[Solved] Has anybody's preexisting OS get corrupted?

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
guest253
White ninja
White ninja
Distribution: Poreteus Nemesis

[Solved] Has anybody's preexisting OS get corrupted?

Post#1 by guest253 » 27 Feb 2016, 21:17

Hi everybody. I am new to Porteus and Linux and I am having an interesting problem.

I have successfully installed Porteus to my usb drive but after each install, my pre-existing OS on my laptop get corrupted and does not boot up anymore. Porteus works fine and I can boot it from the boot menu. However, the OS that I have installed onto my hard drive gets corrupted.

The method of installation I used was to copy the contents of the iso to my usb drive and to run the installer program/script in the boot folder inside my usb drive. After the installer program/script ends everything seems fine. The existing OS works without any trouble. However, after I rebooting, choosing "USB HDD: SAMSUNG FLASH DRIVE" from the boot menu, playing around with Porteus, and rebooting again, the existing OS will not boot up. I get errors something aorund the lines of "I/O erros from logical drive sda1" and "error of sector 0x00000".

Has this happened to anyone? Porteus works fine on the usb but the pre-existing OS will not boot up anymore.

EDIT: Thanks to tome's post I think I figured out what was wrong. I added the 'noauto' option to 'APPEND' lines in the porteus.cfg file and there seems to be no trouble.
Last edited by guest253 on 27 Feb 2016, 23:46, edited 2 times in total.

tome
Contributor
Contributor
Distribution: x64 Openbox

Re: Has anybody's preexisting OS get corrupted?

Post#2 by tome » 27 Feb 2016, 22:35

Find and look at cheatcodes.txt, next find and edit porteus.cfg and add noauto chaetcode. Your boot device will be mounted at /mnt/live/mnt/sdxY (instead of /mnt/sdxY). This should work for Porteus based on Slackware (I haven't tested this for Nemesis).