:25
by raspberryswirl
Hi!

downloaded final 3.1 of porteus.
want to compile bro.org
ran cmake.
gives me an error with lib... libarchive.so.13 not found
ok, install new one
usm -g cmake
usm resolving to about including MARIA DB. :fool:
trashes my system from about 140mb to 670mb... :evil:
what can i do?

thanks in advance
rasp

Re: cmake in porteus 3.1 notwokring

Posted: 31 Mar 2016, 22:52
by francois
Welcome to porteus raspberryswirl. :)

Do you have the 05-devel.xzm installed?
Here the 64 bit:
http://dl.porteus.org/x86_64/current/modules/

Moved to newbie questions.

Re: cmake in porteus 3.1 notwokring

Posted: 01 Apr 2016, 06:08
by raspberryswirl
well, YES.
I have downloaded from the porteus page - the 32bit and 64 bit cd - nice build process....
and the devel is in the boot process.
so it looks like a bug.
here is how you reprocude it:
download the cd above (stable) - build your own, with dev options.
boot in vmware or virtualbox.. just the virtualfs.
type in cmake...
get the error....
when will it be fixed?
unfort, i did not try the module in the link... but if it is the same with the CD build... IT WILL NOT WORK. :x
i think, not a newbee question, bug report :)

Re: cmake in porteus 3.1 notwokring

Posted: 01 Apr 2016, 11:03
by francois
It seems you know what you are doing, are you? You have installed all the necessary libraries per the install.txt file of the source package:
https://www.bro.org/download/index.html

Re: cmake in porteus 3.1 notwokring

Posted: 01 Apr 2016, 11:51
by raspberryswirl
Bonjour Francois,

thats not the point, I won't come that far - or at least, were not.
If you type in a clean, freshly booted Porteus with development tools the command
cmake
it gives the error:
libarchive.so.13 not found
after reinstalling, the same - as far as i remember, this i can test this evening.... but how to proceed?
will you fix the bug in the original one, or where to get this library from?
http://www.libarchive.org/
??

thank you and best regards
rasp

ps. ok - I will check a ldconfig first!

Re: cmake in porteus 3.1 notwokring

Posted: 01 Apr 2016, 13:58
by francois
Bro dependencies:
https://www.bro.org/sphinx/install/inst ... pendencies

What desktop do you have? On kde the /usr/lib64/libarchive.so.13 is there. Isn't it your case:

Code: Select all

root@porteus:~# updatedb
root@porteus:~# locate libarchive.so
/usr/lib64/kde4/kerfuffle_libarchive.so
/usr/lib64/libarchive.so
/usr/lib64/libarchive.so.13
/usr/lib64/libarchive.so.13.1.2
root@porteus:~# 

Code: Select all

root@porteus:~# usm -s cmake

cmake-2.8.12-x86_64-1.txz was found in slackware [installed]
gccmakedep-1.0.2-noarch-2.txz was found in slackware [not installed]
Packages found:   2 

Use:   usm -i <package>  for more info
Use:   usm -g <package>  to download

root@porteus:~# 

Code: Select all

root@porteus:~# usm -s archive

libarchive-3.1.2-x86_64-1.txz was found in slackware [installed]
...

root@porteus:~# usm -g archive

 Nothing found for:  archive 

root@porteus:~# usm -u all                  #if you never used usm package manager.
root@porteus:~# usm -g libarchive

 The following items were found.
 Choose an number to confirm. 
 ctrl+c to quit

1) libarchive-3.1.2-x86_64-1.txz
2) libarchive.so.13

Re: cmake in porteus 3.1 notwokring

Posted: 01 Apr 2016, 14:15
by francois
Maybe you can try with the rpm binary on pkgs.org:
http://pkgs.org/fedora-23/fedora-x86_64 ... 4.rpm.html

rpm2xzm bro-2.4.1-1.fc23.x86_64.rpm

But still you will have to make sure that the libraries are all there, preferably the slackware version of these.

You may try a module request:
http://forum.porteus.org/viewforum.php?f=74

If you explain the usefulness of bro in your first post, maybe you will get a module builder. :twisted:

Re: cmake in porteus 3.1 notwokring

Posted: 01 Apr 2016, 18:08
by raspberryswirl
Francois!
I thank you very very much :Yahoo!:
I am just building it. then testing, and then see.
Porteus is great.
The problem was (and is): the iso WITHOUT any graphical interface, does not have the needed libs.
maybe you do a delta for that to download only the libs, because usm will solve those dependencies very well. As mentioned, mariadb :crazy:
Thank you again!
rasp

Re: cmake in porteus 3.1 notwokring

Posted: 01 Apr 2016, 20:33
by francois
So is it working now?

Re: cmake in porteus 3.1 notwokring

Posted: 02 Apr 2016, 01:56
by francois
To be in command line mode from graphical interface, in terminal:

Code: Select all

init 3

Re: cmake in porteus 3.1 notwokring

Posted: 03 Apr 2016, 08:05
by raspberryswirl
Bonjour Francois,

everything is working fine. compiled a module for Portues :-) - so its working everytime fresh - if somebody tell me how to put in dependencies... i could upload it.
Porteus is great :Yahoo!:
and the support here also!
Thank you again. :beer:
rasp

ps. when you won't fix the bug that there are libs missing without a frontend, then put it in the download page... so nobody needs to find it out with difficulties again, just a remark: if you download porteus, without a frontend, there might be some libs missing...

Re: cmake in porteus 3.1 notwokring

Posted: 03 Apr 2016, 11:01
by francois
There are different ways to go:
1) you can put the package and all the dependencies in a folder as modules xzm and move the folder to /porteus/modules so that they load each time you boot your linux box.

2) Do the same but as txz packages and dependencies in the same folder. Then in the a graphical environment from the usm gui available from kde menu > system > usm > Tools > porteus modules tools > select action > convert a package of modules.

Re: cmake in porteus 3.1 notwokring

Posted: 09 Apr 2016, 20:06
by francois
Were you working on a raspberry pi?