Stream music (.acc, pls, http) with VLC (solved)

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
tmq
White ninja
White ninja
Distribution: xfce

Stream music (.acc, pls, http) with VLC (solved)

Post#1 by tmq » 29 Dec 2015, 06:09

I am new to Porteus and I'm trying to find a way to stream all my favorite internet stations through my media player. On my desktop / laptop, Fedora based & debian based respectively, I use any number of programs: radiotray, quod libet, clementine, and even VLC. So far, I've been unable to get any of these to work quite right on Porteus (xfce, 32b).

Radiotray & quod libet wouldn't start, clementine started wouldn't play the test streams, and VLC started & played, but it also caused my system to throw some graphics oriented errors during the boot sequence. Then, the desktop featured the default wallpaper - not my chosen one! Is one version of VLC better to download via USM than the others (I think I saw three different versions)?? Most recently, I downloaded the slack package for deadbeef and installed it though USM; it won't start (although I haven't saved & rebooted yet).

Any ideas? I really do like my music...
Last edited by tmq on 30 Dec 2015, 00:21, edited 2 times in total.

aus9

Re: Stream music (VLC?)

Post#2 by aus9 » 29 Dec 2015, 13:03

I use Nemesis rather than Slackware based Porteus.

For any media streaming you need to consider at least 3 things

1 you can play local sounds loud enough to know if streaming is working
2 No firewall stops a certain app from accessing the internet stream
3 No software setting stops an app from using the internet stream

For VLC you need to consider making some changes so if the stream accesses htpps your VLC plays it as it recognises it.
eg section 5 of my Nem tut for vlc
viewtopic.php?f=137&t=5304

should resolve the certificate issue.